Ratings based on 1,996 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Dissapointing

Posted 24-Mar-2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: I don't know where to start. How about truth in advertising or charging a fair rate.
balcony overlooked driveway and garage, all paths to room were under construction, room facts back street
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We apologize that our stay fell short of expectations, and regret any inconvenience caused. We are happy to announce that the noisy portions of our renovations concluded on March 25th. We hope that you'll visit us again sometime in the future, for a more pleasant experience overall.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Texas

Not what one would think of a Waldorf Astoria

Posted 22-Mar-2017
The check in was an extremely long wait; they were understaffed and didn't seem to care. We were standing 5 deep waiting to check in. The rooms were very nice but the bed was very uncomfortable!! There wasn't a memory foam or pillow top on the mattress as one expects. Walking to the room reminds one of a Fairfield Inn or Outdoor courtyard by Marriott. It was not the caliber of any Waldorf Astoria!!! My room was a deluxe Oceanview room. What I received was a room with a 100 % view of the pool and 10% ocean view. The pool is decent , the beach was nice. The hotel is a 3 out of 5 for an average hotel. If you go to the hotel thinking your walking into a Waldorf: 1.5 stars!!! Just stay at the casa marina- it's definitely a Waldorf! Overall
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our pool and beach, but regret you feel you did not receive good value. The Reach boasts the only private natural sand beach on the island, and we price our rooms competitively with the other resorts on the island. Keep in mid winter is peak season for Key West, our rates are much lower in the summer months. We also have foam pillows and mattress toppers upon request. We look forward to having you back for a return visit soon!
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

One of few Key West beaches, but....

Posted 19-Mar-2017
Pros: The beach and pool setting
Cons: The service
Location: One of few beaches on Key West, but no real facilities other than that.... at least not that I found or was told about.
When I was dropped off with my luggage at the base of the steps, the doorman walked away and I could not get anyone to help me. After dragging my suitcase up the steps, I checked in and asked about facilities since there was a resort fee. I was told I needed to speak to the scheduling desk. That person was on a very long phone call (still talking when I left), who only turned a book for me to read that described activities in Key West and their cost. It was not until the second day when I walked to the beach that I saw there was a shack that rented items. As it turns out, I was supposed to be given a ticket telling me of the facility and the small discount I would get, when I checked in. Some people at the desk were friendly and helpful and others were grumpy and gave incorrect information. If you stay long enough you begin to know who is grumpy and avoid them. I was very disappointed that Waldorf had allowed their service to be so bad. The restaurant food was good and the setting was pleasant ... too bad the service was so terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. We appreciate your comments about your experience here, and your feedback will all be seen by our management. We appreciate everything you have to say about us, but I'm very disappointed you had such a lackluster visit to our resort. We aim for so much more than what you experienced while you were here, and I wish we did better job of proving that to you. I hope you will still consider staying with us the next time you visit Key West.
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from columbia SC

Great location

Posted 18-Mar-2017
The location of this hotel is great. Very close to duval street and the southernmost point. The front staff was rude when I checked in and seemed upset that I was checking in at 3PM. They have a "guaranteed checking time" I was told which is 4pm. They said they had my number and will let me know when my room is ready. I laid by the pool. I got my text at 4:25pm. I wanted to complain about the guaranteed 4pm thing but shrugged it off as no big deal. The pool staff didn't seem interested in getting your drink order. There weren't enough beach chairs so I had no choice but to sit by the pool. The room was nice and clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast server was very nice but the following day the beach staff was smoking weed behind their shed and the beach servers NEVER came by. Not once. I mean, you pay a "resort fee" but what for is anyone's guess. I have been to this hotel before about 4 years ago and I won't be back. I recommend you pick somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We apologize we fell short of your expectations, and for any inconvenience caused. The Reach is within walking distance to all of Key West's main attractions, and also boasts the only private natural sand beach on the island. We hope you'll consider the returning in the future, I confident we can exceed your expectations, with another opportunity.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Boston, MA

Great hotel with its own private beach

Posted 17-Mar-2017
The entire staff was amazing! They were all so friendly and we were always greeted with warm welcome smiles. Our room was beautiful and we enjoyed a nice view from our balcony. When we checked in, Zia (who was sooo pleasant) informed us that our room was upgraded, compliments of the hotel. The beach was beautiful and well kept. The food and beverages were delish! Service was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. I'm happy to read that you found so much to enjoy throughout our resort. We appreciate your comments, and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Key West!
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great location in Key West

