Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from F

The hotel beach is not nice

Posted 25-Nov-2015
The hotel staff is too casual when addressing customers, the don't respect guests, great lack of customer service
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from england

Nice hotel own private beach good food friendly

Posted 01-Nov-2015
Pros: Location 10 mins from airport staff food pool entertainment
Cons: Kettle and coffee in room
Location: Lots to do if you want to leave location there was a rep at hotel with lots of trips to shopping boat trip quads etc
Every thing you needed was at hotel didn't need to go out could relax in sun by pool or beach we went to blue hole for snorkelling it was a great experience and quad bike in the desert
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Nov-2015 by Anwar Hawary, Hotel Management
Dear bubble, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with the traveler community. I am delighted to learn that you took back a fond memory with you during your recent stay at Radisson Blu Resort. It was a great boost for our entire team to see how much you enjoyed your stay and that our goal of creating special memories for our guests was achieved. I must agree with your comment about our environment – this is definitely the location to choose for people who enjoy a secluded and tranquil resort surrounded by beach and nature. Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from brummy family man

Hated it.

Posted 29-Oct-2015
Definitely not a 5 star hotel, more like 3 star, apparantly the hotel is no longer owned by Radisson, hence the drop in standards, I spoke to Mohammed who told me this, so did Rahul. It was supposedly sold to an Egyptian in 2014. A lot of people were getting rashes on their body... Including myself... Made me extremely suspicious of their bed linen... that or their swimming pools were causing these rashes... I spoke to 10 different people and all said they had to see the hotel doctor. Next bits even worse... Doctor tried to charge me £130 sterling, for advising me to buy a £3.50 antiseptic cream. I wasn't the only person that was being ripped off, I heard similar stories from 8 other English guests, if you have travel insurance, they'll bleed you for more cash. Had some rain one afternoon, balcony room got flooded. Do you think we got an apology? Nope. I'm 35 and the bed left me with a sore back every night. I've never slept in a bed so uncomfortable. They do try hard with the all inclusive food.. But it wasn't nice at all. Everyone in Sharm wants you to pay in sterling (British pounds) my advice is do not. Get Egyptian pounds there and you'll get circa 12.5 Egyptian pounds to £1 sterling. Regardless of what they say, no wifi in 200 of their rooms, according to Abdul at the bar, their staff. I was lied to about my room having wifi.. This heavily restricted my working capabilities, having no remote Internet access. Iron in room did not work, good news the TV did
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Nov-2015 by Anwar Hawary, Hotel Management
Dear paddy, Thank you for your comments. Needless to say, I was very disappointed to read that you have not enjoyed your stay and can only encourage you to contact me so that I can get a better understanding of the unusual and unfortunate situation you had to go through, and for which I would like to apologize. I do trust that we will manage to have you back, and deliver the experience that you expect from a Radisson Blu Resort. Regards,
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Maribo, Danmark

Den mest fantastiske ferie

Posted 17-Oct-2015
Pros: Godt personale og god service. Hi5 teamet var søde og sjove, og det var så fede by ture.
Cons: Det var for mange fra wellness, bådture og dykkerkursus som hele tiden gik rundt og prøvede, at få en til at købe deres service og tage med på turene.
Location: Hotellet ende ud lige ned til stranden, supermarkedet lige overfor. Wellness, water aerobic,waterpolo/volley, by ture, dykning, bådture.
Det er et stort og lækkert hotel. Stort område med pæn og meget vedligeholdt have og små stier og broer. Ved den store pool foregik der en masse sjove aktiviteter om formiddagen og tilpas musik hele dagen. Alle fra personalet var søde og venlige mod os, dog med en masse drilleri (som ikke var ikke overkanten). Vi havde all inklusiv, hvilket klart kan anbefales. Maden var god og der var meget forskelligt. Samtidig kunne vi frit gå op i baren ved den store pool og få næsten hvad som helst at drikke hele tiden. Det var et Hi5 team bestående af fem unge mennesker, to mænd og tre kvinder, som stod for aktiviteterne på hotellet. De sørgede samtidig for at folk havde det sjovt ved poolen. Hver anden/tredje aften var der arrangerede by ture, hvor Hi5 teamet var med. Vi var med på to ture, og det kan også anbefales, hvis man er ung eller afsted uden børn. Vi tog en bus fra hotellet om aftenen og festede første gang på Hard Rock og anden gang til beach party, hvor vi efter et par timer tog bus sammen hjem igen. Så fedt! Min kæreste og jeg har allerede aftalt, at vi skal afsted igen. Det var enestående.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveller from Provincia di Vercelli

Ottimo per trascorrerci una settimana di relax.

