Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Los Angeles

Nice hotel near the Puerto Vallarta's malecon.

Posted 21-May-2017
Pros: Cleanliness Staff Food Location Service
Cons: It would be great to have free Wi-Fi
Location: Location is right on the money, it's near the center and main attractions.
I'm giving a 4 star review only because we had to wait a little over 2 hours to get our room, even though we got there on time. Also, the guy at the front was trying to give us a twin bed room instead of the king size bed I had reserved 2 months in advance. There is no free Wi-Fi available; the hotel charges 10 dlls a day if you decide to use it. The hotel is very very nice. It's located right next to the beach, so you can walk from your room to the beach with no problems. The staff was extremely friendly. There are 3 restaurants inside the hotel, mexican, italian, and international, all the food and drinks are delicious and the prices are very reasonable; a dinner for two with drinks and everything comes out to about 40 dollars. The hotel is located 10 minutes from the malecon, which is the main attraction there; it's a strip with stores, restaurants, and bars right next to the beach. There is a Walmart located also about 5 minutes away. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from chicago suburb

Beautiful hotel, close to everything

Posted 21-May-2017
Pros: The kitchen had everything: Microwave, blender, toaster, coffee maker, pots, pans, dishes, bowls, cups, flatware. The bathroom had a hair dryer.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Close to the airport, the boardwalk, downtown, flea market, grocery store, Starbucks, fine dinning, high end shopping mall, bus stop. Perfect locale!
The entire staff was friendly, knowledgeable and just plain amazing. The hotel is gorgeous with beautiful grounds that are kept perfectly manicured. On our arrival we were provided a map of the area, and a flat rate listing for the price of the city bus and taxis to certain locations. No one will take you for the tour you didn't want to hike up their fare. There is a currency exchange in the lobby to convert your money into pesos and plenty of designated hotel personnel to book tours, answer questions or make restaurant reservations for you. On the hotel grounds you can find a small grocery store that carries almost anything you could need (they even had coffee mate!). There are 3 swimming pools, 3 restaurants in addition to room service and a small gift shop. A laundromat can be found around the corner from the entrance to the hotel. Free organized activities are offered all day along with a special themed activity for the evening. Every meal I enjoyed on the premises was fresh and delicious. The beach is just a mere few steps away with an opportunity to make purchases from local vendors. There are plenty of umbrellas and lounge chairs for everyone, everywhere. No need to get up extra early and stake your claim like on a cruise ship! When you leave or enter the grounds by taxi, the driver is stopped at the gate so his name and your room number can be recorded which made us feel really safe. This place is perfect!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from f

A brake

Posted 28-Apr-2017
The hotel is not what i expect is more like going to the camp, some of thr staff i feel that need more customer services training, the food is limited no a lit choices and alsi id rge hotel is all inclusive after 10:30 i believe if you want something you have to pay i feel the rhat is ridiculous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from G

Nice hotel , beach access .

Posted 23-Apr-2017
Room was clean , staff was very nice . Piña coladas need improvement . And I slept very comfortable but my wife was not happy with her pillow . Oh and by the way , once I left the safe open with money in it and the housekeeping staff did not touch it . Very honest staff !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Chicago

Nice Hotel but terrible registration

Posted 16-Apr-2017
Our registration experience was a gauntlet, we were trying to avoid the time share sellers, we were unsuccessful since the hotel registration staff works in coordination with them, allowing them to be pushy supporting them while they requested our IDs. When we refused, they assured us they were part of the staff and it was normal procedure. After registration, we were herded" to sit with Fabiola, a timeshare seller, who "needed" to tell us information about the hotel and Puerto Vallarta. At the end, she offered us free breakfast the following day to go to listen to a presentation at the Villa Del Palmar Flamingos their new resort and asked for a a $10/person deposit which would have been returned the following day. We decided to lose our $40 rather than waste our time with something we were not interested in, but we spent everyday finding ways to avoid seeing Fabiola. To say the least, it was a bit stressful part of the day. Also at the whirlpool, we heard terrible stories: some paid $20 & $40/person, one couple lost their $500 they gave as deposit after the presentation and changed their minds; After these stories, we felt "lucky". I'm not complaining about the room cleaning, restaurant services, etc. Just the part of the timeshare hunt! Beware!
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Apr-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Sergio We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Very nice and fun

Posted 13-Apr-2017
My family and I loved this resort and will definitely go back there.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Apr-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location, lots of beach access

Posted 05-Apr-2017
Pros: Staff, beachfront, pools.
Cons: Food was mediocre (Italian and Seafood). We did not try the Mexican. It could be loud/walls were "thin."
Location: Location was great. Easy access to downtown and airport. There is a new outdoor mall within walking distance.
Janeth was INCREDIBLE. She cannot get enough kudos for her friendliness and professionalism. The hotel was beautiful and sits right on the beach. There are 3 pools to choose from. The facilities are clean. Staff were there to assist whenever needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Apr-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Commerce Twp, Michigan

Posted 04-Apr-2017
Centrally located, very nice accomodations, great food, several pools, courteous staff. We will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Apr-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Ray Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Sarnia Ont.

Not our first time here

Posted 29-Mar-2017
Pros: We had a kitchenette and did our own breakfast and lunch in the room and went out for dinner. This was a big savings
Location: The location is great can walk everywhere or jump on a bus if you like to pretty much anywhere. Very cheaply
We stayed here for the first time about 20 years ago and were delighted to see that they have keeper it up with the times. We were also very surprised that the exchange rate at the hotel for Canadian money was better then the bank so don't waste your times searching that out like we did. My husband went ski diving while we were there and landed on the beach just three resorts down from this resort. The plane and company were from welland Ontario so very safe. All in all a great vacation. We'll definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Linda Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Minneapolis, MN

Villa del Palmar Resort

Posted 27-Mar-2017
Pros: We enjoyed the staff and their service with a smile! The hotel is clean, comfortable and the spa is state of the art. Recommend massage over manicure
Cons: The hotel is a bit dated, could use some updated colors and decorating.
Location: Great location, just off the bus line to downtown PV. Also walking distance to several restaurants and a brand new upscale shopping center.
We took advantage of the all inclusive and found the food delicious at all restaurants. It was great to be able to order off the menu and not have buffets for every meal. The breakfast buffet offered cooked to order eggs, omelets and waffles in addition to many other selections. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful, always serve with a smile. The hotel is clean, a bit dated but beds are comfortable and the resort pools and beach area are beautiful. We also took advantage of the spa massage services twice as we found it so relaxing, refreshing, and a great pampering, high class experience. We would definitely return again! The only negatives was cool shower first 3 days but they did get that fixed. Would not recommend the resort sales pitch - unless you are truly interested in purchasing,
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Mar-2017 by alex rodriguez, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta