Ratings based on 1,021 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Minneapolis, MN

Villa del Palmar Resort

Posted 27-Mar-2017
Pros: We enjoyed the staff and their service with a smile! The hotel is clean, comfortable and the spa is state of the art. Recommend massage over manicure
Cons: The hotel is a bit dated, could use some updated colors and decorating.
Location: Great location, just off the bus line to downtown PV. Also walking distance to several restaurants and a brand new upscale shopping center.
We took advantage of the all inclusive and found the food delicious at all restaurants. It was great to be able to order off the menu and not have buffets for every meal. The breakfast buffet offered cooked to order eggs, omelets and waffles in addition to many other selections. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful, always serve with a smile. The hotel is clean, a bit dated but beds are comfortable and the resort pools and beach area are beautiful. We also took advantage of the spa massage services twice as we found it so relaxing, refreshing, and a great pampering, high class experience. We would definitely return again! The only negatives was cool shower first 3 days but they did get that fixed. Would not recommend the resort sales pitch - unless you are truly interested in purchasing,
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from vallarta

Posted 25-Mar-2017
Great location, decent food, and great beach! I would highly recommend it along with the cookin Vallarta tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Seattle

Nice hotel next to the beach!

Posted 21-Mar-2017
Pros: The all inclusive, family friendly package was exactly as advertised and we found it to be a reasonably good deal
Cons: The time share sales people need to be brought into line. They were way too aggressive Provide easy upgrades for wine service - especially at dinner
Location: Convenient to a small beach right in the front of the site, easy cab to everywhere of interest
Our hotel was initiated by a sales pitch from the concierge that lasted twice as long as we were interested, and then the young lady confronted us yesterday wanting to continue the conversation after we had already made our disinterest emphatically clear. One of our friends referred to the time share sales staff as barking Chihuahuas - couldn't be more true! Once past the sales gauntlet, the next 5 days and 4 nights were truly a visit to paradise. The staff was friendly, the food was quite good and plentiful, the facilities were easy to settle into and enjoy. There were two floor shows while we were there, the Broadway review was forgettable (not my thing, mostly - I am not a fan of lip synched songs and mostly good dancing). The mariachi night was a 5 star performance!!!!! The musicianship was phenomenal. My wife and I were only disappointed when it was over, wanting another hour more. I was very impressed with the customer service with one of the pool side vendors, I had purchased a silver chain which snapped at the hook. He promptly repaired it and returned it the next night. The service was excellent. Other than the sales staff, the only less than fantastic part of the stay was the drinks. The cocktails were pretty tasty and very plentiful - we just wish that we could have had better wine, especially with dinner. All in all, absolutely a 4/5 star experience
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Stan Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from houston tx

i highly recommend this hotel for kids

Posted 17-Mar-2017
i love this hotel! is very kids friendly special the beach is perfect for the kiddos ! food is not good! and the capitan from the buffet i dont like him the way to treat costumers the first 2 days the waiters dont charge me for my kids! but i left a good tip cuz i didn't know that in the check include the tip! so my 3er day i did not leave a tip offcourse not so the capitan order to the waiter to charge me 2 kids in my check so i called the capitan and ask him whats going on so he waive the charge for my kids so i deside to start eat out side of the hotel !
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Mar-2017 by Alejandro Rodríguez, Hotel Management
Dear Armani. I would like to use this communication to express the gratitude of Villa del Palmar Vallarta’ staff, for your preference in selecting us as the official site of your visit. Our biggest hopes are that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our resort and premises, as well as our friendly and warm hospitality. I hope that you don’t forget that in Villa del Palmar Vallarta you will find a great resort and that our reciprocal customers will take with them the best of the impressions, because this is our first priority. We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - FOM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Winnipeg Mb Canada

Great hotel

Posted 12-Mar-2017
Friendly helpful staff, the beach was good, the hotel very clean. Short bus ride to the malecon.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Portland, OR

Mold issue

Posted 03-Mar-2017
The room was a pungent moldy smell, and we thought the source was mainly the cabinets. The beds are mediocre and food at the restaurants and evening shows was bland and nothing special. Go find food elsewhere or even a hotel that keeps up with its rooms better!
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Regina

Great Hotel in Great Location

Posted 26-Feb-2017
Pros: Centrally located, this hotel offered all inclusive packages which we purchased. It was great to order off the menus ( no ala cartes)!
Location: Right on the beach this location is close to airport, shopping & town.
We stayed at Villa del Palmar for a family get together. Everyone in our group of 12 stayed here. We had kids from 9-85 in the group & everyone totally had a great experience! From the always friendly staff to the grounds, rooms & food we thoroughly enjoyed Villa eel Palmar!
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa. I would like to use this communication to express the gratitude of Villa del Palmar Vallarta’ staff, for your preference in selecting us as the official site of your visit. Our biggest hopes are that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our resort and premises, as well as our friendly and warm hospitality. I hope that you don’t forget that in Villa del Palmar Vallarta you will find a great resort and that our reciprocal customers will take with them the best of the impressions, because this is our first priority. We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 18-Feb-2017
When we arrived, they told us that they were overbooked, so that we could not stay there as planned. They offered us a room at another resort outside of Nuevo Vallarta, miles away, in the middle of nowhere. We stayed at the ESTANSIA, which turned out to be a lovely, new resort. We still had to taxi into town, to the stores and restaurants and places to eat. * Could rate the resort, since after hours on the phone, sitting in the lobby, they sent us someplace else.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from california

Horrible front desk!

Posted 18-Feb-2017
Everybody in the front desk are unprofessional! Won't do anything to help you. They will lie about reservations and mess up your reservation. Worst experience ever. And i'm always staying at different hotels. They will pick and choose, who is worth their time. Horrible reception. The room keepers do a good job though. Clean rooms. Thats about the only good thing about the hotel honestly. I suggest you try to book other hotels before this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Martha We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Fargo ND

Great Place

Posted 15-Feb-2017
Pros: The location.
Location: walking distance to the mall/stores, 4 mile walk to the Malecon. Amusement part right across the street.
nice place, great location, walking distance to the mall/stores. The staff is very courteous, our maid wasn't that great, left hair on the bathroom floor all week, the toilet took 3 flushes to flush. Breakfast buffet was to expensive, the french toast was cold. The Cartel was always present on the beach selling their products. Seems to be an older crowd that stays here, an old peoples home more or less. Oh and no free wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Mike Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta