Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Hotel set in beautiful grounds but disappointing

Posted 19-Aug-2016
Pros: Set in beautiful grounds and staff very friendly
Cons: King size beds or at least queen size - 5 star hotel should be 5 star service.
Location: Location fantastic for walking into Bath
Upon checking in and being shown to our room, our room wasn't the best - the tv cabinet had dirty coffee staines and no Green Tea available - our bath towels had holes everywhere and we also had no toiletries - our 'double' bed wasn't comfortable and made lots of screeching noises, not sure who uses double beds still but never mind - in the morning we had a fire alarm, which obviously couldn't be helped - but upon evacuation we stopped a member of staff to ask about meeting points, to our dismay he didn't know what the alarm was, also where to point us in the right direction, which was obviously very disappointing .
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Canada

Majestic Surprise

Posted 17-Aug-2016
Pros: The staff were incredible professional and so helpful. Our room was fabulous and we appreciated the room change to one with a balcony.Very clean.
We arrived from Canada not expecting to arrive to such a beautiful hotel. The grounds are unbelievable and the hotel stands behind its five star rating with justification. A true pleasure!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from D

Lovely Stay

Posted 07-Aug-2016
The Spa facilities are amazing! The staff are very helpful with excellent service.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Somerset, UK

Generally nice but not a 5 star experience.

Posted 31-Jul-2016
Got to our room and found a pull out bed that wasn't supposed to be there. No problem. Reception called almost immediately to confirm the mistake and promised to remove it. Then I noticed one of the two water bottles on the table had been opened and half consumed. Staff came and removed the bed while we were out and at the same time unmade our bed (see photos). They didn't change the water bottle. My wife went to reception to ask why and was told that this is a "turndown service to make the room more welcoming" and that "of course it's a matter of personal preference". No effort was made to apologise and the receptionist didn't even respond to the half consumed water issue. It's an old building, so expect terrible plumbing and the shower taking fully 5 minutes to get warm. That said, there isn't really an excuse for the sticking door to the bathroom, which took considerable strength to pull open once shut and my wife wasn't able to shut the door at all. I was slightly perturbed when drying off after a shower to notice a browny/red stain on the towel. It had clearly been washed so I wasn't too concerned, but again it's just the attention to detail missing. Breakfast is a reasonable continental selection plus a cooked breakfast. Sausage was fine. Bacon was cured and very tough, not to my taste. Poached egg was overdone in my case. Coffee was OK. Waitress removed my plate from under me whilst I was still eating a piece of toast: weird! Not worth the huge prices.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Best place in Bath

Posted 14-Jul-2016
Warm welcome, beautiful room, relaxing spa, friendly staff, nice breakfast, lovely afternoon tea, we enjoyed all!
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jul-2016 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Marshmallow3, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a lovely review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, It was lovely to read that you feel the Hotel is the best place in Bath, that we have a relaxing Spa ,friendly staff and a lovely afternoon tea I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Mohamed
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sydney Australia

MacDonald bath spa

Posted 10-Jul-2016
Great accomodation. Only problem was late time of check in. 3.30pm. We couldn't get to our room any earlier. We got to bath after travelling for 12 hours at 1.30 and couldn't get to our room. Other than that little hiccup, all was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Jo , Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, It was lovely to read that you had enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and had thought your overall experience good, our check in times are 3.30pm, as we need to ensure that our rooms are fully serviced by our Housekeeping team prior to new guests arrival. Kind regards, Mohamed
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Excellent in every way

Posted 24-Jun-2016
Great weekend, great staff, great facilities! Would definitely visit again.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from London, UK

A gracious, very quiet hotel in sweeping grounds

Posted 21-Jun-2016
Pros: Lovely, kind and friendly staff, beautiful room, utter comfort, stunning grounds with little hideaways
Cons: Expedia could get their act together so more people are able to book the hotel using their hard-earned Nectar points!
Location: You don't need me to tell you about Bath - fabulous city in the Mendips, great Roman and literary history
We had a great stay. Staff were considerate and kind, the room was stunning, and because I'd written ahead to say we'd like a quiet room as it was our second anniversary, we only had one night and we'd been working silly hours and wanted a rest, we had a sweet card, some complimentary chocolates and a bottle of Merlot. Totally unexpected and very much appreciated. We looked shattered when we arrived, but were treated royally. The only problem was the dreadful experience of dealing with Expedia to book with our Nectar points in the first place. Expedia made that simple operation (or always simple in previous years) really unspeakable and almost reduced me to tears, saying no hotel at all, anywhere, could be booked through them using Nectar points. This madness happened not once but three times over longer and more inane calls with different people! Of course, once I'd taken that to Facebook it was resolved with apologies, because booking places is the whole point of Expedia working with Nectar. Just as a warning, this has happened again with another trip this year. It's a pity something so elementary and supposed to be about happiness is made wretched by unskilled or uninterested Expedia staff. But the hotel more than made up for it all - it must have been pretty darned good to make us forget about that, and it really was!
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jun-2016 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Glyn , Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, I am pleased that you had both enjoyed your anniversary stay at the Hotel, that you had felt our team had treated you like royalty, thought your room had been stunning and I am really happy that your experience at the Hotel had met all your expectations. I do hope that you will visit again and look forward to welcoming you both back again soon. Kind regards, Mohamed
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sussex

Beautiful hotel but...

Posted 18-Jun-2016
The hotel itself is beautiful and in a lovely setting just a short walk to the city centre making it more peaceful than a city centre hotel. The reception and housekeeping staff are helpful and very pleasant. The "but" is big and relates to the food and restaurant service...from our experience I'd say don't bother - unless the delightful Bar Manager is on duty...he turned round a completely lacklustre meal on the terrace into a really lovely experience. I will be writing to the hotel about our stay as it was so disappointing - most definitely not meeting 5 Star or 2 Rosette standard.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Oxford

Girls getaway

Posted 11-Jun-2016
Pros: Our room exceeded expectation. Gardens and pool all add to the elegant atmosphere. Great welcome and service at Breakfast. Car park on site.
Cons: Front desk staff seemed bored and let the rest of the team down
Location: A beautiful walk through the gardens opposit lead you down into shopping area within minutes. Lots. Of museums and places to visit.
Second vist for us the hotel sits on a quiet hillside only 5 minutes walk from beautiful Bath. Elegance and comfort are its watchword,it's become a firm favorite . If you are lucky enough to get good wea ther the sun terrace and it's inside outside pool are a must the water is so warm your troubles all melt away. The spa staff are just great, and the front of house greeting makes the start of your stay feel very special.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jun-2016 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Fiona, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel I am pleased that your room had exceeded your expectations, that our team had looked after you well and that you had enjoyed all the Spa facilities. However I will discuss your comments concerning the Reception teams disinterest with the Front of House Manager and I’m sure they will wish to join me in offering their apologies for this shortfall. I will look forward to welcoming you back once again soon, Kind regards, Mohamed