Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nettan och Tessanfrom Stockholm

Utmärkt läge

Posted 18-Sep-2014 on Hotels.com
Lägenheten var stor och sängarna var bekväma. Det var lite dammtussar här och var men annars rent och fräscht i övrigt. Läget var bra. Man blev dock lite skrämd av den stora porten som var helt nedklottrad och man undrade vad man hade kommit men innanför var det en lugn och fin gammal innergård. Läget var perfekt. Nära till allt - stranden - Ramblan - hamnen - shopping. Vi råkade låsa oss ute första natten men det var bara att ringa ett samtal så kom det en kille och öppnade. Det kostade 40 euro men ändå bra och snabb service. Man betalar en deposition på 400 euro som man får tillbaka sen när man checkar ut och inte har förstört någonting, det tog dock en vecka att få tillbaka pengarna på kontot så man var lite orolig ett tag. Killen som tog betalt sa nämligen att pengarna borde komma direkt. Jag skulle absolut kunna bo där igen.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by williamfrom gates

Beware-Charged Credit Card Twice

Posted 07-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful structure with an appartment that, with a little work, would be beautiful. Although the neighborhood is in the middle of an interesting tourism center and convenient in its location, the nightly activities outside go into the early morning and may disrupt sleep. Although we enjoyed the 3 night stay, we were surprised to find that they charged our credit card 3 times and more than 200% the agreed upon cost of staying. Thus far, they have not responded to our request to correct this problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Centralt, charmerende, byliv

Posted 05-Jul-2014
Autentisk oplevelse midt i det smukke gotiske kvarter. restauranter og byliv indenfor få meters afstand. Vældig larmende og rungende til de små timer, pga de høje mure der kastede lyden videre... Men meget hyggeligt og smukt.
1 out of 5
by MAIPIUQUIfrom VICENZA

PESSIMO !!!

Posted 12-Jun-2014
Pros: NIENTE
Cons: TUTTO
Location: LA POSIZIONE E' L'UNICA COSA OTTIMA, IN CENTRO A BARCELLONA
PESSIMA SISTEMAZIONE, PORTA DEL BAGNO ROTTA E ADDIRITTURA DUE RETI A DOGHE DEI LETTI SPEZZATE. L'APPARTAMENTO ERA IN CONDIZIONI PESSIME, LA PULIZIA INESISTENTE E NEL TERRAZZO OLTRE A NUMEROSI RESTI DI SIGARETTE ERA PIENO DI UNGHIE TAGLIATE (DI UN CICLOPE?)... UNO SCHIFO !
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gabfrom Paris

Attention Arnaque

Posted 05-May-2014 on Hotels.com
Ces propos portés ici ne sont pas diffamatoires et traitent d'une expérience vraie.attention au prix d 'appel qui s'avère loin de ce vous paierez. Il faut rajouter le ménage 72€ indiqué en petit sur le site. Soit. Mais rajoutez aussi 9€ pour payer en CB et voire 2x9€ si vous payez la deuxième partie en CB. Rajoutez aussi 50€ pour arrivée tardive non spécifiée précisément sur le site. Et voilà comment on se retrouve à payer 30% de plus. Rajoutez le fait que la caution vous ai prélevée et certainement jamais remboursée je suis en attente depuis 10 jours !! 400€ en fumée. Bref, fuyez cherchez votre bonheur ailleurs. Les gens que vous aurez au téléphone et qui vous donnerons les clés ne sont que là que pour l'argent, aucun conseil, que des excuses...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Knap appartement!

Posted 20-Apr-2014 on Hotels.com
Geweldig appartement! Ruim, net, toffe locatie. Enigste nadeel: straatlawaai. Oordopjes nodig.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveller

