Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Toronto

Good location

Posted 11-Sep-2017
Good location and buffet breakfast, service from front desk staff and cleaning crew has lots of room from improvement. When I arrived for check in I felt like I was asking for a favour, not that I paid for it if you know what I mean. Overall hotel and room was always clean but were the little details that bothered me, like not refilling the soap, not picking up the iron board, not refilling you or at least giving you the option for drinkable water in the room for an extra cost, etc. The toilet didn't flush properly so you have to waste a lot of water. They don't seem to care about exceding customers expectations, but on the other hand it does the job with its great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Sep-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, John. We are sorry to hear that you have faced a few challenges during your stay. But we are glad that the location has worked for you. We hope that you will choose us when staying in London in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Top customer service

Posted 06-Sep-2017
Pros: Friendly efficient staff
Cons: Had a little difficulty locating the room. asked male member of staff were the room was , he could not help. Does not give confidence.
Location: close to tube, shops and cafe
All good but the fact their is no air con in the room. was an issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Sep-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are glad that the team has looked after you, and that the location worked for you. We hope to see you soon again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Never Stay There Again

Posted 29-Aug-2017
This hotel is great if you can afford to pay top dollar but if you are a regular person with a regular budget it isn't that great. The room we were placed in didn't have AC which we knew but you also couldn't open the window to let any of the cool air in so you could cool off. Then the toiler would not flush. The room was also very poorly cleaned and smelled like someone had been smoking in there even though we requested a non smoking room.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. We hope that this experience will not stop you from using us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Manchester

A lovely Hotel with everything

Posted 24-Aug-2017
Pros: The hotel is very comfortable and has wonderful facilities. Although very busy, as expected for a weekend, the rooms were very quiet.
Location: The hotel is convenient for transport into the City. However we walked as it's a short walk down to St Paul's Cathedral and Millennium Bridge.
I booked this hotel for a weekend in London for my sisters birthday. The hotel and staff were excellent and even upgraded my sisters room leaving her a birthday card and chocolates, which was lovely & unexpected. It has wonderful facilities with the gym & pool, being an added bonus for London. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the food looked lovely. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Diane, thank you for the 5* review. We are really glad to hear that you and your sister have enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will choose us next time you visit London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from london

Posted 23-Aug-2017
A straightforward overnight stay. Good to have a pool and gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Bridget. We are glad that you have managed to try the leisure facilities. We hope to see you soon again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel in Central London

Posted 22-Aug-2017
Pros: Good customer service, nice room
Location: Near the 'Old street' Tube station on the Northern line.
Good customer service and nice room. Central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for the review regarding your recent stay. We hope to see you soon again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from UK

Great staff.

Posted 21-Aug-2017
Pros: Pool and gym. Location was good too.
Cons: Desperately needs a refurb. More important is to get some soundproofing in or make sure their guests know there is none.
Location: Good location for Barbican and tube + easy to walk into Central London
Staff were really friendly very informative and helpful. Facilities were ok. Very busy hotel which may go some way to explain the very tired feel of the décor. Felt like it needed a major refurb in most areas. The worst thing is there is no soundproofing so could hear the conversations of the people in the bedroom next door very clearly. Unfortunately, our neighbours on one night were talking very (and I mean very) loudly till nearly 2:00 a.m.. So big thumbs up for the staff and sadly thumbs down on a recommendation
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay, Mike. We are sorry to hear that you have faced some challenges during your recent stay. Please contact the reception team in a similar situation in the future, and they will be happy to assist you. We hope that this experience will not stop you from using us in the future. We hope to see you soon again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Toronto

Average hotel for convenience.

Posted 20-Aug-2017
Convenient hotel close to stations and central attractions. Staff seem uninterested and bored. Carpets are dirty. Water is boiling hot... meh.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Josh. We are sorry to hear that your recent experience was not satisfying. Please contact the reception team in the future if you are not happy with the bedroom or the service. They would be happy to assist you. We hope that this experience will not stop you from using us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Australia

Badly run hotel

Posted 18-Aug-2017
Horrendous experience!!! Breakfast is a shambles and the hotel room was a box totally not worth the money
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Rachel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Why don't you try one of our Premium bedrooms? These rooms are larger, they also benefit from air conditioning. We hope that this experience will not stop you from using us in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

less than you will expect

Posted 16-Aug-2017
Pros: It was cheap and works if you need something.
Cons: Don't lie about air conditioning. Allow the windows to open a bit more so cool air can come in when it gets really hot. Higher nicer people.
Location: It was pretty far from lots of the tourist spots we wanted to go, and we didn't anticipate how slow driving would be nearly all day long.
Service was bad. They test fire alarms every month but didn't tell us. We woke up with hearts beating and extremely loud sound repeating. We asked a maid outside our door, and she just said she didn't know and walked away. It was horrible. Everyone was also looking outside their door and had no idea if the building was on fire or not. The rooms were so hot, we barely slept, and the sheets are like sand paper. One of the most disappointing things was that there was no air conditioning, which they lied about online, and they rooms were small and nothing like the pictures. The pool is small and always too full to be enjoyed. The in-house restaurant food was ok, but our waitress was extremely rude, and we are pretty timid people. I've been to enough hotels to know you should pass this up or consider spending just a tiny bit more.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Aug-2017 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry for the challenges you have faced during your stay. Just to confirm, our standard bedrooms don't have air conditioning, but the premium bedrooms benefit of this. I have passed your feedback to the relevant head of departments for further investigation, as the level of service you have received was definitely not up to our standard. We hope that this experience will not stop you from using us when visiting Lonon in the future.