Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from c fort worth

Great hotel centered perfectly

Posted 22-Mar-2017
Great hotel centered perfectly Between the street market central market plenty of eats local and chains. Church's close parks close. Awesome hotel. The street view provided plenty of people watching several hours of entertainment. Great hotel perfect location.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Ottawa, ON Canada

Central location on pedestrian mall.

Posted 18-Mar-2017
Pros: Restaurant and inexpensive breakfast are good. Location in the centre of San Jose is excellent.
Cons: The entrance through the parking area is strange. I would have liked a desk and an additional chair in the room.
Location: Five minute walk to Teatro Nacional and Gold Museum. Ten minute walk to Museo de Jade and government buildings. Short walks to parks and other museums
Pleasant, clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff, excellent location for exploring San Jose.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Canada

Nice hotel, well situated, near the sights.

Posted 14-Mar-2017
Pros: Very pretty, staff
Cons: Bed comfort
Very pleasant stay, staff especially helpful. Very good food at buffet breakfast and restaurant for dinner
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Mar-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your meals in the restaurant. We hope to see again. Best regards, Alessandra
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Naples, FL

Great location

Posted 11-Mar-2017
We enjoyed the hotel's convenient location. The staff were very accommodating and our room was clean. Breakfast buffet had something for everyone. The hair salon downstairs is very good & reasonably priced. Our only concern was the area was unsafe after sunset. Also could use new pillows and include washcloths in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Mar-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback we greatly appreciate your input. We look forward to hosting you again. Best regards, Alessandra
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Quick San Jose visit

Posted 05-Mar-2017
Centrally located. Easy to get around. Word of caution for San Jose, bridge between airport and city has been under repairs for about a year and looks like extended period before it is over. So a 20 minute ride from airport to city is about 90 minutes! Did placed a strain on what we thought was a quick overnight visit to San Jose before heading to the beaches. So while Balmoral is nice hotel not sure I would go to San Jose until bridge work is completed...probably mid 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Mar-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are glad you had a positive experience with our hotel. As for the work with the bridge we are a little more optimistic that it should be finished by May 2017. We hope you will visit again. Best regards, Alessandra
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Pura Vida loca

Posted 27-Feb-2017
Downtown in San José CR, was a great place to stay, walking distance to everything, you have an open mind and really know what you want and want to do
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Feb-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. It looks like you took very good advantage of our privilege location while in town. That makes us very happy. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Pura vida, Alessandra
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Balmoral

Posted 21-Feb-2017
Location: Pedestrian walking path right outside the hotel and we were within walking distance to many restaurants and museums!
Nice, usually quiet room, with very good staff. San Jose is a very loud, congested city and most of the hotels seem to be in the heart of it but we found quiet and calm inside the doors. The breakfast and wait staff were very good as well. I would recommend it to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Feb-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback. It is very useful for us to know that now that we have sound proofed our rooms they are working and our guests appreciate it! Glad you were able to enjoy our privilege location, yes everything worth visiting is within walking distance. The best compliment our guests can give us is to say they would recommend us to a friend so thank you from the bottom of my heart. Looking forward to your next stay. Best regards, Alessandra
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not Great

Posted 13-Feb-2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hot water, something better than a twin mattress when you have made reservations for 2
Our room had a single size bed with just a mattress, not good when you have two people. No hot or warm water, had to take a super fast shower. Was supposed to be upgraded to a better room but all of a sudden speaking English became a problem. We did not get the upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Feb-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience at our hotel and that reception was not helpful. Thank you for pointing it out because english should never be a problem. We will look into it. Thank you.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 12-Feb-2017
Excellent location, downtown walking zone next to teatro nacional, gold museum and shopping streets.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Feb-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our privilege position. We hope to host you in your next visit to town. Warm regards, Alessandra
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Lafayette, La

Nice hotel, but hard to find

Posted 11-Feb-2017
The road to actually get to the hotel is under construction so we drove around trying to figure out what to do. Eventually paid to park somewhere and walked over only to find out you have to drive around the barrier onto the torn up road into the parking garage. The restaurant and complimentary breakfast was wonderful! Great service, good food and pricing was very reasonable. The room was big and clean. Bathrooms are small and our safe didn't work. All in all we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Feb-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you had to come precisely now that the access road is being repaird. Thank you for your understanding. Glad you had a pleasant experience with us as hotel and as restaurant. Thank you again! Best regards, Alessandra