Ratings based on 3,681 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Massachusetts

Charming hotel in central Amsterdam.

Posted 23-Apr-2017
Location: Very close to Amsterdam Centraal train station, and many shops and restaurants are nearby.
This is a nice hotel located a two minute walk from the Amsterdam Centraal train station. There are many shops and restaurants (Indian, Middle Eastern, and more) within a few minutes' walk, and many tours (by bus and boat) start nearby. The concierge and desk staff were helpful.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Brighton, UK

Hotel with a fantastic location but not much else

Posted 22-Apr-2017
If you're looking for an easy hotel experience, the Victoria Park Hotel is definitely the one. The hotel is directly opposite the train station and you cannot miss it upon arrival. Check in was quick, and the hotel staff were friendly. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met when entering our room for 4 days. We were advertised something entirely different from the room we got; it was small and basic with extremely tired decor. Considering we paid over £200 a night, the quality of our room and amenities were not even up to scratch with a £50 a night stay in a Travelodge. Fortunately the staff made up for this with their service and the hotel restaurant and bar provided a much nicer place to be in the quieter moments of our trip.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Well situated, comfortable hotel

Posted 16-Apr-2017
Pros: Staff, rooms, location. It also has good business facilities and would work well for a business visit or meeting
Cons: Small old fashioned dining area and bar (currently under way). External canopy to prevent crowds congregating outside in the entrance.
Location: Adjacent to main rail station which links eeverything you want to do, and the airport. walking distance to canal trips and most city centre attraction
We stayed for four nights. Convenient location for transport and city centre. Very helpful staff. Room was spacious and clean and well provided with necessities. Poor (no) view from window. Crowded both inside and out (it was Easter). Hotel public spaces currently being upgraded. This should avoid the breakfast queues and improve reception area. Very fast, free wifi. We also enjoyed the pool and leisure facilities. I would return after the refurbishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your most recent stay in our hotel. I highly appreciate both your compliments as well as your constructive feedback. At the moment we are refreshing the hotel to bring a new and enhanced look to the hotel. I regret that you did not receive a room with a city view and you have experienced inconveniences regarding our busy location. As we have a perfect location, it can unfortunately be very crowded as well, something we are not able to control. I am pleased to read that your overall stay was comfortable and you share your compliments regarding our helpful staff, our spacious rooms, our cleanliness, our fast WiFi and our Active Club. It would be a delight to welcome you back in our new and beautiful hotel. Best regards, Marieke
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Amsterdam

Not bad

Posted 15-Apr-2017
Location is nice, as it's very central, making it within walking distance of a lot of attractions west, south, east of Amsterdam. The room was clean and spacious. We had the urban suite. Lighting was quite dim, and our window was small. Tv was also small. Sofa wasn't very comfortable. Cheap plastic / leather sofa bed. Our phone didn't work. No one helped fix it after we informed reception. Staff seemed friendly though. We needed to use 2 sets of lifts to get to our room on the 2nd floor, which is a bit unusual. Overall, the hotel is ok, but I would not go shouting about it to recommend others to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding you most recent stay with us. Our location is a big bonus indeed, thank you for noticing. The compliments about the room are highly appreciated. Regarding the pointers of attention; These have been noted and reported to the managers responsible so we can improve our services, thank you for sharing. I hope that we get the chance to welcome you again in the near future, so we can show you our true level of service and hospitality. Sincerely, Marieke
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from lebanon

Very agreeable to tourist .staff perfect help

Posted 11-Apr-2017
My second time in Victoria plaza same nice experience every time. I dont think u can find a similar room as the modern refurbished one in amsterdam city at there rate. They offer a breakfast that suits every taste and its a 2 min walk from the central station and a few from the centre of the city. Enjoy
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear ash, Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay in our hotel. It's a delight to read that you had a nice experience with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding our rooms, our breakfast, our staff and our location, we really appreciate it. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future. Best wishes, Marieke
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from canada

Need some renovations

Posted 08-Apr-2017
Great location The hotel was a beautiful hotel but it did look tired in a lot of areas. The hours of the gym were quite limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear james, Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay in our hotel. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed our great location and you believe we have a beautiful hotel. Our gym is open 24 hours a day. I am sorry if you were not properly informed about this. Hopefully we may welcome you again to exceed your expectations during a future visit. Sincerely, Marieke
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Doncaster

Nice hotel but no mention of the construction work

Posted 07-Apr-2017
Stayed here several times but was disgusted that there was no mention of the construction work taking place, which unfortunately was right next to our room. The staff were great and moved us but we would have stayed elsewhere had we known in advance. Also we booked a superior room with queen bed but had a really small room which could not have fitted a queen bed, prior to our move. Shame really as we did not get off to a good start.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Allison, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, I'm sorry to hear we weren't able to fully meet your expectations. At the moment we are refreshing the hotel to bring a new and enhanced look to the hotel. Guest satisfaction and experience is the primary focus and we will always do our utmost to keep our guests satisfied. We hope we may welcome you back in the future in our new beautiful hotel so we can exceed your expectations during a future stay. Sincerely, Marieke
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Singapore

Posted 06-Apr-2017
Pros: Accessibility
Cons: As above
Location: Shopping, eating and train station nearby
The location of the hotel is great! Need to improve or renovate the floor of the rooms. As we walked, there were screeching sound
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your most recent stay in our hotel. Both your compliments as well as your improvement points are highly appreciated and well noted. We hope we may welcome again in the near future. Best regards, Marieke
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Nice hotel, ideally located in central Amsterdam

Posted 04-Apr-2017
Staff were very friendly, room very good size with great view of Amsterdam central station. Good selection in buffet breakfast, concierge very helpful with tickets for daily activities. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback and recommendation. I am very happy to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and you share your compliments regarding our friendly staff, nice rooms, beautiful view, good breakfast and helpful concierges. It would be an honor to welcome you again. Best regards, Marieke
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Australia

Good Location

Posted 28-Mar-2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The bar needs to attended a bit better and available all day.
Location good for train travelers and close to the city. Hotel was having renovations during stay which was not a problem as the hotel has done all it can for a comfortable stay. One problem was that the toilet system would not stop running water all night which made it sound that the room next door was showering all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Apr-2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Ross, Thank you for your feedback. Both your pros and cons are highly appreciated, well noted and shared so we can improve in the near future. I regret to hear that there was water running all night, and I have immediately informed our Maintenance Department. Our bar is open daily from 4 pm until 1 am. Before 4 pm, you are welcome to have a drink in our Brasserie or on our terrace when the weather is as nice as today. I hope we may welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Marieke