Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from wiltshire

nice hotel walking distance to shops

Posted 31-Jan-2016
Pros: the room lovely, asked for garden view and got it. use of spa and facilities great breakfast,lovely fresh produce.
Cons: to take complaints seriously regarding children in jacuzzi and outdoor spa pool. very young children even although notices posted also mobie use.l
Location: plenty going on in Bath, theatre, restaurants museums and art galleries
just an over night birthday experience. great staff and facilities. cater for veggies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Overrated, Pretentious Hotel in Lovely City

Posted 20-Jan-2016
Pros: Pretty view outside. Lovely garden.
Cons: The hotel is outdated. It needs to be remodeled.
Location: Bath is a lovely city. There are many restaurants, Thermae Spa, historical baths, Bath Abbey, and shopping galore! Beautiful river and sites to see.
We arrived around 7:30pm and there wasn't anyone at the desk. When a receptionist did arrive, it was obvious we had interrupted her dinner as she was still chewing. She checked us in, then went to the back to have a pleasant gentleman take us and our luggage to our room. We had a room on the ground floor that was very ordinary. The bath was spacious, but outdated. The bidet really needs to be replaced, the toilet needed to be pumped a few times to flush. The bath was a little complicated as there was a separate control for the shower and the tub. There was no chair for the desk, but they did bring one once we let them know. The only good lighting in the room was in the bath. The room was very dimly lit, even with all lights turned on. We decided to give the restaurant a try and went to the informal dining room. We were the only ones there. There wasn't a huge selection so we went for the fish and chips. It was very ordinary, though way over priced. Our queen bed was comfortable. The next morning as we were getting ready to leave, the housekeepers were congregated outside of or room. They were laughing, talking and carrying on for quite some time. It was pretty loud so I opened the door to let them know we could hear them carrying on. When the door opened one of the housekeepers giggled, then said "oh sorry, how many minutes before you leave"?! I told her it would be a few and closed the door. Our plans to try the spa ended there. We had seen enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice Hotel

Posted 15-Dec-2015
Nice Hotel but WiFi Internet wasn't working - very frustrating when the $G signal was also very weak.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Jan-2016 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, I was pleased to hear that you thought that our Hotel was nice, however I am really sorry that you didn’t manage to gain access to the Wi-Fi I am sorry that I didn’t have the chance of speaking with you personally so I could have the opportunity of looking into this issue and resolving it to your satisfaction during your stay at the Hotel I do hope that we will be welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards, Mohamed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Good Stay

Posted 15-Dec-2015
Pros: Location, Spa facilities, Staff
Location: Bath town centre was only a 10 minute walk away
We stayed for 2 days at the Bath Spa Hotel. The bathroom shower areas was not as clean as I was expecting and there were also bulbs not working in the lights in our room. Apart from this, the staff were great and we had a pleasing couple of days.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Dec-2015 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Kieran, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. It was nice to hear that you had a good stay and thought that the spa and staff were good, however I am sorry that you felt the bathroom shower cleanliness didn’t meet your expectations. I will certainly discuss this with the House Keeping Manager, who I know will wish to be associated with me in offering their apologies and will also be discussing this with their teams to ensure similar situations do not re occur. Kind regards, Mohamed
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Dec-2015 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Kieran, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. It was nice to hear that you had a good stay and thought that the spa and staff were good, however I am sorry that you felt the bathroom shower cleanliness didn’t meet your expectations. I will certainly discuss this with the House Keeping Manager, who I know will wish to be associated with me in offering their apologies and will also be discussing this with their teams to ensure similar situations do not re occur. Kind regards, Mohamed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from london

Lovely stay but a little over priced.

Posted 05-Dec-2015
Lovely hotel, big rooms and nice dinning experience at the great Hall. But little things spoil the Experience: Watch out for the additional parking charges. Getting a Room that says garden views and then getting the main car drive view. Overall nice stay as its walking distance to Bath town.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Dec-2015 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear JP, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. It was pleasing to hear that overall you had a lovely stay and that you enjoyed dining in the Vellore Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mohamed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Manchester

Great location, lovely hotel

Posted 24-Nov-2015
An ideal location from which to explore the gorgeous Bath centre. 5 star service, 5 star bathroom/wardrobe but a 4 star room which didn't quite have the 5 star wow factor I'd expect. A few niggles were annoying such as late breakfast, no newspaper arriving and the room wasn't as high-class as hoped for. But overall the hotel was very nice, the staff were very attentive and the hotel was a perfect base for a weekend break.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Dec-2015 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. It was nice to hear that you think the Hotel is lovely and that you encountered five star service during your stay and felt that the Hotel was a perfect base for a weekend break. However I am sorry that your room didn’t quite meet your expectations and that your newspaper didn’t arrive. I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon, Best wishes and kind regards, Mohamed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

not as good

Posted 18-Nov-2015
This is the 5th time we have been. Not as good, had to wait to get our room, all the corridor was full of rubbish from the rooms that were being cleaned. In the lounge tables were full off dirty plates, when we went to order coffees th barman said you will have to wait as we are busy. On the flip side.... The restaurant staff were amazing at breakfast also the pool staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Nov-2015 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, however I was really disappointed to hear that on your fifth occasion you thought the Hotel was not as good as it had been on previous occasions and that some of the standards and service were not up to their usual high standards Please accept my apologies for your disappointment as delivering the highest standards of service to all our guests is at the heart of standards and our core values. I will discuss your comments with the Housekeeping and Food and Beverage Manager who I’m sure would like to join me in offering their sincere apologies for your disappointment. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a sixth visit, Kind regards and best wishes, Mohamed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Posted 11-Nov-2015
Pros: Stunning to look at and position
Cons: Car parking !, looking dated in parts. Need more personality and staff interaction
Location: It's Bath need I say more !
Not 5 star service or hotel. Breakfast mass produced , barely warm and tired looking. Rooms ok, ours was exceptionally hot and no ac working. No milk had to ask and that was a lot of effort for staff on floor who just wanted to moan at me that they had 80 check outs that day ! £5 car park fee that's not 5 star treatment of customers , if that desparate add it to room rate and these prices £5 isn't going to make a difference. Much nicer boutique hotels in Bath for same price and more personal 5 star service
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Nov-2015 by Mohamed, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Delivering the highest standards of service to all our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case. It was disappointing to hear that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay with us. I am sorry that you felt you had not encountered any personal five star service and interaction during your stay and felt that breakfast was mass produced and didn’t meet your expectations. I have passed on all your comments including your concerns to the relevant Heads of Department who would like to join me in offering their apologies for these shortcomings. Best wishes and kind regards, Mohamed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from south coast england

4 star...... maybe , 5 star .......... NA !

Posted 07-Nov-2015
Pros: the grounds , the hotel building itself , most of the staff ,
Cons: the plumbing in our particular room , .
Location: hotel was a little out of the town centre ; but not too bad a walk, to good restaurants and pubs, tons of shops, bath is a beautiful place to visit
nice hotel in beautiful grounds ,but too many little things which I don't expect to have to be attended to in an alleged 5 star hotel , no toiletries on arrival ,no robes , no coffee for machine ,main gripe , the bathroom, the cold tap would not turn off completely leaving tap running ,toilet cistern takes almost 10 minutes to refill , complained , engineer , I assume that means plumber attended quickly while we were at breakfast, fixed tap ok ,left note saying cistern filling ok , YES it was filling eventually after 10 minutes ! not acceptable if you need to double flush. or heaven forbid someone else needs to use the toilet straight after you!. Told by very uninterested desk clerk that' ALL OUR CISTERN ARE SLOW FILLING' .I'M NEARLY 60 YEARS OLD I THINK I KNOW HOW A TOILET CISTERN WORKS ,THANKS , To their credit they did get someone to look at problems quickly ,even if not all of them were sorted out to our satisfaction ,all other staff pleasant and friendly . Put us off from recommending or returning . Overpriced modest sized room, we paid extra for a CLUB room, when I asked what the difference was between a' classic' and a' club' room I was told 'nothing , but the' club' had been refurbished more recently ', well yipeedo, its supposed to be 5 star hotel, or does that mean that some of it is , some of it is not ? who knows !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

A fab break

Posted 05-Nov-2015 on Hotels
Desperately needed a break and this was perfect. Looked after but left alone...just the right balance