Posted 12-Mar-2017
Pros: nice pool and one of the few beaches in Key West
We booked through Expedia so, my sense is, we got a less than ideal room. It certainly did not look like the pictures on the hotel website. The room was a 'handicap room' so there was no bathroom vanity but funny thing, there wasn't room for a wheelchair to move around the room anyway. The bathroom fan did not work, the balcony overlooked a side street and we could hear the 'back up beep' of every taxi that came to the hotel entrance. We spent most of our time out of the room so, in the end, it didn't matter that much.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed our beach and location, however, regret that the guestroom fell short of expectations. We offer multiple room types at our resort, many with different layouts, and more square footage. We hope that you'll return sometime, for a better experience overall.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Toronto, ON

Excellent Staff, Good Location, But...

Posted 07-Mar-2017
Pros: The staff were great. Location fantastic. Beach was small but nice.
Cons: Cleanliness of the room could have been better. Minor improvements to functionality of the room would take the hotel from a 4-star to 5-star feel.
Location: Right near Duval street. TONS nearby. If you don't mind walking 15min you have an endless amount of things to see and do.
Friendly, fantastic staff throughout. Concierge gave great recommendations, restaurant and bar staff extremely friendly, front desk staff great. Was not happy with room that was supposed to have an "oceanview room". We had a view of the courtyard and could sort of see the ocean if we leaned over the balcony. Heard another guest complaining at the front desk about the same thing (I don't like to complain myself). The room itself wasn't quite worth the price. Definitely not what I would have expected overall from a Waldorf hotel. Overpriced, I would probably look at staying somewhere else if I ever returned.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, and were able to experience much of what makes Key West special. We regret, however, that the view fell short of expectations. We do also offer ocean front rooms with amazing views. We hope you'll join us again soon, I'm confident we can exceed your expectations with a room with a better view.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Enjoyed our stay!

Posted 27-Feb-2017
Great hotel, great staff and really enjoyed ourselves. The only thing we would encourage The Reach to re-evaluate would be it relationship with Barefoot Billy's- the mopeds were kinda beat up and even more important there customer service was less than top notch (they tried to make us pay again even though our ticket indicated we had done so at the hotel, our moped wouldnt start.&we had to walk over and get another, the guy that did the wave runner excursion made statements that indicated he may have prejudice with Asian or Indian ethnic groups who "always go slow" on the way runners, etc. (We are Caucasian and he made those statements to us).
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Mar-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Reach Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us, but regret to learn there were problems with the rented moped. This is certainly out of the ordinary, but we're glad we resolved this for you promptly. We look forward to having you back for a return visit, sometime soon!
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NY

Nice hotel located at south beach

Posted 21-Feb-2017
Hotel was nice and staffs were frendly. Located at south beach and closed to Duval street. Sunrise was beautiful at the beach and so as Sunset at sunset pier, nice galleries and restaurants were near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Feb-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Reach. Your warm comments are much appreciated. We are always aiming for excellent, luxurious service, and if you felt you were truly pampered, then we achieved our goal. We look forward to having you back for a return visit soon, at The Reach Resort!
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from PA

It was a disappointment for the money spent

Posted 20-Feb-2017
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: Front desk staff that aren't indifferent would help.
Location: It is located very near southern most point. It is a hike to get to Mallery Square to watch the sunset so plan on paying for cab fare.
At checkin I received a room directly above the garbage dumpsters. As a Hiltons Honors member I asked for another room and they assigned a room one floor up in the same location. When I asked for an upgrade they said they could upgrade me for more money per night additional which was unacceptable to me considering they were charging more money per night additional for use of the small beach. I accepted the 3rd floor room and each morning at 7:00 to 7:30 am the jack hammer construction started directly out of the sliding glass doors and when we left the room we were able to view the garbage dumpsters. The bed was way too soft, a topper on a mattress, and my wife and I had backaches each morning as we listened to the jack hammers. The room was a complete waste of money.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Feb-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Jason; albeit a bit exaggerated. Our improvements are limited to the hours of 10AM to 6PM and while it may have felt like 7AM after a long night on Duval Street, the times you quoted are simply false. Our bedding is the same bedding and mattress used at all Waldorf Hotels and Resorts, and our "small beach" is actually the only natural sand beach on the island. Ultimately, we regret your stay was less than extraordinary, and hope you'll consider our resort in the future. I'm confident we can exceed your expectations with another opportunity.