Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Hotek close by Ness Walk

Posted 23-May-2017
The Hotel was central to shopping and dining. No air conditioning. Parking was unavailable on location. 5 pounds per day to park in public parking down two blocks down. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel was located on the Ness river. The front desk staff was nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Aberdeen

Perfect location and comfortable stay

Posted 13-May-2017
Pros: Large Executive room with river/castle views. Location. Staff.
Cons: Wifi - particularly in the bar.
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I was extremely lucky with my room which was an upgrade due to my Elite membership with Expedia. It was a river facing Executive room - extremely spacious with a roll top bath. Reception and breakfast waiting staff were particularly welcoming and helpful. Breakfast quality was very good, with extensive choice. Wifi coverage was a bit patchy as you might expect in an old building - best service seemed to be the restaurant and it was fine in my room. Would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from London

Good location but a bit tired inside

Posted 11-May-2017
The hotel is conveniently located on the banks of the River Ness, less than 10 minutes walk from the station. Reception looked recently decorated but the corridors were shabby and in need of new carpeting and wallpaper. The room was ok, although double glazing may have kept some of the noise from outside down. Breakfast was ok. Altogether pretty average, especially for a 4* hotel and at £89 for a single room represented poor value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Edinburgh

Expensive for what it is. No car Parking.

Posted 01-May-2017
Pros: The view of River Ness and Inverness Castle, Central Location
Cons: Bistro Service
Location: Walks along River Ness.
Like many hotels in Inverness and the Highlands (Aveimore) they are expensive by comparison to other parts of Scotland including cities like Edinburgh and Aberdeen. The rooms were comfortable and as booked. The service provided felt laissez-faire and did not really reflect the prices charged. Columba is a lovely old hotel but lounges lacked the atmosphere that could have been provided by open fires for e.g.. Lovely view over the river Ness. We dined in the Bistro (McNabs). The food was lovely but the service was non existent. It was in fairness a Monday night but we had to help ourselves to the menus. We were not approached to place an order (group of six) and eventually went up to the bar to do so. The table was not cleared until we started clearing our own plates and we were not offered the desert menu or coffee. at 10.05.p.m. we were advised that it was last orders for drinks despite being residents and indeed just shortly after that two residents who had just arrived were refused a drink and advised to wait for the night porter at 11.p.m.. The Columba is not alone in this regard, I have frequented many hotels on the Highlands and conclude that many as my old mother would sat "Have a guid opinion o' themselves" and seem to take customers for granted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Las Vegas, NV

A bit of history

Posted 29-Apr-2017
Older hotel sitting right on the river, close to center of town and good restaurants. Easy walk to train station.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Shabby and outdated with a view

Posted 28-Apr-2017
A disappointing place - dreadfully outdated and poorly maintained. Way too much money for this poor quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Ross-shire

Convenient to town centre

Posted 10-Apr-2017
Pros: Convenience, good staff and good breakfast
Cons: Decor needs updated
Location: Town centre, theatre, supermarket
The Columba hotel is ideally situated near the town centre, theatre,etc. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful, check in was very quick. Room was on top floor overlooking the river. Decor was dated but everything was clean and room facilities were good. Bed was a bit hard but some might prefer that. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, and tasty. All staff were very pleasant and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Western Isles

Nice hotel sitting on the river bank

Posted 08-Apr-2017
Nice hotel sitting on the river bank across from the town center. Friendly staff. The hotel is kept clean and tidy but the room I stayed in was a little tired and could have done with a freshening up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 09-Mar-2017
Very disappointed this time with our stay here! We have stayed here several times before in a lovely room with having paid less than the £101 we paid this time. The room was pokey, the bathroom was not cleaned properly and the shower hardly worked! We have previously had great stays here and recommend hotel, however after that stay we wouldn't recommend again.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Mar-2017 by T Stranraer-Mull, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we are very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. We hope you were able to speak to one of the Management or Reception Team about your disappointment with your accommodation as they could have looked to see if they had another available room for you to change to. Your comments concerning the cleanliness of the bathroom is surprising and our Housekeeper will address this with her team. We are very sorry for such a disappointing stay. If you wish to discuss your comments further please contact AP our General Manager or Gary Howe our Assistant Front of House Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Neath south Wales .

Nice hotel near centre good service and polite

Posted 04-Mar-2017
Good service at hotel excellent location for shopping.