Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from fernleigh nsw

Nice and central to Sale

Posted 10-Dec-2016
Great place to stay. Clean room and friendly staff
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Melbourne

Booking issues, but a good location on the highway

Posted 30-Sep-2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The room was clean and the cleaner was very lovely.
Cons: Management change, customer service training, or at least spending 5 minutes a day to check if there are any new bookings.
Location: It is 2km for the CBD of Sale where there's a few supermarkets, restaurants and shops.
Upon arrival, my confirmed booking five days earlier was never received because the hotel staff had not check reservations and then needed to try to find a suitable room for me to stay. This meant I needed to pay onsite, and the following day money was removed from our credit card because the staff finally logged into their booking system so we had paid twice. Thankfully LastMinute refunded our moneys and I will not be staying at Ibis Styles again for this reason of management oversight and lack of diligence in checking their reservation systems more frequently than every 5 days+ (not at all suitable if it really was a LastMinute booking!
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Old but good

Posted 19-Sep-2016 on Lastminute
Looks old from outside but room was great and reception staff excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Oct-2016 by Claire, Hotel Management
Thankyou for taking the time to place feedback, it is much appreciated.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Adelaide

Like staying in a 1970's hotel.

Posted 13-Sep-2016 on Wotif
Cons: Total re-modernisation and new hot water and heating system.
Room was generally clean, but there is no 'sparkle' because everything is so old and tired. I haven't seen a motel like this for ages. Air conditioner is too noisy to run (but works well if you can stand the noise). Sliding door doesn't seal correctly - if you don't push it in right there is a visible gap to let the wind in. Double bed was comfortable. However the best thing was the notice in the shower. It warns that you have 7 minutes worth of hot water and after that you have to wait 15 minutes for more. So clearly they anticipate quick-showing single person bookings. Almost popped that up onto Facebook. Needs work - a lot of work.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Oct-2016 by Claire, Hotel Management
We hear your comments, and as you possibly saw when you were here - we are in the process of refurbishing.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 27-Aug-2016 on Hotels
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

hot water

Posted 14-Aug-2016 on Wotif
Pros: not much
Cons: hot water
Location: rsl was nice for dinner
We stayed 2 nights all had to have cold showers the 2nd morning no hot water
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Oct-2016 by Claire, Hotel Management
i am sorry if you did not enjoy your stay with us. If yuo had highlighted the problem when you were here, we would have addressed it at the time. Thankyou for your feedback.
3out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Cheapest motel on short notice

Posted 06-Aug-2016 on Wotif
Pros: Very comfortable bed and easy access for smokers outside. Close to CBD.
Cons: Coffee. Shower. Toaster would be improvement but understand that guests causes fire false alarms. Smoke detector out of order.
Location: Small town with little open during week.
It was not a terrible experience but certainly it would only need minor improvements. Coffee was disgusting. Shower dangerous because taps situated at rear of wall causing burns when operating. Seven minute shower then 15 minute wait to reheat annoying and time consuming. Restaurant closed 45 minutes early while staff ate. Had to call for pizza.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Claire Wilkinson, Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your experience here, perhaps you could have shared your concerns with us before you left. On a very cold, slow winters night as there were no diners, an no reservations by 7:45 we assumed that no-one would be coming in and started our own meal. You advised us that the restaurant next door had closed even earlier. If we had known you would bewanting a meal earlier, we could have made arrangements. The restaurants in town would have been close to closing also. Unfortunately, that is the experience in rural towns. As regards the taps and showers - these have been that way since the building was built. If the water is too hot we need to be advised so that we can have the thermostat adjusted. The same with smoke alarms - we check them on a regular basis, but if something is not working in your room then we encourage you to let us know so that we can take the necessary measures to have it remedied. Thankyou for your feedback, and we will be looking into your concerns.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

A clean and comfortable room close to shops.

Posted 31-Jul-2016 on Wotif
Pros: Free Wi fi and Foxtel channels on TV were utilized at night. The hotel has a restaurant which is great if you want to eat a meal close by.
The hotel staff greeted me with a smile and allowed me check in to my room earlier than planned as it had been already cleaned. The room was basic but cosy and warm and had tea and coffee facilities which were enjoyed. The proximity to the town centre was handy.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Claire Wilkinson, Manager, Hotel Management
Thankyou for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 30-Jul-2016 on Wotif
For a short stay, excellent location, great service and we both had a quiet sleep on a cold night.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Aug-2016 by Claire, Manager, Hotel Management
Thankyou for your feedback, its good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Metro Melbourne

Nice hotel, quiet yet close to town.

Posted 15-May-2016 on Wotif
Pros: Clean, comfortable room with a really nice bed. Continental breakfast included was served in a nicely laid out dining room.
Cons: The kettle in the room needed replacing as it was leaking water and steam escaped from near the handle thereby requiring care in handling it.
Location: Sale has a great shopping centre close by, along with the lakes system providing various walking and water activities.
This was a great place to stay for an unplanned stop over in Sale. The receptionist was warm and inviting, the room clean, quiet and warm and the beds were so comfortable after a long drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Slaire wilkinson, Manager, Hotel Management
Thankyou for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us. It is import to us that we received feedback so that we can remedy any problems you may have experienced. The kettle has been replaced, thankyou for bring it to our attention. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.