catastrophique

Posted 25-Feb-2014 on Hotels.com
J'ai réservé l'appartement pour une nuit pour un week end entre amis. Comme convenu par mail à notre arrivée je contacte Andrei afin qu'il nous remette les clés, je lui donne rdv à 14h30 devant l'immeuble il arrive avec 2h de retard, en entrant dans l'appartement je vois directement que les photos du site ne correspondent pas du tout à ce que j'ai sous les yeux. Ensuite, Andrei nous réclame 72€ à payer cash contre remise des clés pour les frais de nettoyage qui à aucun moment ne sont précisés sur le site. Hormis ces mésaventures l'appartement est très grand, bien aménagé et très bien situé. Il est juste dommage de devoir le libérer aussi tôt 10h.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-May-2014 by Management Avinyo Mansion, Hotel Management
Bonjour, Merci pour ce commentaire somme toute positif., même si vous utilisez l'adjectif "catastrophique". Nous profitons de cet espace pour vous exprimer notre regret en ce qui concerne le retard du réceptioniste, dû au retard des voyageurs précédents. Une autre petite précision: les frais de ménage figurent bien sur le site d'hotels.com, nous l'avons vérifié à maintes reprises, chaque fois que hotels.com effectue des changements sur son site. Bien que n'ayant pas le contrôle des contenus, nous veillons à ce que toutes les conditions soient bien publiées par tous les sites commercialisant l'appartement. Il suffit, dans le cas d'hotels.com, de lire sur la page descriptive de l'appartement les frais et conditions. Le ménage d'un appartement requiert près de deux heures, il est bien plus lent à faire que celui d'un hôtel, c'est pourquoi, s'il y a d'autres voyageurs, pour qu'ils puissent faire le check-in, il est nécessaire de libérer l'appartement relativement tôt, c'est pourquoi la règle est de libérer à 10h, règle que nous assouplissons s'il n'y a pas d'occupants juste après. Cordialement.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Worst apartment

Posted 17-Jan-2014
Pros: Internet pictures were good but not true.
Cons: Everything need to be improved. Smell and noisy beds are the first item to be changed.
Location: At the center of Gothic district. Good.
Even though good location close to Gothic District, this apartment was very dirty and has uncomfortable beds. In addition bad smell was terrible to my young daughter and parents.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Aug-2014 by Management Avinyo Mansion, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your comments. We are very surprised you write the apartment was dirty, since every time we have inspected it, which is at least once a month, if we do not count the receptionists visits, we found it tidy and clean. Also, we had issues some 5 years ago but the cleaning company is perfect right now. In any case, let it be known to other travellers that if for some unlikely reason, the apartment is not in a good state of cleanliness, the cleaning team will be summoned to redo the job. The only thing that tenants have to take care of is the kitchenware and not leaving the kitchen dirty. As for the smell, we are also very surprised of what you are telling us, since in our inspections we have never witnessed bad smell, and no client has reported this. The only possible explanation is there might have been a sewage issue (it may have happened, because the apartment is next to the sea). We're sorry about that. Kind regards
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Feb-2014
Hello, Thank you for your comments. We are very surprised you write the apartment was dirty, since every time we have inspected it, which is at least once a month, if we do not count the receptionists visits, we found it tidy and clean. Also, we had issues some 5 years ago but the cleaning company is perfect right now. In any case, let it be known to other travellers that if for some unlikely reason, the apartment is not in a good state of cleanliness, the cleaning team will be summoned to redo the job. The only thing that tenants have to take care of is the kitchenware and not leaving the kitchen dirty. As for the smell, we are also very surprised of what you are telling us, since in our inspections we have never witnessed bad smell, and no client has reported this. The only possible explanation is there might have been a sewage issue (it may have happened, because the apartment is next to the sea). We're sorry about that. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveller

Posted 09-Sep-2013 on Hotels.com
Perfekt beliggende hotellejlighed til en yderst fornuftig pris.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-May-2014 by Management Avinyo Mansion, Hotel Management
Hello! We're happy you enjoyed the apartment! We hope you had a great time in barcelona. Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Morten

Fin beliggenhet i gamlebyen nær Ramblaen

Posted 11-Oct-2012 on Hotels.com
Stilig og stor leilighet i gamlebyen. Kun 5 minutter unna havnen og Ramblaen. Mye støy etter at utestedene stengte, og søppelbilen på natten hørtes ut som "krystallnatten". Ingen resepsjon for inn-/utlevering av nøkler, men kontaktperson var veldig hyggelig og ordentlig.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-May-2014 by Management Avinyo Mansion, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your kind comment. Yes, the Old Town has narrow streets and is very popular, so sometimes can be quite animated! The apartment has anti-noise windows, that compensate for most of it, though... Regards