Posted 08-Oct-2015
Pros: La cortesia e genuinità dei camerieri, e staff in generale.
Cons: Le complicazioni sperimentate con la Reception al nostro arrivo: queste cose dovrebbero essere chiarite a monte prima di comprare il pacchetto.
Location: Posizione meravigliosa, adatto per una vacanza in famiglia. Buon rapporto prezzo - qualità.
Non esattamente con gli standards di un resort a 5 stelle, ma avendone visti anche di peggio, nel complesso un 3 stelle ci sta pienamente. Al nostro arrivo la reception ci ha fatto tribolare per circa 36 ore su una questione di età di nostro figlio, il quale secondo i loro standard doveva pagare come un adulto e non come "bambino" visto che la classificazione su Expedia era in contrasto con quella dell'hotel... Morale della favola, ci hanno chiesto di pagare una maggiorazione rovinandoci già subito la vacanza, ed innescando un susseguirsi di spiegazioni e riunioni con i vari managers, fino a che finalmente dopo circa 2 giorni hanno deciso di non farci pagare (per questa volta!) Altrimenti nel complesso non possiamo lamentarci: il buffè del mattino era abbondante e conteneva di tutto e di più, soddisfacendo pienamente tutti i gusti, sia arabo, mediterraneo, continentale ed internazionale. Le piscine erano ben mantenute anche se purtroppo alle 18 chiudevano! La spiaggia ben curata con una passerella che portava fino sopra la barriera corallina: eccezionale per le nostre immersioni nel profondo blu! La nostra camera aveva la vista sul giardino, era spaziosa e con una bellissima veranda dove sedersi alla sera. Un particolare ringraziamento a Mohammed, che si occupava della nostra camera e che ogni mattina ci faceva trovare sui letti graziosi origami di cigni e coccodrilli fatti con gli asciugamani e cosparsi di fresche composizioni floreali. Ci ritorneremo.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

The hotel was great.

Posted 30-Sep-2015
Pros: Everything.....The setting, the accommodation, the staff, the greeting when we first arrived.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was a bit far from Namma Bay & old Sharm but it was very easy getting around by the mini bus taxis that were very inexpensive.
The hotel had everything you needed for a great holiday. Beautiful pools & own beach. The rooms were very spacious with balconies and the staff were tremendous. The restaurant catered for everyone's needs and the selection of food was very enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Oct-2015 by Anwar Hawary, Hotel Management
Dear Bernadette, Thank you for your review of our property here on Sharm - it sounds as if we successfully managed to meet your expectations. On behalf of the team thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from coventry. uk.

September 2015

Posted 23-Sep-2015
Upon arrival the hotel looks amazing the lobby is air conditioned and very clean plenty of seating and 24hr toucan bar adjacent. The staff are amazing the service is next to none. Lovey room lovely beach and pool plenty of sun beds. The food looks good but wasn't great quality and it was pretty much the same all week with small changes only in the evening. The grounds are lovely and the weather is so hot, we loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Sep-2015 by Anwar Hawary, Hotel Management
Dear Lee, We are thrilled to see your positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you are with us and truly demonstrate our service philosophy “Yes I Can !” . We hope to see you soon
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from birmingham uk

very good

Posted 09-Sep-2015
Pros: Specially restaurant staffs was amazing
Cons: Beach area and reception staff
Location: Fantastic location for family holiday, privacy and quite
Hotel staffs was amazing specially restaurant staffs, Ahmed, ayman, Mohammed and manager Mohammed. Little bit disappointed about reception staff. But overall very good, food was fantastic. They need to improve beach area, like sandy beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Sep-2015 by Anwar Hawary, Hotel Management
Dear Mohammed, Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our Resort. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience during your trip; for us there is nothing more rewarding than a positive feedback from a happy guest. Regards, Anwar Hawary
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Wales

A nice hotel but never 5 Star!

Posted 09-Sep-2015
Pros: Well situated with lovely gardens and own private beach
Cons: Beachside bar, Evening entertainment which was much better across the road in the sister hotel 'The Park ' , particularly a pretty young girl Meryl
Location: Not a lot in and around the hotel and if venturing out to the small selection of shops across the dual carriageway , be prepared to be hassled !
This hotel is a series of contradictions! Well positioned next to private beach with nicely maintained gardens.The stone like water structures dotted throughout this sprawling complex are reminiscent of where the Flintstones would live !The main hotel building is fine but the beachside bar very tired. The staff for the most part are very friendly but you got the impression they hovered around you in the hope of a tip.The food was reasonably good with a wide variety to cater for all and plentiful as one would expect of a buffet style set up. This is very much a low rise complex , so be prepared to walk a lot and where to say our room had a sea view was only just factual. If viewed as a 5Star hotel then slightly disappointing but as a 3.5 Star , then our overall assessment would be Good and yes , we would consider staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Oct-2015 by Anwar Hawary, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience Radisson Blu on TripAdvisor .We are pleased to know that you found our staff great, the water structure and you enjoyed food. Likewise, thank you for pointing out the low keys in our resort. Again thank you for the invaluable feedback. we will take care of it.
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveller

Все было отлично!

Posted 12-Aug-2015 on Hotels
Останавливались семьей на пару дней. Все очень понравилось, идет небольшой ремонт, но только на ресепшн. Вся остальная территория ухоженная и чистая. Контингент отдыхает в основном местные (египтяне) и русские.