Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Know what you're buying.

Posted 16-Jan-2017
I don't think my standards are unreasonable. This just isn't the 4-4.5 stars indicated On Expedia's page. I'd put it closer to 3 overall. We encountered series of issues which I'd expect are just basic deliverables of a resort. 1. TV didn't work 2. Air conditioning was broken 3. Toilet broke 4. Hair dryer broken These are items which required solutioning by the maintenance staff. I'd add that the food was below average and the sheets were dirty but these may be personal preference items vs legitimate solvable issues. The pool area is nice and the staff puts in a lot of effort but all in all I'd not go back, I'd not recommend to another and do not feel I got my money's worth.
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NJ

Barcelos Adults Only Premium (Guest age 46 and 53)

Posted 08-Jan-2017
Pros: A La Carte Restaurants, the Premium Check in and service from Mabel and Kitty!!! Great little buffet set up there also at the Premium Check in..
Cons: Booze cruises constantly going by BLASTING music!!( I love music but never a quiet moment!)
Location: On the Beach lots of chairs at all times and same for the pool. No swim up bar so this is as quiet as it gets.
Arrived at a busy time but since we were Premium were taken in hand right away. Was offered drinks and sat down with cool towels for our faces. Mabel and Kitti could not do enough for us our hole stay!! They were always available and always helped us with what ever was needed. After registering we immediately reserved our a la Carte restaurants and our tee Off for Golf. We were escorted by a very nice young man who spoke great English.Our room was spotless but outdated. Do not expect Marble floors or showers here. We were put Ocean front and on the second floor with a great view of the Beach and Ocean. Do not take level one as there is a wall in front that cuts your view. Our room keeper for the first three days was I believe her name is Trena, she was awesome, always got what we needed and more. After that she was off and room service was very basic even with gratuities! WE even requested a few more facecloths several times and never received them. A La Carte restaurants are your best choice.The buffets are quiet ordinary for diner and Breakfast and I am not picky!! A la carte French was the best!! Cozy atmosphere and great food. Sea Food was great, My wife had the Lobster and I had the filet as I have allergies to shell fish. The Lobster bisque was very ordinary.The Mediterranean restaurant was also a wonderful experience with great service and great food. The Italian has a great Antipasto and salad bar. This was also a great choice.Beach Ok but very Noisy.Smokers all over
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jan-2017 by Sandy Pfeil, Director., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Barceló Bavaro Beach for your vacations, and sharing your experience with the online community. We appreciate your comments about our property, services and facilities. At the Barcelo Bavaro Beach resort we are very Proud of your good comments about our All Incluse meal plan. On the other hand we regret the clothes and towels inconvience, we hope you give us the opportunity of changing your mind on this respect. I accept your feedback for continuous improvement in a future stay.On behalf of all our team, we would to extend our gratitude for comments and we do hope to welcome you back near in the future. Best regards, Sandy Pfeil Director.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Harvest, AL

Amazing & Relaxing Vacation

Posted 04-Jan-2017
Pros: Location on the beach, staff and food.
Cons: Nothing. Excellent family environment.
Location: Don't have to leave the resort since they are many stores in which to shop.
This all inclusive beach resort was amazing. The staff, food and on the beach experience was a real relaxing experience. Will definitely visit this resort again.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jan-2017 by Sandy Pfeil-Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback. Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort and staff, food and the beach. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our resort. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. Warm Regards, Sandy Pfeil Director.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Zürichsee

Top Hotel aber Meer gar nicht schön über Weihnacht

Posted 03-Jan-2017
Pros: Die Poollndschaften, wobei mir ja das karibische Meer wichtiger ist. Die Grünanlagen rund ums Hotel mit der vielen tropischen Pflanzen & Blumen
Cons: Info und ehrliche Bilder über Zustand des Meeres so wir in den Alpen ehrliche Schipisten & Schneehöhenbreichte. Bessere Ausbildung der Serviceangestel
Location: das Hotel befindet sich direkt am Bavarostrand ca.20 Minuten vom Flughafen nicht sehr viel zu unternehmen in der Nähe ausser etliche Verkaufsläden
das Hotel an und für sich ist sehr schön umgeben von Grün und vielen tropischen Pflanzen. Auch der Strand ist karibisch schön, aber leider war das Meer alles anderes als karibisch. Anstatt türkis grün, war es vom 17. bis zum 26.Dezember eher hässlich braun von der Farbe, leider vor allem in dem Bereich, wo das Schwimmen erlaubt war. Der Witz, weiter draussen, war es typisch blau türkis karibisch, nur war da Schwimmen nicht erlaubt wegen der zahlreichen Motorboote, die da ständig vorbei fuhren. Um ein schönes karibisch blaues Meer zu haben, musste man ca.45 Minuten Richtung Nordosten Richtung der Palladium Resorts am Stand laufen ! Also zur Zeit würde ich wegen dem Meer die Palladium Resorts eher empfehlen !!!!! Essen mit Barcelo Barvaro Beach relativ gut, vor allem im Beach Restaurant. Fitness Studio im Palace dagegen zu vergessen, wenige alte Geräte. Sehr schöne Pools mit genügend freien Liegen zumindest morgens. Vor den Weihnachten sehr viele russische Gäste, danach eher Amerkikaner & Kanadier, fast keine Deutschen. Das Personal spricht zum Teil schlecht Englisch und hat auch sonst nicht viel Ahnung, aber zumindest meistens sêhr bemüht und freundlich.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jan-2017 by Sandy Pfeil-Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft. Original auf Englisch Language Weaver Bewerten Sie diese Übersetzung: Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung Mangelhaft Gut Ihre Meinung wird in einer besonderen Weise getroffen. Wir hoffen jedoch, dass sie bei Ihrer Reiseplanung weiterhilft. Original auf Englisch Language Weaver Bewerten Sie diese Übersetzung: Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung Mangelhaft Gut Sandy Pfeil.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from NY

Barceló Bávaro Beach Adults Only - All Inclusive

Posted 23-Dec-2016
Pros: The food was great. All the restaurants were wonderful, and the wait staff was always very attentive. The nightly entertainment was excellent.
Cons: Washcloths in the room were sparce. Bar/wait staff service was not available on the beach. Very few staff spoke English
Location: There is no reason to leave the resort property, lots of shops and restaurants to visit, and the nightly entertainment was excellent.
Wonderful Vacation! A beautiful vacation resort. We will definitely return again to Barcelo Bavaro for another get away vacation. The facility is spacious and very well maintained and the beach was beautiful. The ocean was calm and you can see the fish swimming beneath your legs. Our room was spacious and the hard working staff was friendly and very courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jan-2017 by Sandy Pfeil, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Bávaro Beach hotel, once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year. Warms Regards, Sandy Pfeil General Manager.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NJ

Posted 20-Dec-2016
Excellent customer service. All the staff was very friendly. Very professional and very attentive. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Our check in representative Ambiorix and our hotel porter Antonio Mateo were phenomenal.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Dec-2016 by Sandy Pfeil-Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback. Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort and staff. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our resort. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. Warm Regards, Sandy Pfeil Director.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from lake grove , ny

Beautiful beach!

Posted 20-Dec-2016
Had a great 3 night trip for my 50 birthday. Rooms are dated but clean, Comfy beds, some places to eat are better then others. They book up quick so when you check in make to make all your dinner plans right away. The thing most unhappy with was we booked superior ocean front room and was placed in ocean view room. Wouldn't waste the money for upgrade next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Dec-2016 by Sandy Pfeil, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Barceló Báavaro Beach.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Best Regards, Sandy Pfeil General Manager
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from connecticut

Terrible food!!

Posted 19-Dec-2016
I cannot believe the food is so bad. The buffets are disgusting and so are the restaurants that you have to make reservations for. After spending a week here my friends and I were dying to get back to Connecticut for food. We got sick. And then starved because there was nothing to eat. Housekeeping was terrible. Rooms dirty and stains on the sheets and bed back board
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Jan-2017 by Sandy Pfeil-Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking Barceló Bavaro Beach for your vacations and for sharing your comments in this community. We want you to know, that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments are taken with special consideration as they help us identifying our improvement areas, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality. We hope to have you again in our property so we can have the opportunity to change your impressions about us. Warm Regards, Sandy Pfeil Director.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from CanadianCouple

Nice hotel love the white sandy beach.

Posted 19-Dec-2016
Restaurants need to have better food but was edible. I would NOT recommend the La Brisa restaurant that required a reservation for supper. Three out of the 4 of us ended up sick. We did tell the staff at the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Dec-2016 by Sandy Pfeil-Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to say to everybody how good your vacations with us were. We really appreciate that you have enjoyed your time here. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the food, we are going to work this point for the improvement of our services. We hope to see you soon in our resort. Warm Regards, Sandy Pfeil Director.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveller from New Hampshire

Great resort with some Language barriers

Posted 18-Dec-2016
Pros: The room was very comfortable, food was good, the all-inclusive rate was very reasonable and the facilities were excellent.
Cons: There was a mixup with my voucher for getting back to the airport after my stay ended. I had a round trip voucher but they did not honor it.
Location: Enjoyed the zip line tour and the information about what was grown and exported from the D.R.
Staff were very helpful and because I don't speak English it was great that they could. Everything about the room, beach, pool and other facilities was great. Too hot to play tennis but the courts looked in good shape. Food was good. The hospitality desk helped me to arrange a zipline excursion which was a lot of fun, and they had a dance contest that I participated in too. The only issue I had was that I was traveling alone and most of the hotel guests didn't speak English so it was hard to break the ice beyond 'how are you I am from Russia/Colombia' etc. It would have been nice if there had been other single seniors there to meet and do things with.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Dec-2016 by Sandy Pfeil-Hotel Director, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We thank you for choosing Barceló Bávaro Beach for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback. Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort and staff. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our resort. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. Warm Regards, Sandy Pfeil Director.