Central hotel + no air condition = unhappy family
Whilst the actual hotel, staff and rooms were fine, the over all experience was awful due to there being no air conditioning. The hotel is on a main road in the city centre and the room was stifling hot so we had to have the window open. Cars , people and busses raced along the road all night and a bin lorry attended the hotel at 6am! By cutting corners they are going to loose custom. I will definitely not be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jun-2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience of the hotel. We do not have air conditioning in bedrooms, nor do we advertise this, the past few days have been unusually warm. We do offer fans in rooms upon request. There is the usual city traffic due to our location and we expect our neighbours and our guests to be considerate at all times of day. In reference to the bin lorry this is unusual as we do have a contract with them to not collect bins at early hours. Our duty managers are always available to discuss any issues and to resolve them to ensure you leave happy. I would like to ensure you we do not cut corners and care about our guests and their reviews to provide a quality guest experience. I'm sorry we won't be welcoming you for your next trip to York however, should you reconsider we would be delighted to have you stay with us. Kind regards Laura Eyles