Ratings based on 1,588 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Columbus, OH

Nice honeymoon location!

Posted 09-Nov-2017
Pros: Hammocks on your personal balcony. Shops are cute. The beach is BEAUTIFUL & there's a private beach for privileged and executive rooms!
Cons: The food at the snack bar by the pool. Not the greatest. It would also be nice if they'd open the pool at night.
Location: Location is fairly close to the airport, maybe a 20-25 minute drive. Great for wrapping up a day of travel!
My husband and I stayed at the Catalonia for our honeymoon this past April. Staff was very friendly and tried to understand us the best they could. We arrived on the day of a storm and by the time we got to our room, a lot of the paths around the resort were flooded with about a food, if not more, of water, which took a few days to clear out. The ceiling over our bed started dripping from damage I'm assuming was caused by the storm, which we didn't notice until we were trying to sleep the first night (it was a little, slow drip). The next day the maid noticed the drip and helped us rearrange the room so we could sleep peacefully. She was extremely nice and helpful! I had a little trouble one day where one of the maintenance people got our room confused with another room and came in while I was in an outfit I had uhh.. saved for my husband. My husband was out of the room smoking a cigar, so I was waiting for him to come back when the guy walked in. He didn't understand English (not his fault) so he didn't understand what I was saying to him. I covered up quickly and he called someone at the front desk to help translate. Eventually, we got everything sorted out and he apologized a hundred times and left. Now I have a funny story for friends! My husband and I are already talking about when we can come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Nov-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Estimado huésped, Muchas gracias por enviarnos sus comentarios. Es un verdadero placer saber que cumplimos con todas sus expectativas y pudo disfrutar de cada uno de los servicios que ofrecemos y de la calidez que nuestro equipo transmite. Puede estar seguro de que haremos llegar sus recomendaciones al departamento correspondiente para evitar inconvenientes con el suelo. Únicamente decirle que deseamos volver a tenerlo con nosotros próximamente y comprometernos a seguir regalándole vacaciones inolvidables. Saludos cordiales,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Do not stay here.

Posted 05-Nov-2017
The island of DR is a beautiful place and the setting is lovely. The room was nice only because we paid to upgrade but many of the amenities we paid for were not available which we learned only once we had upgraded. The upgraded rooms were kept clean and the staff relatively accommodating. Members of our party who did not pay to upgrade had trouble like no air conditioning, no hot water, etc. We spent the entire first day waiting for our rooms to be ready. The remaining staff at this hotel were extremely unfriendly particularly to the American visitors. Except for the coffee and european style pastries the food was terrible. Do not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Nov-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. We apologize if we weren't able to cause a 100% positive impression about your stay with us, we are appalled by the inconveniences that you tell us about our staff, since in the constant surveys of guest satisfaction that are carried out by external companies and internally by us, we have received high percentages in regards to the friendliness of our staff. We can assure you that we will work hard and hard to improve the kindness and respect of our employees for our clients to enjoy a warm and relaxing atmosphere. It is possible we will not be able to recover your confidence to our brand, but we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back. Best regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from New York

Posted 03-Nov-2017
it was a good stay. enjoyed it. hotel staff very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Nov-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your vacation at our Resort. It is nice to know that you had a spectacular trip!It is great to know that you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities and services. We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 22-Oct-2017
The resort was very nice. I really enjoyed the swim up pool bar. Although, the food at the pool area was not that great. But, the food at the buffet was great as well as the caribbean and Japanese restaurant. The staff was really nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Oct-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Catalonia Bávaro and that you were very happy with the quality of product and services provided to our guests within the resort. Once again, thank you for posting a review and for recommending our hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Catalonia Bávaro. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller from Santiago,Chile

Very nice family resort

Posted 28-Aug-2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: They should improve the bar drinks
We have just spent a family vacation at this resort , everything was perfect from the check-in time, the room , the staff, the buffet. the pool and the beach was also perfect. Will definitely come back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Aug-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Dear Sergio, My warmest thanks for your fantastic and kind comment, we're very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us before. Thank you very much for recommending us! We really appreciated your compliments to our awesome staff. Be assured that your presence at our resort has left a warm impression on our staff, and they are motivated by your excellent comment. We hope that you can return to visit us again, your second home Catalonia Bavaro Beach Casino Golf. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from milwaukee

