Featured image

Reviews of Diamonds Dream of Africa

5 out of 5
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Casuarina Road, P.O. Box 68, Malindi

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

4.4
Excellent
Rating 5 - Excellent. 15 out of 28 reviews
5 - Excellent 54%
Rating 4 - Good. 9 out of 28 reviews
4 - Good 32%
Rating 3 - Okay. 4 out of 28 reviews
3 - Okay 14%
Rating 2 - Poor. 0 out of 28 reviews
2 - Poor 0%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 0 out of 28 reviews
1 - Terrible 0%

4.4/5

Cleanliness

4.4/5

Staff & service

5.0/5

Amenities

4.1/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Travelled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Amazing stay i have ever stay in any hotel in malindi very quite place good services very friendly special the supervisor very nice guy my next holiday will go back to diamond of dream of africa
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing!!!
If you are travellers, families or couples seeking a remote hideaway, with excellent service and a sense of adventure then this is perfect! Staff from Collins (@reception) to Dolla, James, Constance are very welcoming. (Theses are the few namws i remeber) Service is at times taken to the next level. Very attentive and friendly staff who can cater for many requests and make you feel like a friend rather than a guest. Dining options are plentiful, and Saturday evenings they have a bbq, the real treat, though, is the Jambo cake dance;) Location is superb , overlooking the Indian Ocean.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2019
Response from Alexander on 22 Jul 2019
Dear Tsigereda, Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are glad to read your lovely comments on our excellent services, friendly staff,food and thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers. Warm Regards

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great weekend
The hotel and staff where all amazing.Could not fault anything, so relaxing. Thinking of going back in September.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019
Response from Alexander Zissimatos on 7 May 2019
Dear L, Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback about our hotel and staffs. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards,

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019
Response from Dickson on 22 Apr 2019
Thank you very much for your post. Your feedback is always welcome and appreciated. Kindly let us know if there is any specific area where we failed to meet your expectations. We will be glad to know and address. Thank you Dickson

5/5 Excellent

Travelled with family, Travelled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Fabulous location the staff couldn't do anymore for you and all very helpful and happy . Right on the lovely beach . I know will be returning .
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2019
Response from Dickson on 22 Apr 2019
Thank you very much for the positive comment. It will be our great pleasure to host you again in the near future. Thank you Dickson

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
RG
Fantastic place to stay the only thing I can complain is the bathrooms floor and the shower room tiles needs bleach and scrubbing. Fantastic staff!! We will be back
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2019
Response from Dickson on 18 Apr 2019
Thank you for staying with us and for the positive comments. We have taken note of the areas where you feel we should improve and we will act accordingly. It will be our great pleasure to host you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great Hotel
Great location for Malindi and beach. Food was delicious and well presented Staff really friendly.Little touches like flower messages on bed really nice.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2019
Response from Alexander Zissimatos on 14 Jan 2019
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your positive feedback about our great location, delicious food and friendly staffs. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards,

