Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Westport, CT

Posh hotel, inconvenient to town, limited food/bev

Posted 26-Sep-2016
Pros: Staff Gardens Comfortable bed Well-appointed room
Cons: Offer free transportation to downtown Bath Create a substitute bar/lounge during renovations
Location: Downtown Bath was lovely --- visited the Roman Baths (nice but not a WOW experience) and the Abbey (interesting, especially because of its age!)
We choose this upscale hotel for an overnight stay in the lovely town of Bath and had mixed feelings afterwards. The good: the hotel staff was very attentive, and the room was well-appointed. Bed was comfortable. Gardens were lovely and picturesque, and the breakfast was superb. The bad: we were disappointed that the lounge and casual dining area was closed (and we were never told about this or offered any compensation!)... Because it is a 5-minute taxi ride to the center of town where the shoppes close by 6pm, we felt isolated after dark. However, the hotel staff was very nice and the room was well-appointed. Suggestion: the hotel should offer complimentary shuttles to the center of town a few times a day and in the evening. We should have received a discount because the bar/casual restaurant was closed during our stay ---- without prior notice.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from winchester

Lovely hotel

Posted 15-Sep-2016
Lovely hotel with a friendly atmosphere .. concierge called Tim was so helpful and charming.. nothing was too much trouble Spa was so relaxing and a special thank you to Charlotte for both mine and my daughters pedicures .. Had a lovely girlie weekend in bath and would definitely recommend this hotel for a special trip
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sydney

Posted 06-Sep-2016
Cons: The elevators seemed a little old but we're working just fine.
The hotel and grounds are very beautiful and the service was excellent. We were only here for one night so didn't get to use all of the facilities but the room was very spacious and had a beautiful view of the grounds.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from London

Good quality spar hotel 20 minutes from centre

Posted 05-Sep-2016
Pros: Nice, relaxed feel, friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: I would have liked to have dined in the restaurant but the £55 flat rate was a bit intimidating. We did not has a Nespresso coffee machine others did
Location: It was a nice walk through the park down into town, Bath is nice to wander round with some good restaurants
This hotel is classy but still seemed relaxed. I enjoyed the gym and a swim each morning so I felt I'd earned the ample breakfast. We did not have dinner as it seemed a bit pricey for six of us and the previous reviews were mixed so we ate in Bath.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Spa disappointing and dirty

Posted 31-Aug-2016
The spa was a huge disappointment and was quite dirty. I am surprised given the busy weekend there wasn't more cleaning staff onsite as the bins were overflowing and there was litter everywhere in the outdoor pool area. The breakfast was ok and not worth the price. We had to wait 15 minutes to get seated for a table and service was poor, having waited over 20 minutes for our food. Being located in the Imperial Suites which was the outer part of the house, found wasn't ideal as no one picked up the phone at reception when trying several times.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from denver

Just stayed one night

Posted 31-Aug-2016
The hotel was pretty. My room was a handicap room so it had old handrails etc. Not sure if all of them look like that or why I got a handicap room. The breakfast was good. I didn't realize there was a large dinning area and a sat myself in a secondary area that had food set out thinking they were low on staff. Someone eventually found me and took my order. The location is close to town.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Reading, England

Lovely Hotel, Good Staff just a couple of niggles

Posted 30-Aug-2016
Pros: Spa, Room, Food
Cons: Customer service
Location: Roman Baths, Fashion Museum, Horse and Carriage Rides, Bath Town Centre, Sydney Gardens, Bath Abbey, Victoria Art Gallery
Arrived (13:40) before guaranteed check-in (15:30), so unfortunately we couldn't get into the room at the time but still checked in to get the paperwork out of the way. The concierge took our bags for us, which allowed us to head off into town for a few hours. Came back (16:30) and completed check-in however went to the room to find it being cleaned, back to reception and they tried to move us to an adjacent room however it was booked for the second night, to the receptionist "kindly" upgraded the room (I don't think they had any of the same level free). First night the ceiling light flickered, and in the evening of the second day it cut out. Reported to reception to have it fixed while we were at dinner and came back to find it working. However, within an hour it had again cut out. Such a shame they obviously didn't investigate the problem fully. Didn't report it again as we were leaving the next morning and there were plenty of other lights to get ready for bed by. Checked out the next morning and found other patrons had been able to charge their bar bills to my room. The receptionist removed the unjust charges without quarrel, however I did over hear the gentleman next to me making the same complaint. All in a lovely building with great surrounding, good facilities just check the final bill.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Singapore

Comfortable stay, but furniture needs changing

Posted 30-Aug-2016
It was a nice stay however the facilities in the room need to be changed as they looked quite tired. Also there was something wrong with the phones as they kept ringing in the middle of the night every five minutes, with no one on the other side of the line. We had to unplug it to have a good night's rest. We went to the pool and sauna/steam bath facilities. The steam bath area was nice with different sections for sauna, aromatic steam bath etc., but needs to be cleaned more regularly. For example I saw the same plaster in the shower area two days consecutive. Overall the grounds were lovely but maybe more attention needs to be paid to the softer aspects.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 26-Aug-2016
Relaxing! The grounds were lovely and the picturesque.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Hotel set in beautiful grounds but disappointing

Posted 19-Aug-2016
Pros: Set in beautiful grounds and staff very friendly
Cons: King size beds or at least queen size - 5 star hotel should be 5 star service.
Location: Location fantastic for walking into Bath
Upon checking in and being shown to our room, our room wasn't the best - the tv cabinet had dirty coffee staines and no Green Tea available - our bath towels had holes everywhere and we also had no toiletries - our 'double' bed wasn't comfortable and made lots of screeching noises, not sure who uses double beds still but never mind - in the morning we had a fire alarm, which obviously couldn't be helped - but upon evacuation we stopped a member of staff to ask about meeting points, to our dismay he didn't know what the alarm was, also where to point us in the right direction, which was obviously very disappointing .
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Sep-2016 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, I am pleased that you had thought our grounds beautiful and our team very friendly, however, I was sorry and concerned that your room and its amenities had not met your expectations, please accept my apologies for this disappointment I will discuss the points you have raised with our Housekeeping Manager. I do hope that you will return to the Hotel so that we can ensure that all aspects of your stay meet your expectations and our usual high standards. Kind regards, Mohamed