Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Best place in Bath

Posted 14-Jul-2016
Warm welcome, beautiful room, relaxing spa, friendly staff, nice breakfast, lovely afternoon tea, we enjoyed all!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sydney Australia

MacDonald bath spa

Posted 10-Jul-2016
Great accomodation. Only problem was late time of check in. 3.30pm. We couldn't get to our room any earlier. We got to bath after travelling for 12 hours at 1.30 and couldn't get to our room. Other than that little hiccup, all was good.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Excellent in every way

Posted 24-Jun-2016
Great weekend, great staff, great facilities! Would definitely visit again.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from London, UK

A gracious, very quiet hotel in sweeping grounds

Posted 21-Jun-2016
Pros: Lovely, kind and friendly staff, beautiful room, utter comfort, stunning grounds with little hideaways
Cons: Expedia could get their act together so more people are able to book the hotel using their hard-earned Nectar points!
Location: You don't need me to tell you about Bath - fabulous city in the Mendips, great Roman and literary history
We had a great stay. Staff were considerate and kind, the room was stunning, and because I'd written ahead to say we'd like a quiet room as it was our second anniversary, we only had one night and we'd been working silly hours and wanted a rest, we had a sweet card, some complimentary chocolates and a bottle of Merlot. Totally unexpected and very much appreciated. We looked shattered when we arrived, but were treated royally. The only problem was the dreadful experience of dealing with Expedia to book with our Nectar points in the first place. Expedia made that simple operation (or always simple in previous years) really unspeakable and almost reduced me to tears, saying no hotel at all, anywhere, could be booked through them using Nectar points. This madness happened not once but three times over longer and more inane calls with different people! Of course, once I'd taken that to Facebook it was resolved with apologies, because booking places is the whole point of Expedia working with Nectar. Just as a warning, this has happened again with another trip this year. It's a pity something so elementary and supposed to be about happiness is made wretched by unskilled or uninterested Expedia staff. But the hotel more than made up for it all - it must have been pretty darned good to make us forget about that, and it really was!
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jun-2016 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Glyn , Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, I am pleased that you had both enjoyed your anniversary stay at the Hotel, that you had felt our team had treated you like royalty, thought your room had been stunning and I am really happy that your experience at the Hotel had met all your expectations. I do hope that you will visit again and look forward to welcoming you both back again soon. Kind regards, Mohamed
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sussex

Beautiful hotel but...

Posted 18-Jun-2016
The hotel itself is beautiful and in a lovely setting just a short walk to the city centre making it more peaceful than a city centre hotel. The reception and housekeeping staff are helpful and very pleasant. The "but" is big and relates to the food and restaurant service...from our experience I'd say don't bother - unless the delightful Bar Manager is on duty...he turned round a completely lacklustre meal on the terrace into a really lovely experience. I will be writing to the hotel about our stay as it was so disappointing - most definitely not meeting 5 Star or 2 Rosette standard.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Oxford

Girls getaway

Posted 11-Jun-2016
Pros: Our room exceeded expectation. Gardens and pool all add to the elegant atmosphere. Great welcome and service at Breakfast. Car park on site.
Cons: Front desk staff seemed bored and let the rest of the team down
Location: A beautiful walk through the gardens opposit lead you down into shopping area within minutes. Lots. Of museums and places to visit.
Second vist for us the hotel sits on a quiet hillside only 5 minutes walk from beautiful Bath. Elegance and comfort are its watchword,it's become a firm favorite . If you are lucky enough to get good wea ther the sun terrace and it's inside outside pool are a must the water is so warm your troubles all melt away. The spa staff are just great, and the front of house greeting makes the start of your stay feel very special.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jun-2016 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Fiona, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel I am pleased that your room had exceeded your expectations, that our team had looked after you well and that you had enjoyed all the Spa facilities. However I will discuss your comments concerning the Reception teams disinterest with the Front of House Manager and I’m sure they will wish to join me in offering their apologies for this shortfall. I will look forward to welcoming you back once again soon, Kind regards, Mohamed
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Warwickshire

Lovely hotel, wonderful views!!

Posted 08-Jun-2016
Easy to find, plenty of parking. Staff were ALL very pleasant & professional. Lovely gardens & superb breakfast. Definitely stay again...!!!
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from S

Lovely hotel, great staff.

Posted 30-May-2016
Great hotel slightly set away from the hustle and bustle of Bath but still close enough.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Derbyshire

Good hotel, nice grounds, close to town.

Posted 28-May-2016
Pros: Location, facilities and excellent staff.
Cons: Make parking inclusive, expand cold meat and cheese selection at breakfast and please learn how to cook black pudding.
Location: It's Bath, what more needs to be said
Hotel is comfortable, with good facilities, and the staff were excellent. Spa facilities were clean and well kept, with a good range of rooms, steam/sauna/ice/salt. Bed was excellent, and a (small) number of complimentary coffees. Would given 5 stars, other than for the very disappointing breakfast, and the miserly charge to park.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 27-May-2016
Had a very comfortable one night stay. Nice peaceful location set in its own well maintained grounds just a 15 minute walk to all the central attractions. All of the staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was small but perfectly equipped with its own Nespresso machine, quality toiletries and comfy linens (we even ordered 4 new pillows when we got home as they were the best we had ever slept on). Lovely view from our room out over the grounds towards the city. The pool and spa facilities are great, my only criticism would be that the pool area (in and out) are starting to look a little jaded and in need of some maintenance. Plenty of choice at breakfast with table service for hot food. In all, a lovely hotel and very good value for money, we will return.