Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Wilderness

Posted 24-Feb-2018
Loverly rainforest walks and lookout. Fire and music.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Feb-2018 by Paul D, Hotel Management
G'Day Anonymous, Glad the you enjoyed the rainforest, walks, fire and music. Looks like you were here to relax, explore and experience nature. That is what Huon Bush Retreats is all about. Thanks for your visit and your review. Maybe keep us in mind for a short break over winter when the cozy fire is a special treat.
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Melbourne

Off the beaten track (literally)

Posted 16-Jan-2018
Pros: The setting - so peaceful and get wildlife right to your door
Cons: More open and honest description of the hotel and facilities. Fix doors and fly wires so easily shut
To say this property is off the beaten track is an understatement - the note that its on a narrow road that is steep in parts doesn't come close to it. The access in is over 4km of narrow, windy dirty road - with passing areas few and far between. The last 500m is so steep they provide instructions at the bottom to try and assist. Doing this with a rental car with an almost $10k excess on unsealed roads didn't make for a pleasant start to the stay. And this comes from someone who lives on a steep dirt road in outskirts of Melbourne! Unfortunately, this wasn't the end of the surprises - there was no flushing toilet or standard 240v power to charge or use appliances. You could charge your phone on a hardwired usb port - that turns off every 15mins - not overly convenient. Also the spa tub, at least for our cabin, was an outdoor bath. All things that didn't make the stay great when you have teenagers with you and haven't give them a heads up! The cabin requires some maintenance as the door and most of the fly wires needed some serious work to get them to close. Positives: The place itself is in a wonderful setting - very relaxing Had wallaby's all the way up to our door Cabin was really clean. Just wasn't what we were expecting....
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Jan-2018 by Paul D, Hotel Management
Lets re-write this in a “glass half full“ perspective: - Huon Bush Retreats lives up to its name as a Bush Retreat. It is in a wonderful setting - very relaxing. Being at the end of 4km gravel road, there is no passing traffic. The owners understand that some people have no experience at driving on steep gravel roads, so provide driving instructions of how to arrive safe and happy. We wish that we better planned ahead and had rented a car that was allowed on gravel roads. Just a worry, not a real problem. - The no traffic location means peace and tranquillity. It also means that the wildlife is safe to roam freely without cages. We had wallaby's and possums all the way up to our door. At night, the possums climb the fly screens, creating a comical entertainment for the evening. Sometimes this puts small holes in the screens, but this is a minor issue compared to the value of seeing wildlife so close up. - This was a welcome “screen-free” escape. Instead of the teenagers staring at their screens all night, we borrowed some board games from Reception, went for long walks in the forest and had a family meal around the dinner table. There was a selection of books in the cabin, mostly nature focused. - The outdoor bath was a tranquil treat. No noisy motors like in a spa bath, meant that we had a romantic, peaceful interlude. Warm water, watching the stars and listening to the owls. Eco facilities include composting toilet, 12 volt solar power, chemical free water and carbon neutral wood fired heating. The fire added a lovely ambience. The kitchen has gas cooking appliances. We could charge our phones from the USB outlet. Timed to auto off after 1 hour, it gave us all the power we needed. - Many hotels pretend to be a “retreat” However Huon Bush Retreats is the first place we have stayed that really delivers on its promise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by a verified traveller from Adelaide

Secluded Bush Cabin

Posted 17-Nov-2017 on Wotif
Pros: Seclusion and being surrounded by nature.
Cons: Nothing. For the type of accommodation it is, it was perfect.
Location: Several kilometres north of Huonville in southwest Tasmania.
Very secluded cabin in the middle of the Huon Forests less than 1 hour from Hobart. Clean, comfortable and very relaxing. Access via 5km gravel road with some steep sections. Waking trails and magnificent forest scenery. No 240V electricity and therefore no TV or WiFi, but gas fridge and cooking facilities all adequate. Stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jan-2018 by Paul D, Hotel Management
Hi Greg, Thanks for your visit and your review. Looks like you wanted a nature focused eco-retreat. Glad that we delivered exactly that. Our seclusion at the very end of the valley means no passing traffic so the property is quiet and safe for wildlife without cages. Please keep us in mind next time you want to connect with nature
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Devonport, Tasmania

Lovely isolated stay in the mountains

Posted 10-Nov-2017 on Lastminute
We stayed in one of the tippees for a night and it was one of the nicest places we have stayed on our journey. The tippee is very comfortable and clean and has a lovely fireplace inside all stacked and ready to go. Facilities are also better than most I have used lately. Paul, one of the staff members was very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for some seclusion. The wildlife is pretty amazing here too.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Nov-2017 by Paul D, Hotel Management
G'Day Deborah, We are very happy that the tipees suited you perfectly. For people who want a mix of nature and comfort, they are a fun experience. We love our wildlife, glad that you liked it too. Thanks for your 5 star review, and for your visit. Cheers Paul D
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from victoria

Teepee on top of mountain.

