Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Perth

Classy, central hotel

Posted 16-Aug-2015
New, splendid hotel but service is poor. Very slow check-in, told room was not ready, didn't know when it would be. "just wait". 30 minutes later ,I complained and got a room immediately. Relatives waited 3 hours. Checked out the night before to avoid delay. Bathroom floor was so slippery as to be dangerous. Service at breakfast was very slow. but most staff were pleasant enough. They promised a package with discount on $ 100 spent, but it didn't happen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from seoul

넓고 깨끗함.

Posted 11-Aug-2015
넓고 깨끗함이 이 호텔의 모토인 것 같음. 좋음. 쿠칭의 중심가인 워터프런트에서 가까움. 조식은 매우 다양하여 말레이시아의 여러가지 음식을 맛볼 수 있음.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Very clean and spacious.

Posted 11-Aug-2015
We like the facilities provided in the room which make out stay complete.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Kota Kinabalu

quiet, clean and delicious food!

Posted 22-Jul-2015
Pros: modern and new fasiclities, spacious bathroom with the tub, warm and friendly staffs.
Cons: add more staffs in the puzzle cafe especially during breakfast please
Location: the location is very strategic, walking distance to the waterfront, it was an experienced for my son riding the Bot Tambang to cross over the river as
the location is very strategic, walking distance to the waterfront, it was an experienced for my son riding the Bot Tambang to cross over the river as well as River Cruising along the big river. Recommended for those wants to have a relax and leisure time in Kuching! The foods was palatable, must try Laksa Saraak and Mee Kolok yummy!
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Jul-2015 by MarCom Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. It is very important for us that our guestsí experiences are shared, so that other guests would be able to experience the satisfaction of your recent stay here. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon at Pullman Kuching.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from sg

Huge room

Posted 02-Jul-2015
The room is spacious with good views. However, the hotel may have to spend more effort in maintenance and house keeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Tokyo、JP

立地、客室、朝食BUFFE、どれも素晴らしいです。

Posted 01-Jul-2015
Pros: 客室、朝食すべて素晴らしいです。 またショッピングモールとも直接、出入りできるので、スコールが来ても買い物や食事もできます。 コンビニもあり、そこでビールも入手できました。
Cons: 特にありません。
Location: 近くに立体駐車場の屋上にあるフードコートが人気があり、明朗会計で美味しいです。 バコ国立公園行のバスは、クチンモスクそばの発着場まで20分程歩きましたが、帰路はホテルマジェスティクスの前で下車すると近いです。5分位歩けば到着しました。ちなみにバス料金は片道ひとりRM3.5でした。
天井が高く、広くて明るいロビーはとても気持ちいいです。客室の大きな窓からクチン市街地を見下ろせ、優雅な気分になります。ベッドもバスルームも広くてきれいです。 初めてクチンを訪れましたが、大変印象のいい街になりました。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from London

Bad service & wifi, grotty pool area, good gym

Posted 15-Jun-2015
Pros: Gym
Cons: Staff, customer service, wifi, breakfast, lack of towels, cockroaches
Location: OK location... if you don't mind walking up a hill.
This huge hotel is lacking in the high level of service that you typically find in Asia. One example of this is when I asked about good wifi areas in the hotel as it would not work in my room or the lobby - their response was 'mmm go to a coffee shop?'. The staff at the lobby bar "De Ja Vu" were outwardly rude and just stayed at the far end of the bar chatting rather than take orders. They miss the basic courtesy and friendliness that most people possess who aren't in a customer service role! They messed up bar tabs and wouldn't believe that we didn't have a coke - they were quite rude and inefficient over such a small amount especially when it was their error. There was a cockroach in our bathroom. We were only given one towel between the two of us and no hand towels. The pool area is grotty and unkept. The gym is pretty good though. Breakfast - food good but the coffee is terrible and they charge you for green tea!!! I wouldn't stay here again for all of the above reasons. You would be better off staying at a smaller hotel like The Ranee for friendly staff and service and a better location.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Jun-2015 by Borhan, Hotel Management
Dear PJ, Thank you for your review based on your recent stay at Pullman Kuching. We would like to sincerely apologize for the service gaps which you have encountered during your stay with us, especially by our staff at the lobby lounge. We truly regret that you had to encounter such services from our team members. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with all the management teams for their immediate action and rectification. We are very concerned with the satisfaction of all our guests, and your feedback is very important to us. We are sadden to hear that you would not return to stay with us again. We hope that this experience will not alter your confidence in Accor network. Once again, thank you so much for your review, and we hope you have a wonderful week ahead. Kind regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager Pullman Kuching
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dr Mohd Khairi from kuala lumpur,malaysia

best hotel in kuching

Posted 01-Jun-2015 on Hotels
Great hotel..thanks for the honeymoon room setup..staffs friendly..i would say the best hotel in kuching
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Aug-2015 by Borhan, Hotel Management
Dear Dr Mohd Khairi, Thank you for your review and for choosing Pullman Kuching. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you would return to stay with us again, for your next anniversary perhaps? Thank you again for reviewing us and we hope we could have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. With warmest regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager Pullman Kuching
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mohd Afiq from shah alam

perfect stay in pullman

Posted 17-May-2015 on Hotels
Everything is good except the food is average.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jul-2015 by Borhan, Hotel Management
Dear Mohd Afiq, Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will convey to our Executive Chef concerning to the quality of food served at our Food and Beverage outlets, so that he could address to his team members. We are very concerned with the satisfaction of all our guests, and your feedback is highly important to us. We hope we could have the pleasure of serving you again in the future and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again for your patronage, and for your review. May you have a wonderful week ahead. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by JONGHONG from Seoul

Pullman Kuching 이용 후기

Posted 16-May-2015 on Hotels
트윈룸으로 10박했음. 와이파이 속도는 만족할만큼 빨랐으며, 조식은 맛있었음. 직원들도 친절했으며, 주변의 관광지와의 접근성도 좋았음. 호텔 2층엔 수영장과 헬스장도 있음. 호텔 로비 지하엔 쇼핑몰이 있으나 그리 활성화되어 있진 않고, 다만 간단한 식사해결하기엔 적합함. 호텔 입구에 작은 편의점 있음. 호텔 카드키는 종종 제대로 작동하지않을 경우가 있음. 이 경우, 카드키를 호텔 로비에서 새 것으로 바꾸는 것이 낫다고 봄
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jul-2015 by Borhan, Hotel Management
Dear JongHong, Thank you for your review of Pullman Kuching, and we are delighted to hear that you find our facilities and services are up to your expectations. We will do our very best to maintain our services for our valued guests so that they would fell comfortable when staying at Pullman Kuching. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as your comfort is our main concern. We hope to see you again on your next future visit to Kuching, Sarawak. Thank you once again choosing Pullman Kuching, and hope we could have the pleasure of serving you again soon. With warmest regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager