Ratings based on 1,979 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

You get what you pay for...

Posted 20-Feb-2017
Pros: Pool / Beach / Quiet rooms
Cons: Finish up the construction
This is the second time I've stayed at The Reach in the last 2 years. It is an excellent hotel and the staff are amazing. My vehicle was secure and the room was outstanding. Key West is expensive but you get what you pay for. Private beach and a great pool along were some of the great perks. While expensive...I still believe this is one of the better places to stay in Key West. The walk from Mallory Square is a bit long but very doable. Had a great time and will be back to The Reach in the next time I'm down in Key West. I rated the hotel 4/5 stars this trip because of ongoing construction that will be ending soon. While in our room during the day the construction sounds were a bit outrageous and one guy passed right in front of our 3rd floor balcony on a boom...annoying. Other than that...great stay.
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Boston

Ocean view room, actually courtyard view.

Posted 14-Feb-2017
Best/biggest hotel beach, but we paid extra for King Studio with ocean view and got courtyard view. Even the two staff at the front desk agreed, but did nothing to find us another room or offer to comp us anything. Free breakfast or drinks, would have been a gesture. Also balcony is nice if you are a smoker, but sucks if you aren't. Kept sliding doors open at night to smell ocean air awoke to cigarette smoke blowing into our rooms.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Columbus,Ohio

Relaxing in Key West

Posted 10-Feb-2017
Pros: Location, food, beach, pool, room, staff. The place is great with a great staff.
Cons: Nothing really. Currently they are doing some construction so I think they know.
This place is great! Pros: 1. Chuck and Zia great at front desk. 2. Room upgrade 3. View 4. Grounds are great 5. Beach 6. Pool 7. Staff all around was great and polite. Cons: None. Its Key West folks so go with the right attitude and you will enjoy your stay. Treat the staff with respect and it may get even better, Thanks to all at this location. You did a wonderful job and we will return.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from D

Nice hotel close to beach and other tourist spots

Posted 07-Feb-2017
Beautiful beach access, walking distance to Louie's Backyard and Southern Most Beach Cafe restaurants, walking distance to Southern Most Point tourist spot for pictures, close to trolley stop and only blocks from Duval street.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Sioux Falls, SD

Nice Hotel, great beach.

Posted 02-Feb-2017
Pros: The Beach great, and one of the few hotels with a private beach. Lots of great restaurants within a short walk.
Cons: There are a few cosmetic things, but nothing major.
Location: Only a block off Duval St. We only took cabs a couple times when traveling long distances, we walked almost everywhere we wanted to go.
We were a little apprehensive before arriving because we were seeing a few negative reviews about the hotel. But we had nothing but a positive experience. The beach was great. The service on the beach and around the pool was great. My wife loved Jim's custom espresso martini in the bar. Our room was clean. The location was good for us, just off Duval St and on the quiet side. Concierge was helpful. There are some areas that need some work, but they are working on them. We would absolutely recommend this to anyone and if we ever go back this would be where we would stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Feb-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Reach Resort, Key West. We consider ourselves fortunate to have such a ideal location, and the only private natural sand beach on the island. We are pleased you had a pleasant visit, and appreciate you kind comments in regards to our staff. We hope to see you again sometime soon, for another great Key West vacation!
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Fairport, NY

Great balcony view

Posted 28-Jan-2017
Overall a great experience. The staff were top notch. Other the the noisy renovations it was a great time. During check in they could have better described what the resort fee covered, I thought it was a money grab. At least a courtesy shuttle to and from the air should have been provided. I noticed the other big chains were offering one.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jan-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. I'm truly thrilled that you had a spectacular vacation at our resort. We do apologize for the lack of a shuttle. Unfortunately, the City of Key West will not allow any of the hotels in the Historic District (Old Town) to operate a shuttle. This goes for our competitors as well. Luckily, we are on the stop for the trolley, and also have a taxi stand here on property. We also rent bicycles and scooters right here at the resort. We hope to have you back for a return visit soon, in sunny Key West!
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Very Nice Hotel

Posted 26-Jan-2017
Pros: Close to everything, the accommodations were great.
Cons: Service in the Restaurant can use improvement, entertainment should be daily instead of a few days a week
Location: Location was Great. Beach and pool a short walk from your room, Duval Street was a short walking distance where everything is located.
The Hotel was very comfortable, The Front Desk People , That Valet people were awesome, Nice Restaurant Food was Great service was a Bit Slow, The Beach and pool area are nice and the attendants at both were Great
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jan-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a very nice review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. I'm very happy you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and we appreciate your feedback. We do, however, apologize that the restaurant experience fell short of expectations. This is certainly out of the ordinary, and your comments assist us with improving our service. I hope we'll see you again for your next trip to Key West!
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Dallas, TX

Disappointing but not awful

Posted 24-Jan-2017
Pros: Location and private beach
Cons: Cleanliness, attention to detail
We were disappointed with the level of cleanliness in our room. Definitely not up to typical Waldorf standards. Room and view were disappointing compared with description/photos. Expressed disappointment immediately upon checking and was told our concerns would be forwarded to the manager. Never heard another thing about it. Overall not bad, just not up to expectations or price.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jan-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit to The Reach Resort, Key West. We apologize that your stay was less than extraordinary, and regret to learn of your concerns. Your comments are taken seriously, and will be used to create better experiences for future guests. We also hope you'll reconsider staying with us in the future. I'm confident we can provide you with a better experience overall, given another opportunity.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Long Island, NY

Not what I would have expected from a Waldorf prop

Posted 20-Jan-2017
Location: Carpet was soaking wet when we checked in, the ti
The carpet in our room was soaking wet when we checked in, the tiles on the floor were also damp and visibly dirty. The room itself was nice, but we had booked an ocean-view suite and had expected a true "ocean view". Instead we got a very minimal ocean view, barely visible through the palm trees planted along the courtyard of the property, (which was very beautiful, but not the ocean). the main elevators and hallways throughout the hotel were visibly dirty, too- definitely not what you would envision from a Waldorf property. Overall, the hotel was not bad, the beach is gorgeous and the staff was friendly and very helpful, but again, not exactly what one would have expected from this type of Resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jan-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. We appreciate your feedback, but I'm disappointed you did not have the great experience at our resort that we aim to provide at every opportunity. I'm glad you found many areas of our property to be so nice, but I ultimately regret that we didn't provide you the experience you deserve. I hope you'll still consider our resort the next time you visit Key West.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Merrick NY

Nice Hotel on the beach. Grounds were beautiful.

Posted 20-Jan-2017
Pros: On the beach, clean, Beach Concierge service, good restaurant, close to Louie's Backyard and Duval St.
Cons: Service a little bit.
Location: Close to all that Key West has to offer.
Staff was mostly exceptional. A few times at the counter the staffers seemed busy or not too eager to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Jan-2017 by -Luke, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving such a nice review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. We really appreciate your feedback, and I'm glad that you had such a great vacation while spending time at our resort. We look forward to you return trip, sometime soon!