Ratings based on 35 verified reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 14 Dec 2019 on Orbitz
Staff is extremely nice, and catered to all our requests. There were a couple of unexpected problems that required special attention by the staff. They took ownership of the problems (even if the issue was out of their hands), and compensated above and beyond. We felt like a 7* service, all the way. We enjoyed the intimate personal beach they offer, which is very easy to access. Would definitely return to this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
7 Jan 2020 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations and hope we will see you again in the near future.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 5 Sep 2019 on Orbitz
good location but very poor service. simple amenities and requests were not executed and problems with the room ignored. staff is mostly unattended. not acceptable for a so-called luxury hotel with high room rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
6 Sep 2019 by Caranabeach Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and we are delighted that you liked the property and location. We have noted however your disappointment with the service you experienced and which we sincerely regret. Our team are very passionate and go to great lengths to ensure that all our guests are well taken care of, even if on this occasion it appears that we did not meet your expectations. We continually strive to provide the highest levels of service and attention to our guests and we have taken care to review your points with our staff for further improvement. We thank you nevertheless for having chosen us.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from New York

Posted 4 Jun 2019
We stayed at Carana Beach Hotel for our honeymoon in July 2018 and were EXTREMELY dissapointed by the experience. We booked well in advance and were offered a villa with a pool with direct sunlight in a private location. When we arrived we were placed in a room that had shade over the pool making it extremely cold and next to balconies that were 1 meter away. When we complained to management they offered to downgrade us to a regular room and a refund for the difference in rates, since we couldn't use the pool. At this point we were moved to the room furthest away from the beach with a terrible view, which we ultimately accepted so we could get the refund. However, when we requested the refund after our stay, the hotel lied saying that they never offered us a refund. As if someone in their right mind would downgrade from a villa with a pool to a smaller room furthest away from the beach and without a pool, as still agree to pay the original price. As if this were not enough, we had a numerous other issues including: - We found hair in a plate of food (this plate was never even refunded). - We specifically requested a vegetarian lunch box for a day tour and received a lunch box with meat, so my wife couldn't eat for the entire day. - The A/C broke down and maintenance didn’t fix it until the next day so we couldn’t sleep for an entire night due to the heat. - The WiFi in the room didn’t work for two days. Avoid this hotel at all costs.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from New York

Posted 4 Jun 2019
We stayed at Carana Beach Hotel for our honeymoon in July 2018 and were EXTREMELY dissapointed by the experience. We booked well in advance and were offered a villa with a pool with direct sunlight in a private location. When we arrived we were placed in a room that had shade over the pool making it extremely cold and next to balconies that were 1 meter away. When we complained to management they offered to downgrade us to a regular room and a refund for the difference in rates, since we couldn't use the pool. At this point we were moved to the room furthest away from the beach with a terrible view, which we ultimately accepted so we could get the refund. However, when we requested the refund after our stay, the hotel lied saying that they never offered us a refund. As if someone in their right mind would downgrade from a villa with a pool to a smaller room furthest away from the beach and without a pool, as still agree to pay the original price. As if this were not enough, we had a numerous other issues including: - We found hair in a plate of food (this plate was never even refunded). - We specifically requested a vegetarian lunch box for a day tour and received a lunch box with meat, so my wife couldn't eat for the entire day. - The A/C broke down and maintenance didn’t fix it until the next day so we couldn’t sleep for an entire night due to the heat. - The WiFi in the room didn’t work for two days. Avoid this hotel at all costs.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 10 May 2019
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 9 Nov 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Pa

Posted 25 Oct 2018
Very private. Beautiful scenery. Good access to bus stop.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Perfect end to our holiday

Posted 3 Sep 2018 on Hotels
Beautiful villa, lovely private pool. Very clean and comfy bed. Good breakfast selection.
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 7 Aug 2018
Staff was accommodating! I was not satisfied with my room and they changed it
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 9 May 2018
Great room with beautiful terrace, beautiful location, friendly staff.