Ratings based on 2,933 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Orange County, CA

Enjoyed our stat

Posted 15-Dec-2014
Great old hotel. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I'd definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom 東京

買い物やどこに行くにも便利

Posted 07-Dec-2014
とにかく買い物やどこに行くにも便利なホテルです。 目の前にバス停もあり、フィッシャーマンズに行くのも、メイシーズや、レストランもたくさんあってよかったです
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Dec-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Hhotoshi様、 私はあなたが私たちの場所を楽しんだことを知って非常にうれしいです。私たちの場所は、すべてのお店や観光地に非常に便利です!あなたはそれを利用したようですね。 私たちは、あなたがすぐに私たちを訪問しますことを願っています。 敬具 ジム·グロス、ゼネラルマネージャー
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 06-Dec-2014
Good location...downtown area within walking distance from shops and restaurants. Bathrooms need updating and towel rods or hooks. An overall good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Dec-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It's no surprise that everyone loves our location as it is in a middle of Union Square for your shopping and dining experience. As this is a 1928 historic building, we try to keep up with our maintenance, but we always welcome our guests comments so that we can make a necessary repairs and improvement. I'm glad that it was an overall good experience for staying at the Drake. Thanks! Jim Gross, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom San Francisco

Nickled and dimed

Posted 06-Dec-2014
Lovely lobby, great location. Room tiny, with no amenities. Couldn't even pump out enough shampoo or body wash (even after 10 pumps) to properly shower. No in-room coffee, microwave or mini fridge, but plenty of overpriced purchase options. It was a little insulting. Staff pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Dec-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Dear Mitra, I am very disappointed that you felt nickeld and dimed. Our mini-bar items are priced very compatible to other hotels in the same area and we offer a complimentary coffee/tea service in the lobby area as well as evening wine hour. Our shampoo and body wash pumps are supposed to be filled by our housekeeper and it sounds like they needed a refill...and I am sorry for that. We do have a limited number of mini fridge in our housekeeping that can be brought up on request. I appreciate your review. Happy Holidays. Jim Gross, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom boston

Center of Downtown San Fran

Posted 04-Dec-2014
Pros: So close to the tree lighting we could hear the gospel choir.
Cons: The mix up with the rooms was corrected. But it should be noted that this hotel has single bed rooms.
Location: Trolley rides, close to every shop you can imagine, The top floor of the hotel has some of the best views of the city.
This is an older hotel with a lot of charm. We had a major room and credit card mix up. But the staff corrected the issue and upgraded our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Dec-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Dear felicia, Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry to learn that you experienced some mix up, but glad that our staff was able to assist you and upgraded your room. We try our best to create a wonderful experience for every guests. Happy Holidays. Jim Gross, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom san mateo,ca

Great location

Posted 03-Dec-2014
Pros: The old SF feel. It's very ornate and beautiful. It's location is tops!
Cons: Don't place people in rooms where they will be awakened very early!
Location: Great restaurants, shopping and theatre.
They were changing the carpets on the floor, so the first morning we were awakened @ 7:57 by a worker hammering one floor below. When we complained, the staff assured us that it wouldn't happen the next morning. The next morning again we were awakened by hammering one floor above us! I loved the location, they have a complimentary happy hour and free wifi. The rooms and bathrooms are super small, but we didn't spend that much time in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Dec-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Dear darlene, I'm sorry to hear that you were woken up by our worker. As part of this year's improvement, we are changing out a hallway carpet on each floor along with wallpapers. Our location scores very high on convenience and we hope that you were able to take advantage for your shopping and dining experience. Thank you for your review! Jim Gross, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom England

Hotel is in a perfect location!

Posted 03-Dec-2014
Pros: The lobby
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of shopping!
The hotel is located on Union Square and has a cable car stop right outside!!
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Dec-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, Thanks for staying with us! Yes, our location speaks for itself and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Happy Holidays! Jim Gross, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

great location for pre Holiday shopping trip!

Posted 03-Dec-2014
lovely old hotel--rooms quite small-but as expected in "the city" great valet service-but certainly raised the price of the stay--great restaurant next door--
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Dec-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I hope you got to take advantage of our location and did all of your holiday shopping! It sounds like you enjoyed our restaurant, Scala's Bistro as well. Thank you for staying at the Drake and we hope you'll have a happy holiday! Jim Gross, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Coole location

Posted 27-Nov-2014
Coole location. Etwas veralretes Mobiliar und der Wasserdruck laesst zu wuenschen uebrig. Sonst OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Nov-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, Unsere Lage kann nicht mit Sicherheit zu schlagen! Es ist ein großartiger Ort, um nach einem Tag voller Geschäfte, Restaurants und Sehenswürdigkeiten zu bleiben! Bitte besuchen Sie uns wieder. Danke. Jim Gross, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Mexico

Great location, very old amenities and small space

Posted 26-Nov-2014
Pros: The lobby
Cons: The size of the bathrooms
Location: very well located
This is a hotel with great tradition in the area, the location is great the service staff was very helpful. How ever the rooms are very small; more particular the bathrooms are so small that it is difficult to use the facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Nov-2014 by Jim Gross, Hotel Management
Dear Eugenio, Indeed, the Drake is a historic building with our iconic Beefeater doormen in front... I'm glad that you enjoyed our location as well as our staff. Please know that there are several types of rooms available and we hope that you'll be able to visit us and stay in another type of room. Thanks! Jim Gross, General Manager