Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Clean and comfortable hotel with excellent service

Posted 03-Jun-2017
One of the historic hotels of America, close to Chinatown in Washington D.C. Very impressed with staff and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NYC

Convenient downtown hotel with historical charm

Posted 02-Jun-2017
I stayed here for a single night (corner room 4th floor in one of the two original Morrison & Clark buildings), the room had all the modern conveniences without the generic sameness that many new hotels have. A few minor things (an extra minute for hot water to come up in the shower, analog 4:3 cable although flatscreen TV was 16:9 HD) were vastly outweighed by the spaciousness and graciousness of the architecture, and the elegance of the common areas. The hotel expanded into an adjacent building a few years ago (the elegant entrance is located there), and rooms may vary more in such historic buildings than in new construction, but my experience was entirely pleasant and the staff were extremely efficient and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from b

Nice quiet hotel close to sights

Posted 31-May-2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Room was very clean, comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom and very quiet despite being in the center of it all. Beautiful dining room. Limited menu, on the expensive side, but very good food and excellent service. We really felt looked after and felt like the staff knew us and our habits after our 4 day/3 night stay. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller from Southern California

Lovely historic hotel

Posted 29-May-2017
Pros: It's a beautiful hotel, and the bartender at the downstairs bar was wonderful!! the beds were very comfortable. The bellmen were wonderful!!
Cons: Check the light bulbs in the rooms!! We had TWO that were burnt out....
Location: Nothing nearby to see....
Pretty and clean hotel. BUT, of all the rooms available, we were in a room that overlooked the graveyard for old appliances and the garbage dumpster from the hotel/apartment next door. We returned a little late from sightseeing and were told that the kitchen for the restaurant upstairs closes at 10 p.m. At 9:40 we walked upstairs and were refused seating because of the aforementioned kitchen closing. I understand the timing, but we should have been told that they will not seat after 9:30. So we ate at the bar downstairs, which ended up being a delight because of their bartender, Jesus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Wonderful gem

Posted 22-May-2017
Pros: friendly staff, location and history
Cons: Our room clock was set to the incorrect time. We did not realize this until the 3rd day after having used the alarm. Please reset for each new person
Location: within walking distance of AMAZING restaurants - Logan Circle - everything DC - Metro line and bus stops - Starbucks, reasonable food, and metro bikes
This is a great hotel with the best staff. It is within walking distance of so many things, but yet off of the beaten path. Our first night we blindly went north and ended up at Logan Circle and wandered the neighborhoods nearby. Wonderful atmosphere, great food and beer! It takes about 5- 20 minutes to walk to a destination. The red line bus drops off a few blocks away as well as the main hub of the metro. We loved the patio and the bedding was very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Unprofessional

Posted 19-May-2017
Cons: Not sure
When we would like to check-in at 2:30pm, the staff said our rooms are not prepared yet. So we wait. Even after 3pm, the formal check-in time, our rooms are not prepared yet, so we kept asking to get rooms as soon as possible. We are very tired due to the long distance flight and meeting in the morning. I can understand their situation, but what I really upset is the manager's response. She asked "So do you want to refund or what?". This is not acceptable and made me very angry. There was one more misfortune. After checking-out, I realized that I left my belongings in the room and called to the hotel if they could keep it. However, they said they couldn't find any belongings in my room. Of course, it is my fault, but if they were taking good care of guest in honestly, they didn't leave a bad taste in my mouth. By the way, this hotel can not provide valet parking for a bigger car like a SUV, so a customer should park some where else by oneself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Philadelphia

Even nicer than the pictures!

Posted 11-May-2017
Pros: Decor, well dressed uniformed staff, helpful staff. Relaxing courtyard. My room was gorgeous and the bed was delightful. The bathroom was beautiful
Cons: Room was on the smallish side. It was perfect for me. Had I been traveling with another guest, it may have gotten a littl close.
Location: I was attending a conference so I did not have a lot of time to see sights, but had lots of dining options within walking distance.
All hotels appear to be lovely in their website picutres. In this case the hotel was even nicer than I'd anticipated. Beautifully appointed, great fetaures, nice touches. Hotel staff were impeccable. I was very comfortable and well taken care of.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Decent

Posted 03-May-2017
I stayed at this hotel about a year ago and again this past week. My previous stay was better than this one. Be sure you request to stay in the "new" side of the building. I did not realize there was a difference until I was put in the old part of the building on this recent trip. There is a significant difference in the quality and feel of the room. For example - my room did not have a closet or a place to hang my clothes. It was just odd and very very tired. The new section is great. The staff is mixed. Front desk is either wonderful or neutral. Valet is mixed as well. I would recommend against room service. My meal was not edible. I am fairly certain they pulled chicken that had been previously cooked and forgot to re-heat it. The place is a neat and could be amazing. Hopefully they will improve on the consistency front. Given a choice - I would likely choose a Kimpton instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Toronto

Nice hotel close to tourist attractions

Posted 30-Apr-2017
We stayed 3nights at the hotel and the staff and the room were even better than expected. A small quid pro quo on the final bill was solved immediately. The hotel is close to subway transportation which is the perfect way to go around Washington if you want to visit monuments and museums. Restaurants and dining placrs are close too and the area seemed safe to walk around at night too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 25-Apr-2017
The room was clean, the staff was very friendly. We had a good experience.