Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Ontario

Great Base for a London Visit

Posted 25-Apr-2017
Pros: Attentive staff, good rooms and bathrooms, quiet, yet convenient for the Tube and Heathrow.
Location: Affordable restaurants close by.
Superior to other hotels we've stayed at in Bayswater.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location, exceptional value

Posted 19-Apr-2017
This hotel is right across the street from beautiful walkable Kensington Gardens and within range of several tube stations. Our room was large and comfortable, staff were great and the buffet breakfast is amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning dear valued guest, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked our favoured location, the room large and comfortable. It is great to know that you found our staff great and the buffet breakfast of your liking. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from london

Welcoming staff with a "can do " attitude.

Posted 19-Apr-2017
Pros: Clean, friendly and attentive staff.
Cons: N/A
Location: Nice restaurants
Stayed in this hotel few years ago. It's much improved. Refurbished and friendly staff adds to its reputation. This time stayed overnight attended a wedding. Enjoyed my stay very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good morning Akhtar, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially appreciated the service of our staff that were friendly and attentive with a "can do" attitude. It is great to know that you found the hotel improved, refurbished and the staff friendly. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great day. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from oldbury

Nice hotel close to city monuments

Posted 10-Apr-2017
Close to bus station and city monuments which make the tour easier, great staff and safe parking, clean room and great facilities!
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Anastasia, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on Expedia. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially for the location, the staff, the car park and the cleanliness of the room. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great evening. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Good location for both business and sight seeing

Posted 10-Apr-2017
Pros: The location was great. I was able to walk to my meetings around the Marble Arch. The open-top London tour buses also stop right by the hotel.
Cons: Rooms are a bit small, but other colleagues have said the same thing about a number of other hotels.
Location: The nearest underground station is less than five minutes away. The hotel is located across the street from Hyde Park and Marble Arch is nearby.
The hotel was centrally located and I was able to walk to my meetings. The staff were great and accommodating. For being an Expedia +gold member, the hotel also upgraded my room, which meant I got a bigger bed! I also received a 20% discount on food and drinks, which I unfortunately did not get a chance to use. Overall, I had a nice experience at the hotel and will probably book there again if I my meetings are in that area.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Tesh, Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in London and for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you liked the location, close to Marble Arch and to a sightseeing bus stop. I am sorry that you were unhappy during your stay because of the dimension of the room and the facilities you found in it. I would like to inform you that we have a range of different categories of bedrooms including Executive, Family and Junior Suite, where you can find that more space when you need it. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great evening. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from cheshire

Great location for a stay in London

Posted 08-Apr-2017
Great family room and close to Hyde park so lovely location too.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Kate, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review on Expedia.com. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and especially because of the room and the location. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great evening. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Glasgow

Loved staying at Thistle Kensington

Posted 03-Apr-2017
Central location for visit to London. Room was comfortable with great view over Hyde park. Staff were polite, friendly and professional. I would definitively recommend this hotel my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Anne-Marie, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. I am pleased to read that you liked the location of our hotel, the comfortable room and the view over Hyde Park. It is great to know that the staff were friendly, polite and professional. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Leeds

perfect location

Posted 02-Apr-2017
2 min walk to the underground station, loads of shops and restaurants nearby. Just opposite to the beautiful Kensington Garden. In room it was very quiet. The room isn't spacious but fairly good for a hotel in London. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was also nice, worth paying for.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Erika, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location perfect for your needs. We are lucky at Thistle Kensington Gardens to be so close to the tube station for the Central Line and in a vibrant area as Queensway and Kensington, just in front of the park. It is great to know that you liked the bed and the breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

recommend

Posted 23-Mar-2017
Cons: better signage on Bayswater would help especially if coming from Queesway Underground
family room for 3 adults, no complaints from couple in the double but single bed was equal to sleeping on the floor room, breakfast and staff were brilliant
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Apr-2017 by Úna, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you were so pleased with the service provided by our stay, and the breakfast buffet. I am sorry to hear that the single bed in your room was uncomfortable, please be assured that I have passed your feedback onto the housekeeping manager who is now making extra efforts to ensure the comfort of these beds. We look forward to your return. Kind regards, Úna Harrington, Customer Service Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Larnaca

Nice hotel with some issues

Posted 19-Mar-2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Nice hotel, good high speed wifi included free - this is a big deal. However, it took 4 phone calls and 3 days to get a broken chair in the room replaced. My key card stopped working on 4 separate occasions which meant going up to the room and then back down to queue at reception. The lifts are a complete pain... you have to enter your room key about 17 times before they let you select a floor This is an Expedia VIP hotel... so far as a Gold member I have had zero upgrades of any value - a complete waste of time.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Apr-2017 by Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Craig, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am sorry to read that you were unhappy during your stay. I am discussing your comments with the other manager to see how we can improve in the areas that were highlighted. Please accept my apologies, we failed delivering the standard of service we strive for and we are sorry for it. I would like to inform you that we upgraded your room to an Executive King-Size Bedroom following the VIP programme. I hope you will consider staying with us again soon. Regards Tiziano Rossi, Relationship Manager