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fantastic views, excellent architecture, excellent food, wonderful and caring service from the restaurant (Timothy, Dolla, Constance, Mariam, Jussy, Raphael, Josephat, Hussein), to the rooms (Michael), to reception (Collins) and, of course, the chefs. We had an infant, and the hotel made him feel like a little King. We will be forever grateful. THANK YOU.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Dickson on 11 Dec 2018
Dear Richard, Thank you very much for the positive comments and your gratitude. It is a pleasure for us to be of service to you. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Average Hotel With Superb Staff
This 5* hotel is located on the beach which we didn't go on as when you went near the "beach boys" would be straight at you. The hotel is Ok but what stands out is the staff - they go above and beyond for you. The food, which is mainly cooked to order, is of good quality and enjoyable - sometimes the menu description wasn't always what you got though. The rooms are large and spacious and were clean - the air con is not the best. The bathroom is large but does not have air con so it was like walking into an oven and was not pleasant. The pool was a good size with a large area for sun beds but with very few beds there. The few beds that are there are very old. The spa pool is lovely with extremely comfy beds and very peaceful but you have to pay extra for that. I don't know where the 5* rating comes from but you have to remember you're in East Africa. If this hotel had a refurb it could be a fantastic place - I will miss it and the lovely people that work here.
Stayed 8 nights in Mar 2018
Response from Alexander Zissimatos on 16 May 2018
Dear Sonia, Greetings from Diamonds Dream of Africa! Thank you staying in our hotel and for leaving us your kind feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the services offered by our staff, the quality of food, size and cleanliness of the room and the big swimming pool. We appreciate your recommendations; your feedback help us to make our guests stay more enjoyable, so thank you. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the hotel. Warm Regards, General Manager.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
There is some room for improvement (mainly just improving cleanliness around the pool) but overall a lovely stay, nice to not be charged for extras like a cup of coffee; very helpful and kind staff.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great stay!
The staff at the hotel really made it a fantastic stay! Denise & Timothy in particular (F&B) stood out as going above and beyond all our expectations. From the moment we arrived we were treated very well - room was a great size & had a garden view which was a nice touch. Varied breakfast & dinner. Spaces for guests to roam in and around the hotel is great! Shared facilities with the tropical hotel next door is fab too.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice beach access. Excellent friendly staff. Good Italian food at the hotel and nearby.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
DISAPPOINTING FAMILY VISIT AT THE 'DREAM OF AFRICA
Hi, My family went to Diamonds Dream of Africa from a four day holiday at Voyager Beach Hotel, Mombasa looking forward to our stay at the proclaimed 'FIVE' star hotel. Our experience started with a rude guard at the gate whose first question was "what do you want here?" (sic. in kiswahili). on being told that we were guests at the hotel and he rudely opened one side of the gate and told me they don't open both sides when i protested! I did manage to squeeze my car through without a scratch but not without having to reverse and realign the vehicle. He directed us to a parking. I had to go back to him and request to be shown where the reception was. But the shock of our lives followed! When we got to the reception, the receptionist (a man) came and asked us how he can assist us. I told him my name and that we had come to check in. He came back again and again asking us for the same information. It is then that we noticed that the guy was absolutely very drunk!! He was even unable to write or fix the tags!!! I requested the other receptionist (a lady) to assist us since the man who was already asleep pretending to be talking on the phone. Waoh!! However the room was clean and excellent, food was tasty though not a five star rating, the rations were being limited! Comparing from the experience at Voyager and this hotel, the hotel was not worthy the money they were charging!! I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends!!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful holiday, terrible security officer
It was excellent, we had our two children(5yrs and 3yrs) with us andparticularly the restaurant staff (especially Dollar and Timothy)were extremely flexible and entertaining for the kids and for us. The food menu is varied enough that we did not get bored with the food on offer. We will definitely return Just one negative incident at the moment of departure we got held up at the gate by a polite guard and a more rude Security Officer who kept barking rude order at us. It would have helped to just tell us what was going on or better still do the check before we had a flight to catch urgently.
Response from Diamonds Dream of Africa on 16 Jan 2016
Dear Maurice, thank you very much for choosing Diamonds Dream of Africa for your holiday and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor. Your satisfaction is of paramount importance to us; therefore we are glad that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back. Thanks a lot for you nice comment about the staff: we are very happy that your children had fun with the animation team! We are glad that you appreciated the food served in the restaurant. We are sorry for the incident you had at departure time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Diamonds Dream of Africa

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Dream Food at Diamonds Dream.
A pleasant stay at a nice hotel, excellent food and very good service. A bit quiet as there weren't many guests there.
Response from Diamonds Dream of Africa on 11 Aug 2015
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Diamonds Dream of Africa for your holidays and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us: your satisfaction is of paramount importance to us. We hope you will stay with us again. Kind Regards, Diamonds Dream of Africa

4/5 Good

Travelled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Bra hotell med ok service
Ett bra hotell med bra läge precis vid stranden. Maten var bra. Servicen kunde varit bättre. Pga covid kunde poolen endast användas en timme om dagen och bokas i förväg.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2020
Response from Alexander on 26 Oct 2020
Dear Elena, Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to share your experiences with us. We are glad to read your positive comments on our hotel and food. Looking forward to welcome you back soon to the hotel. Warm Regards,

4/5 Good

Travelled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Kenia... di sicuro non ti viene il mal d' africa
Ciao a tutti, il mio soggiorno al Diamond Dream of Africa è stato positivo al 100%. Ottima la cucina ed il servizio molto disponibile in sala, Fantastica la posizione sul mare. Voto al Dream of Africa senz' altro 10 e lode. I problemi nascono al di fuori della struttura. I beach boys, ragazzi, uomini e bambini, appena vedono un bianco ci si attaccano come delle mosche e ti continuano a seguire finche' non ottengono qualche cosa. Il turismo in kenia è crollato a picco, questo è uno dei maggiori prolemi ma credo sia irrisolvibile. Di sicuro questa sara' la mia ultima vacanza in Kenia
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2020
Response from Alexander Zissimatos. on 17 Feb 2020
Dear Mauro, Greetings from Diamonds Dream of Africa, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking you time to share your positive feedback with us. We are happy to read that you appreciated our services and as for the beach boy Be assured that Malindi tourist police and our security are really working hard to make sure the beach is safe to our guest. Looking forward to welcome you back soon in the hotel.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2018
Response from Dickson on 1 Jan 2019
Thank you very much for giving us a good score. It was a great pleasure to be of service to you. Looking forward to hosting you in our resort again in the near future. Thank you Dickson

