Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice

Posted 04-Jan-2018
The pillows were super thin and theres no water presser. Our smoke detector was beeping the whole time and our door didn't close fully a crack in the door let all the cold air in.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jan-2018 by harry, Hotel Management
Someone is always available at front-desk to help you out. We wish you could have addressed these issues right away when you check in rather than now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Sleep

Posted 10-Dec-2017
Cheap. Free breakfast. Not a bad place if you just need somewhere to go and sleep for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jan-2018 by harry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Denton, Tx

Cheap/Free Breakfast

Posted 07-Dec-2017
Good cheap room (thanks to expedia) just needed for a night at last minute. Free breakfast a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jan-2018 by thank you, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Denton, tx

Okay stay

Posted 05-Dec-2017
Not the best. But it was cheap and just needed a room for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jan-2018 by harry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are open to suggestions and wish to improve on that.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Front desk clerk was not helpful

Posted 19-Oct-2017
Pros: I liked the fact that I could book a room from long distance and not have mess with faxing and emailing. According to my son, the room was decent.
Cons: More helpful front desk attendants
Location: Denton Texas, There is plenty to do in this little, but dynamic town, from night life to football games at UNT.
While booking a second night at this same hotel, for my son, I accidently put my name in as the quest. When my son went to check in the desk clerk told him the problem, but did not offer any advice or type of help. When I spoke to the desk clerk on my son's cell phone, he still did not offer me any help, he just kept saying it is out of my hands. I finally called the booking agent had this resolved in a matter of minutes. The gentleman at Expedia totally rocked by fixing this situation for me !!
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Oct-2017 by hari, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is valuable to us. We are sorry for the inconvenience you face and we'll strive to improve our performance of the front desk so that it matches your expectations. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Rockwall, TX

Roaches and 30-year Old Bedspreads

Posted 14-Oct-2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The front desk clerk was awesome and did the best he could with what he had to work with.
Cons: New bedspreads, lots of pest control
Location: Don't know since we were so focused on everything we were dealing with.
We originally booked this location for 3 days based on the photos provided on the website. What a load of crap. I'm not sure what hotel those photos were from, but it sure as he** wasn't this location. We checked into our room and saw bedspreads that were totally worn out and something my grandmother might have used. The rest of the room was passable but we weren't happy. I asked to be moved to the ground floor. I was but there were already dozens of other "guests" already living in that room. I could't and wouldn't live in there with roaches and asked to be moved. The front desk clerk was very understanding and worked hard to help us out. The third room was much better, but by this time we had had enough and left after 2 nights and went somewhere else. My recommendation is to either look at the room BEFORE paying or go somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Oct-2017 by hari, Hotel Management
We are sorry for the incovenience you have faced. We'll improve our maintenance so that it meets your expectations. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
1 out of 5
by Americas Best Value Inns and Suites from Denton, TX

Avoid at all costs

Posted 12-Oct-2017 on Hotels
It's not worth it. Your "Value" comes in the form of bed bugs and a horribly rude woman who runs the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Nov-2017
We are open to suggestions. But we cannot accept fake c omplaints. Anyways, Thank you for reviewing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Bronx New York

Stay away

Posted 02-Oct-2017
My experience at this hotel was terrible they have a serious problem with bed bugs and cleanliness I will not recommend this Hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Oct-2017 by hari, Hotel Management
We are sorry for the incovenience you have faced. We'll improve our maintenance so that it meets your expectations. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
5 out of 5
by Shugo

Posted 16-Sep-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Nov-2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had an amazing stay with us.
3 out of 5
by Orlando

Posted 14-Sep-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Nov-2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us.