Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Das Personal war überragend

Posted 20-Feb-2017
Pros: Der Service und die Lage
Location: Mitten in der Altstadt, viele Besichtigungen und Spaziergängen am Meer möglich
Leider zu kurz, sehr empfehlenswert wieso wird man genötigt, hier Romane zu schreiuben? das nervt total und nimmt einem jede Lust, sich an so etwas zu beteiligen
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from chicago

Wonderful and well located, but a problem to find.

Posted 19-Feb-2017
Cons: Directions to find it
Wonderful staff, courtesy and helpful. Very good breakfast included. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Parking is a problem but the staff takes on that responsibility. They just need to send out specific directions in locating this delightful small hotel.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 06-Dec-2016
Beautiful, intimate hotel in a historic setting just steps from both the Riva and the most picturesque areas of Diocletians palace. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 06-Nov-2016 on Hotels
特に問題はなかったのですが、宿泊代金とは見合わないと思います。 本館と別館両方宿泊経験がありますが、本館と別館は、建物が違うだけではなくサービスがまったく違います。 本館は水(炭酸水)1本、チョコレートなどが部屋にホテルからサービスとしてありましたが、別館にはなく、アメニティの補充もありませんでした。 朝食の内容もまったく違います。本館で食べることもできますが、かなり距離があるので、急ぎの時などは別館で済まさざるを得ず。 その旨、きちんと記載しておくべきだと思います。 今の表記では、建物以外は同等のサービスを受けられると予約客は思い込むと思います。 シティタックス以外に保険代(インシュアランスと説明されました)として1日あたり10クーナ、精算時に請求されました。これも事前に説明するべきです。 部屋はバスタブつきの部屋は殆どないようです。レストランも朝食以外はやっていませんでした。それで観光のハイシーズンではなく1泊1名2万円は現地の物価を考えると、設備と見合わない値段と判断しました。
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Nov-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We regret that you feel you did not get the same service at both properties. You did reserve a room for 3 nights, but also you did 3 separate reservations and only 1 st night was for the room at the hotel and unfortunately we were not able to upgrade you as all rooms at the hotel were booked. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with bathroom, breakfast and rate, but this is described and clearly noted in the room description. Breakfast in villa is continental but all our guests can choose where they would like to have breakfast. Restaurant in hotel is opened for breakfast and dinner. We wish you have informed us that you will not have time to go to the hotel, and we would check if you wanted to have for breakfast something that is not usually part of our continental breakfast and would provide it. We do hope you will have a chance to come back in the future and give us opportunity to exceed your expectations next time. Best regards, Margarita Dvornik
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 29-Oct-2016 on Hotels
A truly great hotel with friendly staff and a fabulous location.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

A Tale of Two Hotels

Posted 24-Oct-2016
Pros: The staff were lovely. The room was tasty decorated and the bed was comfortable enough.
Cons: The number one complaint would have to be their sneaky booking practices. It felt very bait and switch.
Location: You can visit the lovely main hotel a short 10-15 minute walk from the Annex.
This hotel is really two hotels: the lovely sounding one from the description and the Annex. This review is for the Annex. Based on responses to reviews I read too late, management will be likely to point out that the confirmation said that I was confirmed for the Annex, but since I didn't request a room in the Annex it didn't occur to me look for that. I think that is a sneaky trick. The Annex doesn't have a hot breakfast. You can walk over to the real hotel for a hot breakfast. True, it isn't miles away, but it is far enough that you will pass dozens of other hotels and restaurants and you may find that irritating. I know I did. It doesn't help that you finally get to the other hotel and realize "Wow, this dining room is beautiful like in the pictures they used to sell the property" or "I can actually step out of the hotel and into the Peristyle!" I can't really speak to the quality of the actual hotel, but my suggestion is that you check your confirmation closely and consider canceling if it says "Annex".
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from US

Perfect hotel in a perfect setting

Posted 23-Oct-2016
Perfectly situated in the old town of Split, Hotel Vestibul Palace blends history with contemporary comfort. Steps away from the heart of Split yet nestled comfortably in the tranquility and history of a great location. Make sure you stay at main location, as annex lacks some of the charm.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 23-Oct-2016 on Hotels
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Pennsylvania

Posted 18-Oct-2016
Pros: Location and accommodations.
Location: The hotel was in a great location as it was inside the walls of Diocletian's Palace, so it was close to shops, restaurants and the waterfront.
This hotel is in a great location within the walls of the old town of Split. The staff was extremely helpful and the accommodations were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and there was a good variety of options.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Western Mass

Fantastic Location

Posted 08-Oct-2016
Location: Be sure to explore the basement of the Palace, also the special terrace at the Ethnography Museum. Skip the red sub!
The Vestibule has a terrific location in the heart of Diocletian's Palace. A cappella singers perform nearby (and take their breaks at the hotel), and it's minutes from just about everything. Plus the Palace itself is fascinating. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. We arrived by ferry and the hotel sent someone down to help us with our bags. Very nice, especially on a rainy day.