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 14 nights in Nov 2018
Response from Dickson on 11 Dec 2018
Thank you very much for the good score you have given us. It will be a pleasure for us to host you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful stay in Malindi
This hotel is my frequent staying place everytime I visit Malindi. Unfortunately, it was heaviliy rainning and unable to see beautiful sun and beach, however staffs are very hospitable as alwasy and it was very nice stay.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2018
Response from Dickson on 11 Dec 2018
Thank you for the positive comments, It is always a pleasure for us to host you and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future as we have done before.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very nice hotel, super friendly staff. We shall never forget the paronamic view of the Indian Ocean while eating breakfast at the restaurant. The only thing that could use an update is the gym area.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Dickson on 11 Jan 2019
Dear Domi, Thank you very much for the positive comments. We will look into your comment about updating the gym area. We will be glad to host you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great to have found this Diamond!
****Hotel directly at the beach. Luxurious and clean rooms, perfect room service, excellent food, variety of dishes, very nice and friendly staff. Great view of beach and ocean, palm trees, sun beds, etc. Awesome water aerobics and gym animations. Offers for other activities and tours are available. We enjoyed a very pleasant 5-day stay as a family of four. What could be improved is the awareness of the waiters (bring another knife for the dessert if there is none left, get the morning coffee quickly as the first thing and not after 5-10 minutes) and the services around the pool (bring soft mattresses for the sun beds, clean the pool also towards afternoon) - especially when there are so few guests that there should be plenty of time to take care of. Also the cappuccino machine was not working during three of our five days :-(
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Response from Dickson on 11 Dec 2018
Dear Michael, Thank you for the positive comments and we are sorry for the areas where we went short of your expectations. All the concerns you have pointed out have been noted and will be looked into. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Zeer fijn resort!!
Fijn resort met zeer vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel. Kamers zijn erg mooi, verzorgd, luxe en compleet!! Het nieuwe zwembad is prachtig. Eten erg goed en verzorgd. De kinderen kregen alle aandacht van het animatie team en hebben een heerlijke tijd gehad. Pap en mam lagen heerijk aan het zwembad te genieten van de kids en de heerlijke fruitcocktails!! Een heerijk verblijf gehad!!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Response from Alexander Zissimatos on 16 May 2018
Dear Corinne, Greetings from Diamonds Dream Africa! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear that overall you had a wonderful stay and that the services offered by our staff, the quality of food, rooms and animation activities met your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Warm Regards, General Manager.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Un buon hotel sulla spiaggia a Malindi
Buon hotel sulla spiaggia, con camere confortevoli, ben climatizzate, ben arredate e di metrature generose. Ottima la colazione: sempre presente la frutta fresca ed i succhi, uova preparate al momento sulle indicazioni del cliente, bevande calde, e dolci. Buono anche il ristorante per la cena, con una offerta adeguata alle abitudini italiane. Il wifi è stato un pò discontinuo.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
ferien im paradies
die hotelanlage ist ein traum. zimmer sehr sauber, das personal sehr zuvorkommend und freundlich. das essen a la carte ist extraklasse und es gibt eine gute auswahl. der privatstrand ist ebenfalls sehr schön. wenn man es zu ruhig im diamonds findet kann man ins nachbarhotel dass dazu gehört, tropical village. dort gibt es viel unterhaltung und auch jeden abend eine disco. es ist wie im paradies und ich kann es nur jedem weiterempfehlen!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
прекрасная гостиница
прекрасная гостиница: в принципе, рекомендуем

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Ottimo rapporto qualità - prezzo
Ho effettuato un viaggio di lavoro di 4 giorni ed ho utilizzato questo hotel, ideale per vacanza ma utile anche per viaggi business. Ho trovato l'hotel piacevole e accogliente. Con la mezza pensione si apprezza la qualità della cena, veramente ottima.