Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Balmoral

Posted 21-Feb-2017
Location: Pedestrian walking path right outside the hotel and we were within walking distance to many restaurants and museums!
Nice, usually quiet room, with very good staff. San Jose is a very loud, congested city and most of the hotels seem to be in the heart of it but we found quiet and calm inside the doors. The breakfast and wait staff were very good as well. I would recommend it to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Feb-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback. It is very useful for us to know that now that we have sound proofed our rooms they are working and our guests appreciate it! Glad you were able to enjoy our privilege location, yes everything worth visiting is within walking distance. The best compliment our guests can give us is to say they would recommend us to a friend so thank you from the bottom of my heart. Looking forward to your next stay. Best regards, Alessandra
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not Great

Posted 13-Feb-2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hot water, something better than a twin mattress when you have made reservations for 2
Our room had a single size bed with just a mattress, not good when you have two people. No hot or warm water, had to take a super fast shower. Was supposed to be upgraded to a better room but all of a sudden speaking English became a problem. We did not get the upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Feb-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience at our hotel and that reception was not helpful. Thank you for pointing it out because english should never be a problem. We will look into it. Thank you.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 12-Feb-2017
Excellent location, downtown walking zone next to teatro nacional, gold museum and shopping streets.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Feb-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our privilege position. We hope to host you in your next visit to town. Warm regards, Alessandra
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Lafayette, La

Nice hotel, but hard to find

Posted 11-Feb-2017
The road to actually get to the hotel is under construction so we drove around trying to figure out what to do. Eventually paid to park somewhere and walked over only to find out you have to drive around the barrier onto the torn up road into the parking garage. The restaurant and complimentary breakfast was wonderful! Great service, good food and pricing was very reasonable. The room was big and clean. Bathrooms are small and our safe didn't work. All in all we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Feb-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you had to come precisely now that the access road is being repaird. Thank you for your understanding. Glad you had a pleasant experience with us as hotel and as restaurant. Thank you again! Best regards, Alessandra
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel in downtown San José

Posted 03-Feb-2017
Stayed one night. Staff were very friendly, all bilingual (Spanish and English). Room was comfortable and reasonably clean, though I saw a cockroach scurry across the floor. Bar/restaurant was nice, beer was cold. Best part of my stay was the breakfast, filling and delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Feb-2017 by alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do our best and are constantly fumigating the public areas etc. but it is a tropical country and we kind of have to combat the insects year long. Thank you for your understanding. We hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from LA

good location in the center of the city

Posted 28-Jan-2017
Pros: late check-out time until 2pm
Cons: better communication with arriving guests, more staff
Location: museums, parks, shops, restaurants all in walking distance
there was only a car entrance that was not accessible due to road construction; we had to carry our luggage 2 blocks because the uber-driver did not get access to that garage; there is an entrance via the restaurant (as in the picture of the advertisement), but this is another building only accessible from the pedestrian zone (no cars allowed there); we were not informed about this in advance; rooms are small with no view (window to a shaft inside the building); price was higher than advertised in the deal from expedia; we spend around 30 minutes at the reception until we could check in; staff partly inexperienced and not very helpful when we tried to get transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Jan-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
We are sorry for the inconvenience of the blocked road but the city is making improvements needed. As for the rooms I have to remind you we have seven different types of rooms, different sizes, some with balconies and spectacular views of the city landscape it all depends on what you are looking for. As to the difference in price I have no idea what the problem was we don't usually have that type of problems. Again we apologize for the blocked road and we hope you had a safe trip back home. Best regards, Alessandra
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Rostock

Super Service

Posted 23-Jan-2017
Gutes Stadthotel mit allem, was man braucht direkt an der Fussgängerzone. Sehr hilfsbereite Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption mit guten Englischkenntnissen. Wir waren 2 Tage zuvor schon dort und konnten während unserer Abwesenheit unser Hauptgepäck im Gepäckraum deponieren. Auch beim zweiten Aufenthalt wieder ein ordentliches Zimmer mit Klimaanlage, TV, Minibar, Safe. Jederzeit wieder! Sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Jan-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you , thank you for your kind review. So very happy we exceeded your expectations and that all your needs were met. We hope to host you again in the near future. Best regards, Alessandra
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Rostock

Gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis

Posted 20-Jan-2017
Gutes Stadthotel mit allem, was man braucht. Direkt an der Fussgängerzone. Ordentliche Zimmer mit Klimaanlage, TV, Minibar, Safe. Parken in der Hotelgarage ist gratis. Sehr freundliches Personal. Einfaches Frühstück. Sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jan-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are happy we were able to satisfy all your needs making your stay a pleasant one. We hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 16-Jan-2017
Nice restaurant and staff. Safe deposit boxes need to be upgraded.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Jan-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback we are in the process of renovating the whole hotel and we thank you for pointing out the need to upgrade the safe deposits. Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and had an overall pleasant experience. Hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Very Nice Hotel on Main San Jose, CR pedestrian St

Posted 13-Jan-2017
Pros: Great, safe location, center of San Jose, close to both the Gold & Jade museums, nice renovated sleeping room/bath, excellent friendly& helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great, safe location, center of San Jose on the main pedestrian shopping street, close to both the Gold & Jade museums, and the crafts & art market.
Balmoral Hotel is located great location in center of San Jose, CR, on the main pedestrian shopping street only one block from the Pre-Columbian Gold Museum and four blocks from Pre-Columbian Jade Museum and adjacent crafts market stalls area. Front desk staff were excellent-helpful, friendly both at check-in, questions during my stay and with the early morning check-out and transfer to the airport. The elevators, sleeping rooms and hallways all renovated. Large sleeping room, all renovated bathroom and stylish. The buffet breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was very good. I did not eat other meals in the Balmoral Restaurant, but food dishes on menu looked good. The upstairs bar connected to the lobby floor of the hotel was very active with lots of hotel guests there. I stayed here two nights, after the end of my two week tour of Central America. You cannot beat the location, especially to walk at night on the pedestrian shopping street in front of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jan-2017 by Alegraziano32, Hotel Management
Thank you, thank you for your kind review. We are happy to know you had a wonderful trip all over Central America and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra