Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Victor, NY

Convenient to Gatwick

Posted 04-Jun-2017
We stayed for one night prior to flying home out of Gatwick. Rooms are comfortable, though small. It's Europe!! Lobby and restaurant are nicely appointed. Loved the restaurant lighting! Tres chic. Our included breakfast was one of the best we've had at a standard hotel. So many tasty options! Shuttle to airport was quick and effortless. A nice way to end our trip to England.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Newmarket ont

Hood location close to airport with shuttle servic

Posted 14-May-2017
Great staff in dining room - good value for hotel and food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from W

Perfect hotel for Gatwick

Posted 07-Apr-2017
Stayed here for one night before our holiday. Easy 10 min drive to the airport. Also close by (under 5 mins by car) are cineworld and various restaurants (Chiquita, Bella itallia, Nando's, Pizza Hut etc) meaning we were able to go and watch a film and have some food the night before instead of being stuck at the hotel. Hotel is excellent, breakfast was lovely, room just what we needed. We used the gym in the morning before we left. The only negative is that the shower is not very powerful, the bathroom is clean and ample but could do with modernising to a newer shower head.
5 out of 5
by Zoe

Lovely hotel

Posted 18-Mar-2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Great bars and the food was delicious... especially the nachos! Room was very comfortable. Quite a journey away from Gatwick, not as close as I would have thought, but the transfer bus was reliable and reasonably priced. The only gripe is that our pre-registered credit card bounced (oops) and they only realised once we had left. I would have thought they'd have checked at check-out, especially with this being an airport hotel and most people staying there are off on their jollies when they leave. This lead to me having several missed calls and voicemails from them once I reached my destination and having to use my phone abroad to call them back. Wouldn't let this put me off staying again though - will just make double sure at check-out everything is a-ok!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 03-Mar-2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Sonia

good stay

Posted 30-Jan-2017 on Hotels
needed quiet time to do some work before my flight
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Feb-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found some quiet time to do some work before your flight. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel sometime in the future. Kind Regards Natasha Selby Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by Richard

Give It a miss

Posted 21-Jan-2017 on Hotels
Very poor. Lots of 'extras'- car park, internet. Wanted a bottle of water from room service- £3.50 tray charge on top the water. Breakfast very expensive, its only an airport hotel! Room freezing cold with poor heating. Only one lift working so wait is crazy, particularly over morning rush. Check out reception- really bad; miserable, no 'how was your stay', no smile, no parting comment. Door chain on roon 520 didnt even reach lock so pointlees. IHG - you've really gone downhill.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jan-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. The Hotel is currently having the lifts refurbished so we really do apologize if this had an impact on your stay with us. I can see that you experienced a number of other concerns and I am unsure if you raised this at the time with a member of the team. Please do come and speak with us we will be happy to assist in resolving any concerns that you may be having. I will certainly pass on your comments to the Reception team about your check out experience all of our guests should be asked on their departure "how their stay was" and again I am very sorry that this was not asked to you. I do hope that despite your concerns you will give us another opportunity to rectify your opinions of us and allow us to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime in the future. Kind Regards Natasha Selby Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by David

Convenient for Crawley and Gatwick

Posted 03-Jan-2017 on Hotels
Functional airport hotel on the edge of Crawley Town Centre. If this hotel wasn't near an airport they wouldn't be charging £10 a night for car parking! Internet was slow unless you paid a for premium service. In other words they take every opportunity to extract your cash like most airport hotels do.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jan-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies that there was a charge for car parking. The Hotel does charge for parking this is in line with all the other Hotels in the Gatwick Area. I am also very sorry that you found the free standard Wi-Fi to be slow. The free standard Wi-Fi is only for checking and receiving emails and also internet browsing, if you require faster Wi-Fi then you would need to upgrade to premium at 5 pounds for 24 hours. I do hope that despite the concerns you raised you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Natasha Selby Guest Relations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Dirty room and no way of cooling it.

Posted 11-Dec-2016 on Hotels
Room was filthy, Carpet was covered in bits and hairs etc. I don't usually look out for these things but when between your feet and you peer down its hard not to notice. Desk areas covered in thick fluff Unacceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Dec-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel. I was disappointed to read that you did not have a very enjoyable stay with us due to the room allocated to you on arrival appeared dirty and that you found the room to be too hot. This is not the standard you would expect to receive from the Crowne Plaza Brand. I am unsure if you advised a member of the Duty Management Team of your concerns at the time as we would have happily assisted in resolving your concerns for you at the time. There is always a manager on duty, please do come and speak with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory stay and it is our hope that despite the concerns you raised you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel sometime in the future. Kind Regards Natasha Selby Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Good hotel but needs a bus from Gatwick

Posted 21-Nov-2016 on Hotels
Used hotel as car hire company was located there. Costs 3 pounds to get to Gatwick. Good hotel and many restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Nov-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you had stayed at the Hotel due to hiring a car from Easirent Car hire that are based at the Hotel. The Hotel is situated approximately 3 miles from Gatwick and you can use the shuttle bus which is also located at the Hotel for all guests to use. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel sometime in the future. Kind Regards Natasha Selby Guest Relations Manager