Ratings based on 992 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 23-Aug-2017
All the staff where very friendly . It was clean and tidy. Food was good. Bar prices where very good too
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller from Newcastle

Nice hotel, close to centre of York

Posted 26-Jul-2017
Pros: The friendly and efficient staff. The cleanliness of the rooms. Lovely breakfasts.
Cons: Larger family rooms. Double glazing to minimise noise.
Location: We were at a family wedding and so did not explore the location but the hotel was only a five minute walk from the medieval hall for the reception.
The hotel staff were very efficient. Book in was quick. The evening meal took a while to serve but the breakfasts were excellent. The lift did break down at one point which was a trial for the elderly member of our party and the young child who suffers from chronic asthma and had to climb up three floors. The rooms were very clean but the family room was really a double with the sofa bed opened up which made it very claustriphobic for four people. I would highly recommend having double glazing installed as it was very, very noisy during the night. We only stayed two nights and overall the accommodation was clean, friendly staff and adequate for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Manchester

Nice hotel, located at the heart of the city centr

Posted 22-Jul-2017
Pros: The location and the cleanliness/comfort of the facilities
Cons: Nothing. Maintain the standard
Location: The city centre is just round the corner. So very good location for shopping. The historic sites of the city are also very accessible
Front office staff at check in was very nice and helpful. A very welcoming environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jul-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Dear Aisha, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to York, Kind regards Laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller from Long Island NY

Fabulous Location to Shambles! All walkable!

Posted 13-Jul-2017
Pros: Great staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds! Easy showers to use (we found some showers very complicated in the UK!) & great water pressure.
Cons: We had a family room-a double & pull out couch. Once the couch was pulled out there was very little room between the couch & table- tight!
Location: 10 minute walk to the Shambles, 2 minutes to the city stone wall. We did a ghost tour- great fun and again completely walkable to get to.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the location. Car parking provided- big plus! Small problem with the door but staff quickly fixed. Booking through 3rd party site was not the best- one day came through with breakfast, the other did not. Any 3rd party site we used for booking had some problem- not the locations fault. Loved York- very glad we included on our travels. My children (13 and 9) loved York!
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
We're delighted to receive such positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Hotel 53 and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found your room to be clean. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, so we're happy to hear this has been achieved. we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to York kind regards laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Idaho

Great hotel

Posted 08-Jul-2017
Pros: Hotel 53 is within walking distance to lots of York attractions.
Location: Yorkminister Cathedral, Jorvic Viking Center, St. Marys Abbey, lots of shopping
Parking was a block away, but easy to get in and out of. We stayed at Hotel 53 for 3 nights. Breakfast was good, but a bit expensive for a buffet. Room was clean and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
We're delighted to receive your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Hotel 53 and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel close to local attractions. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, so we're happy to hear this has been achieved. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to York kind regards laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from gloucestershire

great place

Posted 07-Jul-2017
Pros: Modern look, great staff
Cons: Room cleanliness. I notice when mirrors, pictures and fa is boards are not clean and some of this was missed
Location: Centre of historic york - you don't need anything else.
Within walking distance of the centre, quiet and convenient
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Hotel 53 and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found our staff great. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests. I do sincerely apologise if the room was not as clean as expected ,it is not our normal standard as we do pride ourselves on cleanliness. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to York kind regards laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location- walking distance to everything

Posted 05-Jul-2017
Pros: Clean, great location
Cons: Breakfast included for both nights! It was the same price so it made no sense.
Location: Shambles, city stone walls, York Minister - all 2 minutes away!
Chloe checked us in and was wonderful- fantastically helpful. Parking was expensive. Rooms were clean. We had a family room which was small- a double bed and pull out couch. Pull out couch made the room very tight. Few small issues but staff quickly corrected. Biggest problem- booked through Expedia for 2 nights bed and breakfast but only 1 breakfast was included on the hotel reciept and nothing showed on Expedia email.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
We're pleased to see you enjoyed your overall experience of the hotel and to receive such positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Hotel 53 and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found your room to be clean. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, so we're happy to hear this has been achieved. Thank you for your comments regarding confirmations, we will work with expedia to resolve this issue, we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to York kind regards laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 03-Jul-2017
Good location close to shopping, nice room, parking nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
We're delighted to receive your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our Hotel 53 and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found your room to be nice. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, so we're happy to hear this has been achieved. we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to York kind regards laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Well Situated

Posted 05-Jun-2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Air Conditioning In The Rooms And Or Opening Windows.
Perfect Location. Helpful And Friendly Staff. Good Breakfast. Easy Parking Nearby. Incredibly Hot Room As There Isn't Any Air Con, But A Fan Was Given Upon Request.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jun-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your four star review! i'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be perfect. the past few days have been unusually hot but as mentioned we are more than happy to supply fans for you, due to health and safety the window are restricted from fully opening but they do partically open. We hope to welcome you back soon, kind regards Laura
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from m

Central hotel + no air condition = unhappy family

Posted 03-Jun-2017
Whilst the actual hotel, staff and rooms were fine, the over all experience was awful due to there being no air conditioning. The hotel is on a main road in the city centre and the room was stifling hot so we had to have the window open. Cars , people and busses raced along the road all night and a bin lorry attended the hotel at 6am! By cutting corners they are going to loose custom. I will definitely not be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jun-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience of the hotel. We do not have air conditioning in bedrooms, nor do we advertise this, the past few days have been unusually warm. We do offer fans in rooms upon request. There is the usual city traffic due to our location and we expect our neighbours and our guests to be considerate at all times of day. In reference to the bin lorry this is unusual as we do have a contract with them to not collect bins at early hours. Our duty managers are always available to discuss any issues and to resolve them to ensure you leave happy. I would like to ensure you we do not cut corners and care about our guests and their reviews to provide a quality guest experience. I'm sorry we won't be welcoming you for your next trip to York however, should you reconsider we would be delighted to have you stay with us. Kind regards Laura Eyles