Ratings based on 189 verified reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Absolutely gorgeous setting.

Posted 8 Aug 2019 on Hotels
The hotel is set in the most wonderful setting and I would love to come back and explore more. There is a cookery school and falconery too. I would have rated service and comfort higher but, for me, the bed was a bit worn on one side and not supportive or comfortable. The pillows and bedding were lovely but the zip in the middle of the duvet was annoying. Shower and jacuzzi bath lovely. Small slip up at breakfast when the coffee ordered turned into tea but otherwise very nice and service with a smile. Excellent welcome and check out with staff genuinely concerned for your enjoyment.
Comment from Hotel Management
8 Aug 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind and constructive review of Lainston House. I shall share you review with all of the team here at Lainston House and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 5 Aug 2019 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with great staff. We were given a complimentary upgrade which was greatly appreciated but unfortunately because we were on the top floor - the heat was very uncomfortable. It would be great to install a form of cooling system.
Comment from Hotel Management
8 Aug 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased hear that you enjoyed your upgrade and as well as the hospitality provided by the team. I shall share your kind feedback with the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 3 Aug 2019
Taking the bikes for a ride around the grounds and the surrounding forest was quite lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Aug 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of Lainston House. I am pleased to hear that you made time to enjoy a bike ride around the surrounding areas. We look for to inviting you back for many more adventures. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 24 Jul 2019 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
25 Jul 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 10/10 review of Lainston House. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Entered into 18th Century England!

Posted 8 Jul 2019 on Hotels
Place exceeded my expectations in every way! Very romantic! Bucolic setting! It was like being in a Jane Austen novel. Excellent service! Bathroom was AMAZING!
Comment from Hotel Management
9 Jul 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of Lainston House. I shall share your kind comments with the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manger
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

A great 15 hours stay.

Posted 7 Jul 2019 on Hotels
Just an all round pleasant stay. Service excellent and room very comfortable. Staff responsive, efficient and friendly. Food....room service easy to order and good quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
7 Jul 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your 15 hours here at Lainston House. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and shall share you kind comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Wokingham

Posted 3 Jul 2019
We have visited this property before and always found it a very special traditional country house hotel with exceptional services. The food is amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Jul 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing 5* review of Lainston House. I am pleased to hear how much you appreciated the hospitality provided by the team and very much look forward to welcoming you back again on the not too distant future. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 3 Jul 2019
Beutiful property with lovely gardens. Very clean and friendly staff. The lady at the reception desk on Friday 28th June went above and beyond to help us with our booking. Excellent customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
3 Jul 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of Lainston House. I am pleased to hear just how much you enjoyed your time with us and shall share your kind comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 10 Jun 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
12 Jun 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Sorry to see that you were not happy during your time with us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future and provide you with a stay which will exceed your expectations. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 21 May 2019
Comment from Hotel Management
29 May 2019 by James Webb, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5* review of Lainston House. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, James Webb Operations Manager.