Ratings based on 560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Winchester CA.

close to the beach and the freeway, room is clean

Posted 21-Sep-2014
Pros: near the freeway
Cons: parking fee too expensive
Location: location is near shopping, beach and walking trail along the bay
room doesn't have a smell(smoke), bed was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from santa barbara

disappointing for marriott

Posted 02-Sep-2014
Pros: Room size and comfortable couch
Cons: All as about
Location: Location was close to the bay
lights in bathroom went on and off, like the Bates Motel. pillows way too fat for both me and my husband. Bad food esp. for Marriott. Small pool area. View of parking lot w/o discount or knowing ahead. Water pressure in shower very old and slow. Nothing very pleasing. Room was spacious but air conditioner goes onto face and head at night and is loud and annoying. Just need major overhaul. Felt like I was at a Holiday Inn (and not a good one). I am use to much better at a Marriot. T.V. worked part time
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Sep-2014 by John, Hotel Management
Lori, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. I have communicated your concerns to the team and we are addressing them. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from IE

Overpriced

Posted 02-Sep-2014
Nice enough but for what we paid... Total disappointment
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Sep-2014 by John, Hotel Management
I wanted to let you know that I’m sorry that your hotel stay dint live up to your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Sincerely, Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from R.C, CA

The bed was comfortable

Posted 19-Aug-2014
I didn't like the fact that I was forced to pay $23/day for parking on top of the nightly rate and resort fee. Even though the parking lot gates were open the entire time. They have "pet" squirrels that stay in the parking lot and run right up to you hoping to get fed. Who knows what kind of disease they could be carrying. I asked for a rollaway bed during check in and was told they didn't offer those. (On my booking reservation it stated they would be available.) The hotel was located in a business center that is about 10miles from the beach. The only nice thing was the bed and pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Aug-2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Expedia. I sorry you were not happy with the parking charges although this is noted on our website. You also were frustrated that you requested a rollaway bed on your reservation. you are right we don't have these types of beds available at our hotel but we do have in every room a pullout sofa bed. I hope the next time you are in the Newport area you give us another chance to win your business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from K

A good 3 star hotel near the beach

Posted 15-Aug-2014
It was good but not great. Just not what I thought it would be.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Aug-2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area. Sincerely John
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Valley area

Misleading pictures

Posted 08-Aug-2014
Hotel pics look like it's near the beach but it's not. It's like 15mins away from any good restaurants. Staff was nice, pillows were uncomfortable, rooms clean, parking was $25 a day! Breakfast included it was eh... All in all it was OK
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Aug-2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Newport Beach Marriott Bayview. You indicated in your response that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Indianapolis

Easy access to multiple destinations

Posted 06-Aug-2014
Pros: access to the trails to run or walk, easy to get to
Cons: The comforter was like sleeping in a furnace,
Location: Beaches, fashion island, easy access to airport (5 min)
Very nice hotel, pleasant staff, easy to get to, great room layout
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from PD, Ca.

Always a great trip to the Bayview!!

Posted 03-Aug-2014
Location, staff, cleanliness, comfort & convenience all A . Staff goes to the extreme to make sure of your overall satisfaction!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Hebron CT

The staff and property was tremendous.

Posted 24-Jul-2014
Pros: Rooms, staff, rate.
Cons: Nothing
Location: You have to drive everywhere but it's only about 15 minutes to the Newport beaches and Balboa Island. Laguna and Huntington are only about 20 - 25.
From the moment I checked in to the time I checked out this was a quality property. The staff was candid with their recommendations on beaches and restaurants. The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. The parking was onsite and easily accessible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from California

BayView what a joke

Posted 21-Jul-2014
The pictures of the bay are very misleading. It's more like a lake with lots of algae growth. We were charged $23 a night for parking. This price was not posted. Then we where also charged another $21 a night. So our bill was $88 more than we where quoted. Two weeks ago we where a another hotel. When we checked out our bill was exactly what we had been quoted.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jul-2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Sherry, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment and sharing your experience with the Newport Beach Marriott Bayview. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.