Ratings based on 270 verified reviews

3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Cozy hotel in the center of Hirtshals

Posted 26 Nov 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location, in the center of the small city. I arrived during the saturday afternoon. There was nobody in the reception but a number in big letters to call for atendance. I just called and a gentle man came to proceed with the checkin. It was easy and fast. I got a very nice room with the windows pointing to the main plaza and also with a view to the harbor. The room was clean and cozy. There are big windows and open view. I think it may be a problem in the summer because the room would be very bright during the evening. The bathroom was very nice (compared with the danish standards that are usually very small). The breakfast was very good as well and we were well served. I can just recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Eleanor from Vienna, VA

Great location but outdated property

Posted 11 Jul 2016 on Hotels
The hotel's location was perfect for our needs. Watching the sunset over the North Sea was INCREDIBLE! Parking was convenient and there was shopping and dining nearby. The room itself was outdated and did not have curtains over all the windows (not great with a 4:30am sunrise!). It also did not feel super clean. It did serve our purpose though so I'd say it's a medium!
3 out of 5
by Frode Kritian

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 30 Jun 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by peter from Oakville

Posted 12 Jun 2016 on Hotels
The hotel needs some loving care in the old section
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 14 Dec 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Susan from Houston TX Area, USA

Hotel Hirstshals - A room with a great view.

Posted 10 Oct 2015 on Hotels
A nice, affordably priced hotel along the northern coast of Denmark nearby the terminal for the ferries to and from Norway. The distance to the ferry terminal is walkable with maybe one roller bag for those fit enough; otherwise a taxi would be in order. The place appeared to be a hotel where local vacationers might spend an extended stay during the summer months. We apparently got there after their peak season and it appeared there were preparing for the winter with some obvious outdoor items moved inside. The room was spacious enough and clean with a great view of the coastline and service was excellent. The included breakfast was good. The nice touch we found was the pair of binoculars left on their roof patio for viewing up and down the coastline. The heated floor in the bathroom was also a very nice touch. We would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by Katrine from Norway

Not recommended

Posted 2 Jun 2015 on Hotels
The rooms & bathrooms were not very clean, in the closet there were old soda cans and we found a pill on the floor. The curtains did not cover the whole window and we had the morning sun. We had booked two rooms on the same order, and they tried to charge us 200 DKK more for one of the rooms. The location was okay as we were going on the ferry the next day, however I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Quick Stop

Posted 9 Oct 2014
Good for the location. Adequate if you just landed from the ferry, but nothing to write home about.
4 out of 5
by sfr from london

sunny large rooms

Posted 17 Sep 2014 on Hotels
Large rooms in great condition. Bathrooms need slight refurbishment. friendly staff and good breakfast visited In September out of peak season village empty perfect location for ferry
4 out of 5
by Christine from Rygge

One day in Hotel Hirtshals

Posted 12 Aug 2014 on Hotels
Good beds, good bathroom and decent breakfast .