Featured image

Reviews of The Gallivant Times Square

3.5 out of 5
The Gallivant Times Square
234 48Th Street, New York, NY
3.5
Good
Rating 5 - Excellent. 252 out of 1073 reviews
5 - Excellent 23%
Rating 4 - Good. 381 out of 1073 reviews
4 - Good 36%
Rating 3 - Okay. 216 out of 1073 reviews
3 - Okay 20%
Rating 2 - Poor. 116 out of 1073 reviews
2 - Poor 11%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 108 out of 1073 reviews
1 - Terrible 10%

3.7/5

Cleanliness

3.7/5

Staff & service

3.3/5

Amenities

3.5/5

Property conditions & facilities

3/5 Okay

Travelled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel is near the center of Time Square
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Travelled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Well I did not like the fact the it is $100 deposit per night and I wasnt aware before hand. Online the property said it had breakfast available but they do not. Housekeeping is only available if you request it the day before. The roof top was not available. No fridge, microwave or coffee pot in the rooms. The bathroom is beautiful but not practical. There are no shower cutains, just half a glass that doesnt protect the water from coming out. and there was no gym.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

2/5 Poor

Travelled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
If the price point is right for you, the hotel is fine. Staff are kind but in the end special requests (like a refrigerator) aren’t easily available. Ice is only available on one floor, overall property conditions are looking questionable, and there were pills on the floor when first arrived to our room. On the plus side, the location is good.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Amenities
The ac/heater system made noise, it was hard to sleep at night. The sink water kept coming out brown.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Travelled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Small but clean and cozy and good location?
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveller
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
I turned the AC on in my room. It was too noisy. When the heat was on the unit was quiet
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2021

5/5 Excellent

Travelled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Every thing was good the rooms clean tje only thinh that in 1228 the ac did not work that good
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021

1/5 Terrible

Travelled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Didn’t like the property, they market city view and they only have a small window. Wouldn’t recommend it. Only good thing about it is that is super close to Times Square
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021

1/5 Terrible

Travelled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The front desk doesn't like to be disturbed
Multiple view booking had a small window facing the wall. It's been 4 days and still no refund deposit which was more than the room cost. No help up front and theh stole my daughters iPad. The location said it was there but then they turned it off after the call
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveller
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything was unique i had no problems i slept very comfortably
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021

2/5 Poor

Travelled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
No microwave, no heater, could not connect your own device to television, air vent in bathroom was not working. Would most likely not visit again...
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021

5/5 Excellent

Travelled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel! Receptionist was AWESOME! but I didn’t like that I had to pay for parking! But I guess that’s what to expect in New York and I also don’t like that the room doesn’t have a microwave. Other than that my stay was awesome
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021

3/5 Okay

Travelled with family
Disliked: Staff & service
Horrible staff!!!!!
I arrived at 11:30pm and had to wait over an hour to check-in. The security guard was the only one there and he informed me that the only front desk staff had not shown up for there 11:00pm shift. Over an hour later the staff member who slept in showed up and had the biggest attitude of all! Never would stay here again and that says a lot because it has a good location.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021

3/5 Okay

Travelled with family
Liked: Property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveller
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021

1/5 Terrible

Travelled with family, Travelled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I didn’t like anything about it.... it was dirty and I find a dead roach in my room....Disgusting
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good location, nice services just note tv doesn't show full view and phones have issues connecting to front desk
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I didn’t get any names of the staff, but a woman at the front desk was quite rude and short with me which I did not enjoy at all. I was in the city for a birthday celebration
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Travelled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Just terrible
This hotel is located in amazing location but that’s the only positive thing. Personnel was rude, room was tiny with the last time renovated probably in 19th century. Food sold was expired. I needed a desk to work but I couldn’t touch it because chair and desk were so dirty...I had to move out to a different hotel 3 days before the end of my reservation. Obviously they didn’t return me any money for early check out
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2020

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Travelled with family and small children
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
I made reservations specifically for a family suite but waa informed it was given away to others.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Travelled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property is located next to Times Square. But it is nothing more then a glorified Motel 6. All night long there is yelling and screaming from the rooms and the smell of weed. Every night and throughout the day there was someone in the lounge cornered by security crying and justifying their case or something. We rented the family room, which had a mini fridge but no microwave. The toiletries were cheap, and we stayed three nights and no other toiletries were provided. Due to COVID there is no housekeeping so the trash pities up along with dirty towels. You have to make an house keeping appointment one to two days in advance and vacate the premises for more the two hours, they do not tell you this when checking in. Trash lined the halls as guests placed their trash bins outside that were overflowing wit trash. Trash was not picked up for over two days. There was no place to put dirty towels besides building a pyramid inside the bathroom. There were no courtesy carts like in fine hotels that contained fresh sets of linen, towels, and toiletries that guest can help themselves to if housekeeping was not a daily option. There were no courtesy laundry carts like at fine hotels where dirty linen and towels could be dropped off at. Over all this hotel was a place to shelter in place with no customer service or SERVICE at all. Also none of the pictures on their site due justice to the reality of the hotel. You would think it is a modern chic hotel, the answer is no by a long shot.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020

1/5 Terrible

Travelled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
HORRIBLE AND RUDE SERVICE
Horrible customer service ! There was one man who helped the first time when I got there but didn’t mention anything about a deposit but by the 3rd night they tried to charge me 200 plus a night stay.... when I confronted what was going on their attitude was disgusting ! They didn’t care at all .... they were so disrespectful and rude.... I tried speaking to the manager and he didn’t even come down to speak to me .... apart from that I was on the 6th floor and there was rotten food thrown all Over the floor disgusting !
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
NightOwls in New York
The front desk help that night that checked me in was amazing. Seemed busy when I arrived with a line to check in and she was efficient and super friendly.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveller
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Ice machines weren't working or ice machine room was not there
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
15th floor with a view to 2nd floor no quiet
Terrible experience got a room on the 15th floor beautiful room, later came back to the room at 1 in the morning went to use the bathroom and the roof in the bathroom was leaking. Went down to the front desk was told the only other room option was on the 2nd floor. Room was dirty, bathroom was dirty and the entire night we heard banging on our windows and sirens. Unpleasant stay to say the least.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
The staff was really nice, my floor did not smell good, the rooms were really nice and the location. Bathroom and elevators are small, so if you are a large person this hotel is not for you. I’m waiting on clearing charges made to my credit card totaling almost 1,000 when one of them was already prepaid and the other room was being paid at the hotel. I’m still waiting for my receipt.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Un-beweevable!
I stayed here for the snowstorm that hit NYC. There was hair everywhere! You can tell that they didn't turnover the room! I was too tired from working to complain, so I just slept with my clothes on and a sweater over the pillow
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveller
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Decent hotel in midtown I would stay again if I had to.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Business traveller, Travelled with group
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
The entrance and lobby is beautiful. However, the hallways and rooms were tiny, old, and nasty. Very pitiful rooms..definitely not as nice as depicted in pictures online.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

3/5 Okay

Business traveller
Disliked: Amenities
You’re paying for the outside scenery, the rooms is a bit small but if you’re visiting this is just a sleeping spot
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020

3/5 Okay

Business traveller
it was a nice hotel but there was no hot water, i left the water run for 10 mint it still wasn't hot,
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Travelled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Best stay ever
Beautiful hotel
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveller
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Right next to Times Square!
It was a very nice room. And best of all the hotel was right next to Times Square. I would recommend this hotel.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
DO NOT STAY HERE
The worst and the most rude staff ever delt with
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020