Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from k

Not bad

Posted 24-Jun-2017
Hotel was a bit of a drive from town, but it was a nice drive. The hotel staff was very pleasant and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We also enjoyed the nice wine glasses, (a lot of motels have no wine glasses or stubby ones). And the tea in the morning was lovely. The rooms were spacious, but okay and I thought it was a bit over priced.
4 out of 5
by Sally Ann

Posted 26-Feb-2017 on Hotels
Excellent breakfast - loved the fresh flowers on the tables! Close enough to ski resort that you can walk to lifts. Also have a ski storage room complete with boot drying system which was handy. Dinner restaurant Corks in basement was also excellent. Only thing we couldn't figure out was the hot tub - not constantly turned on and no real instructions handy to let you know how to work it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice. Not worth $300/night but great location.

Posted 13-Feb-2017
What we expected. We were able to enjoy the surroundings and had a great couple of days.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Feb-2017 by Dave Woodman, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time. We hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Edmonton

Not a typical ski-in/ski-out hotel

Posted 30-Jan-2017
Pros: Nothing really stands out.
Cons: Price should be half.
Location: It is not near anything. It is a 20 min drive to town.
The property was advertised as ski-in/ski-out. It is NOT. The property is not located on the mountain. It is in a cul-de-sac accross the road from the mountain. It is far enough away that walking in your boots and carrying ski equipment is painful. Yet it is too close to drive. It is self check-in/check-out. Staff is scarce and spread between two side-by-side properties (Winston Lodge next door). We checked ourselves in - which turned out to be no problem because I phoned ahead and made pre-arrangments. If you are arriving after 8pm and have not made arrangements for keys you will have a hard time getting into your room. Free breakfast was average to below average quality and choice. Overall this accomodation is way over priced for what you get. If i had paid about $130-150/night the review would have been less punishing but it cost me $300/night which is completely overpriced. I would not stay there again. Dissappointed.
5 out of 5
by Keith

Great Stay

Posted 16-Jan-2017 on Hotels
Wonderful, cozy lodge. Enjoyed hot tub surrounded by snow. Great pub across the driveway. Friendly staff. Boot dryer a bonus. Close to Kicking Horse, short easy walk to Gondola. Amazing views and restaurant at top of Gondola so non skiers can visit. Hope to return!!
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Feb-2017
Thank you for your very positive comments on your stay with us, we are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction. Your feedback is important to us and helps keep abreast of guest needs and or expectations. Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Poor customer service

Posted 15-Jan-2017 on Hotels
Stayed at the copper horse/Winston lodge for 6 nights. Pretty clean place. Comfortable. The bar and restaurant located in house is a bit over priced. The place was dead. Staff was scarce. Customer service was awful. After staying for 5 nights a big snow storm was rolling in and our rental car was awful so we requested to check out a night early. The staff didn't want to hear it and was unwilling to accommodate an easy request after 5 nights of spending money in their establishments. The place was empty. One night of one more empty room would have changed nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Feb-2017
Hi, thank you for your comments of your recent stay. Good or bad reviews are all discussed and are a means of keeping ourselves abreast of guest expectations. As you mention, a storm was heading towards our area and was the reason for your early checkout, apart from the poor condition of your rental car, neither of which we are responsible for. Your reservation was made with Expedia and any discussion of cancellation/refund has to go through their channels. The Duty Manager would have explained that to you had you stopped abusing him. I apologise that you thought the staff did not want to know about it, but attitude has a lot to do with your complaint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Copper Horse

Posted 09-Jan-2017
The rooms are small and quiet. Goose down mattresses keep you toasty warm. There's a hot tub in the back, but it's a long cold walk barefoot. Breakfast is just ok. If you want a better breakfast go else where, but dinner at the Cork is fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Feb-2017 by Dave Woodman, Hotel Management
Hello from Copper Horse Lodge. Thank you for your feedback and the comments you have made, all of which are discussed with the staff. I am sorry you found breakfast 'just ok' but were pleased with Dinner. we have made changes to our breakfast since your stay and feel that the improvements have enhanced this service. Once again, many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Calgary

A very nice hotel close to ski area.

Posted 28-Dec-2016
Pros: Location.Hotel is quite and clean.
Cons: More variety of breakfast items.
Location: Great place. Location is close to ski area. You can ski and come back to the hotel to relax or have lunch with family...and return back for more ski
If you are looking for a place to relax, this hotel is the one. The hotel staff was very pleasant to deal with and helpful. They did their best to make our stay comfortable and accommodate our family of four. We needed to stay one more night, and they honored the same original booking price which was a deal for us. I will definately come back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Disappointed and overpriced

Posted 24-Sep-2016 on Hotels
Staff not on site, had to call to have someone check us in. Room was large but rather basic; small TV. Nice shower. Very noisy fan unit in wall (perhaps kitchen ventillation unit) was annoying from 5 - 10:30pm. Breakfast was very very basic and not appetizing at all. Very overpriced both for room and Corks restaurant on site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from philadelphia. pa

Not a fussy traveler but......

Posted 20-Sep-2016 on Orbitz
there was no hotel staff present for entire stay. It would've been a real concern had we not remembered the late-night passcode to reenter the building. Additionally, there were no clear directions on how to get in touch with one. Although not a primary concern for our three-day stay, other guests may want to be made aware there was no maid service either. (recyclables had not been removed from prior guests). Also, we were asked not to turn off the TV because reprogramming it was quite difficult. The monitor had to be covered so we didn't have the glare. On the plus side, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. It would've been nice to have a microwave to warm up food items on a cold evening.