Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Nice hotel in the midst of many mediocre ones.

Posted 20-Oct-2016
Very comfortable hotel, good beds, pillows, and bathroom. I wasn't looking for a destination hotel, just a good nights sleep in a clean friendly place. I'll be staying here again.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Good value

Posted 18-Oct-2016
Check in staff was not friendly. Staff after that was very nice. Room had microwave and good size refrigerator. Refrigerator needed cleaning though. Bathroom was very nice, clean, and spacious. Many tv stations did not come in. Spent very little time in the hotel so didn't bother trying to fix. Overall a clean and pleasant experience.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Lawton

Needs some work.

Posted 27-Jul-2016
Pros: The price was inexpensive. I liked that the hallways smelled nice. The fitness room had an elliptical.The hotel had a pool.
Cons: As I mentioned earlier.
Location: The location is right off the highway. There are many other hotels right beside this one. There is a Cracker Barrel, Sonic and other resturants close
The microwave did not work. The room smelled of mildew. It was clean though. The hallways smelled very nice.The pool area smelled very much like cigarettes. The breakfast only included biscuits and gravy, toast, waffles and oatmeal, Several people were obviously upset including the morning manager who was told by the breakfast worker that the truck had not come in with the eggs and sausage. The workers should have known before breakfast or told the manager before breakfast. When the worker was asked :"What is supposed to be in here?" about the empty warmer by another patron she simply replied, "Nothing" When another patron inquired about dry cereal she replied, "No". The water in the fitness room was nearly empty. The television in the fitness room was off with no remote available.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not what I expected...

Posted 26-Jul-2016 on Hotels
I took my youth group on a trip to a youth conference. We had three non-smoking room. We get in our room and there were clouds of smoke from the next room. There were balconies on some rooms (the next room) where it was apparently fair game to open the room and smoke in the room? Then the bathrooms were a little sketch. I felt like I was in my grandma's house (she can't quite clean as well as she use to). Then I don't remember them ever asking to clean our room except to give us new towels and toilet paper. The only thing I can say is the beds were comfortable, but I got 0 sleep the whole week so I probably would have slept well on the floor.
3out of 5
by Andrew from Lakewood, CO

Mediocre hotel.

Posted 25-Jul-2016 on Hotels
Not as nice as typical Country Inn and Suites. Staff not as sharp/professional. Could not adjust temp. of exercise room. Nothing at all special about this Country Inn and Suites.
5out of 5
by Jessica

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 25-Jul-2016 on Hotels
2out of 5
by Jason from Cabot

Gave it chance

Posted 24-Jul-2016 on Hotels
This was my first and last time to stay at this hotel. The room felt cramped, especially the bathroom. Hanging a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door really didn't matter because we were awaken by room service knocking on other doors. The Wi-Fi internet was extremely slow. This hotel just did not live up to my expectations, and is not the usual hotel-chain I stay in.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Aug-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay, in regard to the wifi service, room size, and service provided to you by our staff. We will review the conditions of your room to make sure all rooms are up to standards. Your feedback is very beneficial and will help us facilitate all necessary hotel improvements to ensure a positive guest experience.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not happy at all.

Posted 13-Jul-2016 on Hotels
The hotel had an oder and the room smelled like a nursing home. The bed did not look clean. We checked in and checked right back out and got a refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jul-2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay was not up to the standards that Country Inn and Suites are known for. We are happy to hear that you were able to get a refund and we do hope for another chance to impress you in the future.
1out of 5
by Christina from Fort Worth

Don't waste your money

Posted 12-Jul-2016 on Hotels
Reserved one room with a king bed and private patio. I got 2 queens and no patio. The room smelled like mildew, there were stains and markings on the walls, black gunk along the shower and some weird stuff all over the mirror. When u asked for a different room because if the condition and the fact that it wasn't what we reserved, there wasn't an apology or anything. Also, as soon as we arrived we had to wait 10 minutes (not kidding) before anybody even came to the counter. We called, while in the lobby, hoping that would get somebody, but it didn't. When the clerk finally came there wasn't an apology or anything! She was completely rude to everybody waiting (3 families). Unreal.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jul-2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear about the disappointing service that you received from the front desk and that you were not given the room that you had booked. We also want to apologize that the room you were given was not up to the standards that Country Inn and Suites are known for. We will make sure to speak to the hotel front desk staff to ensure that we are giving our best service and taking care of each guest like family.
3out of 5

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 11-Jul-2016 on Hotels