Needing a lesson in the golden rule

Posted 12-Aug-2017 on CheapTickets
I would like to caveat this review right out of the gates by stating that I have never felt compelled to take the time to write an online review for anything, ever. (I do nearly 100% of my shopping online as well). Catalonia Punta Cana will inspire you to snap a couple of selfies, for sure. Beautiful trees, water, sand... it presents like a peaceful vacation. Unfortunately, on our recent trip on August 4, 2017, the experience did not match the photos. My sister and I were traveling alone on an annual sister trip. On our first entire full day at Cantalonia, we left our room at 6:30 pm to go to dinner at the on-site Asian restaurant. After GIVING OUR ROOM NUMBER TO A HOSTESS, we waited 90 minutes for a table, and then dinner took another 90 minutes. When we went back to our hotel room after dinner, we found our door open and literally all of our belongings with the exception of our clothing, had been STOLEN. Our patio door was also wide open. Neither door showed any sign of forced entry. Terrified, we ran to the front desk to tell our story and get help. Eventually security escorted us to the room and conducted an "investigation" that I'm confident any 1st grader could have out performed. They assured us they would call us within 72 hours with their findings. No follow up ever occurred, and it's been 7 days. Meanwhile, terrified, we wanted to leave and go home, as there would be no relaxing in a place where a stranger could violate us like this!! So after only one day i
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Aug-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Dear Stacy, Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. As we told you via Facebook, that in case of having a client report a burglary in the room, our staff received a training to execute the necessary procedures. For this reason, in addition to receiving the attention of our team, you were directly served by our Guest Service Manager, Director and Security Manager to make the report and start the investigations. I inform you that when you leave the hotel without making a report to the local authorities, it is more complicated to reach a conclusion. We always suggest to our guests to keep their valuables in the safe in order to prevent these cases. We have insurance that covers the objects inside the safe in case of force or violation. This is an isolated situation and the resolution of it is still under investigation to avoid future incidents. It is possible we will not be able to recover your confidence to our brand, but we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back. Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Cardiff

Constant problems with room and staff

Posted 25-Jul-2017
Pros: Nice beach.
Cons: Services and room quality.
Changed room due to no hot water and terrible sewage smells, second room only 1 bed when there should be 2 and leakage from the ceiling in the bathroom. Constant problems with the door key and was only repaired the day before we left, to access the room we had to leave the back room open. Payed room services were never available, or very late.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Jul-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Dear Carolina, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. All your comments have been shared with the head departments involved. We are working on a daily basis to exceed our guest’s expectations and would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to offer you a remarkable stay. Best Regards General Manager
5 out of 5
by Joshua

Great Time!

Posted 06-Jul-2017 on Hotels
This resort was amazing. Always activities near the pool, restaurants were great and the rooms were nice! I'd do it again!
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2017
Dear Joshua, It is a pleasure to know about your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased providing you an excellent service and to know that you liked much. It's part of our mission to always exceed the expectations of our valued guests, is an honor to know that our effort was worth it. We hope to see you soon to another relaxing and entertaining vacation! Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Miami

Lights Go Out/Roaches

Posted 06-Jul-2017
Pros: food and restaurants were good
Cons: rooms electricity and cleanliness; rooms need to be upgraded as well. employees said this is the oldest hotel there. Yamelkis at front desk was great!
Location: hotel is about 20 min from the airport which is great but far from Bavaria beach which is great compared to the dirty, full of seaweed beach they have
We stayed in regular rooms and once we arrived, the a/c took ALL day to make the room feel cozy; we called front desk to have someone check it out and the tech said since we had checked in that day, it would take all day for the room to get cold (never heard of that with room being so small). that same night, the lights went out in the whole building not once, not twice, but a total of FOUR times. my 1 year old was sleeping and woke up crying because it got so hot. it took them about 20 min the first time to turn on the generator. (lights also went out at the pool buffet earlier that day) then we found a dead roach in our bedroom that same morning and later another one outside our room door. my husband went to the lobby to complain and we were upgraded to Privilege. nicer view but still the same room. the pictures on Expedia of modern rooms is most likely for the TimeShare owners. lights also went out a couple of days later but only lasted off about 5 min. also, when lights go out, so does the water. our cleaning lady always forgot to put new towels in the bathroom. my husband was showering with the baby and had no towels. I called front desk to have new towels and 1 hour later, no one still had shown up with the towels. pool was ok by the bar, but on my last day I went to the other side where the KIDS are and the pool was DISGUSTING. I even saw a dead roach floating and immediately grabbed my daughter and went back to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Jul-2017 by Catalonia Punta Cana , Hotel Management
Dear Aimee, Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. Be assured that all your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. We find strange your references to our staff as they are all always motivated and happy to provide excellent service to all our guests. We apologize that our services did not overcome your expectation. Our staff give a 100% of effort in trying to satisfy the palate of our guests and their needs It is possible we will not be able to recover your confidence to our brand, but we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back. Best regards!
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Great Value in Punta Cana

Posted 05-Jul-2017 on Hotels
Overall this resort has an excellent value proposition - I looked at many hotels in the Punta Cana area and would definitely stay here again over similar hotels that are more expensive. As with any all-inclusive resort, the food was not the most amazing food I've ever had in my life but it was more than fine. You learn what you like or dislike at the buffet quickly and look to eat at the different restaurants for dinner, where the food was better than the buffet. The dinner locations do not take reservations, so go early if you don't want to wait or be willing to put your name down and have a few cocktails in the meantime. Drinks were very easy to come by and service overall was great. The property was beautiful and very well kept, room was comfortable and the beach/pool area were perfect. The property is very large as they offer a wide range of amenities and have a considerable number of rooms, so keep in mind that although the resort is in fact on the beach, you may have to walk 10 minutes from one place to another. The only negative feedback I can offer for everyone else living with first-world problems is that the wifi was very unreliable. However, it did work consistently in the larger areas, such as in the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2017
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comments, we are glad to know you have a good experience with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify the highlights of your trip: our facilities, the awesome staff, the vibe and so on. Thank you for such a marvelous review! We'll be waiting for you on your next trip to the Caribbean, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Best Regards General Manager