Posted 24-Oct-2017 on Lastminute
Pros: Loved the concept , beautiful scenery and wildlife.
Cons: More comfortable sleeping. MUCH more warning about the long steep windy drive to the top. not suitable for some cars. Some form of kettle in teepee.
Location: Amazing location and wildlife but left early because of forcast rain and getting off mountain in rain.
Basically a fold out bed with a light. Bed was like sleeping on cardboard. No kettle facilities. Long walk to camp kitchen .No hot water in the evening . No lock on flywire door to keep possum visitors out on warm night. Be prepared for a very long steep, windy drive . Our hire car slipped about a bit and we left early early due to forcast rain. Never met any staff as we arrived late and left early.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Nov-2017 by Paul D, Hotel Management
G'Day Jen, Out tipees are a "Glamping" (glamorous camping) experience in a private nature reserve. They are timber and canvas construction, each in its own private clearing in our protected native forest. It is 1 minute walk to the camp kitchen, with full gas range and cooking equipment including kettle. Our end of valley privacy and tranquility is protected by 4km of winding gravel road. This means no passing traffic to disturb the serenity or kill the wildlife. We do have staff onsite, but as a "retreat", we try to leave you in peace as much as possible. Most guests love the feeling that they have the place entirely to themselves. We offer self checkin outside office hours so that you can arrive and depart anytime to suit yourself. Staff are available 24/7 for emergencies. Remember, we also have self contained cabins if you want a full bed and your own kitchen. Thanks for your visit. Paul D
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Northern Tasmania

A nice, peaceful retreat.

Posted 07-Oct-2017 on Wotif
A nice, peaceful place to retreat from the noise of the 21st Century. Seeing the wildlife up-close and personal was a treat and a privilege. The wood heater made the tipee toasty warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Nov-2017 by Paul D, Hotel Management
Hi Heather, Glad that you enjoyed "Glamping" (glamorous camping) in our deluxe tipee. As you discovered, being in a private clearing in our protected native forest, the tipees are a great way to get up close and personal with native wildlife. Because we are at the end of 4km of winding gravel road the wildlife is safe to roam without cages. The wood fired heaters are a lovely cosy bonus, especially on a cold evening. Looks like the tipee suited you perfectly but we also have cabins for people who want full self contained facilities. Thanks for visiting Huon Bush Retreats.
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller from bendigo

Not what we expected

Posted 02-Oct-2017 on Lastminute
Pros: On the positive side, local animals where aplenty..
Cons: You could improve the up front information .
We had no idea this was going to be a mains power and TV free stay. Not until we got to our accommodation did we find out either of these things....
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Nov-2017 by Paul D, Hotel Management
Hi Jo, As a sustainable nature retreat, we have chosen to provide 12 volt renewable electricity. We have chosen to be free of TV, instead encouraging guests to engage with nature and each other. Expedia does not provide any way for us to enter our own text. We only have ability to check boxes for ordinary facilities that typical hotels present. Expedia then creates text from our selections. They do not allow us to proudly state that we have solar electricity and are free of TV. Most of our guests choose us because of our eco-features, but for some guests, a standard hotel in the city is a better match for the guest requirements. Thanks for visiting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Off The Grid

Posted 04-Sep-2017 on Wotif
I didn't realise we would be off the grid living for 3 days, something we are not used to. The serenity was amazing along with the views and wildlife. It was a comfortable stay but I probably wouldn't go back as this style of getaway is not for us. The cabin needs new couch the radio needs replacing as the aerial is missing.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Sep-2017 by Paul D, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Glad that you enjoyed the serenity, views and wildlife. We live up to our name as a bush retreat and this includes being off grid. In fact this is our main attraction for most of our guests, the chance to relax, explore and experience nature. I have checked the radio - yes, someone has broken the antenna. Sorry about that, I'll get it repaired in the next few days. Thanks for your visit, Paul D
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from launcesto

Bath not warm enough in winter

Posted 23-Aug-2017 on Lastminute
I went to this retreat hoping to have a lovely warm bath outside. According to hotel staff they cannot have water hot due to council regs so after spending about an hour filling the bath (you have to wait for hot water tank to heat twice!) I sat in tepid water in tassie winter wishing I was warmer. Perhaps if the bath had a lid to put over between filling it might stay warmer? Thankfully the fire place inside was well going when we arrived and the cabin was otherwise nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Aug-2017 by Paul D, Hotel Management
G'Day Leash, Unfortunately, health and safety laws prohibit us from having the water coming out of the tap hotter than 50 degrees. In the cold winter air, the water in the bath then looses heat to the surrounding air. Following the written instructions that we provide, will give the warmest bath that we are allowed to give you by law. I wish we were allowed to have 80 degree water like places built before the regulations, but sadly that is not the case. Most people who follow the instructions report that the resulting bath was lovely and warm. Glad that you enjoyed the rest of the facilities, including the cosy wood fire and wildlife. Thanks for your visit,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Nice Teepee. But everything appears tired

Posted 30-Apr-2017 on Wotif
Difficult to find with GPS. Then nobody to orientate us to location of teepee. Left a map to ponder.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jan-2018 by Paul D, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Unfortunately, Apple based devices will send guests to the wrong road. We have tried to get this corrected but Apple will not change it. Android devices will bring guests direct to us.