Ratings based on 92 verified reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 23 Jul 2019 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller from San Diego

Mountain retreat

Posted 23 May 2019 on Hotels
Soectacular Mountain View’s far from the city. Lovely breakfast and oversized comfortable room. Friendly proprietors. No elevator.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Beautiful location

Posted 1 Sep 2018 on Hotels
My 4 friends and I arrived late at the hotel but we were lucky the kitchen was still opened. We had a tasty lasagna :) The next day we had a surprise waking up to an amazing view! We had a great stay and we would recommend!
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from minneapolis, minnesota

European family vacation

Posted 31 Aug 2017
We shortened our stay at this hotel due to the fact that the very steep 7km road to the hotel was barely wide enough to allow 2 cars to pass. 2 of our family members have fear of heights and even though we have stayed in the mtns before, this location is like no other. Once to the top, it was the most BEAUTIFUL view and the hotel has a cool vibe. The staff/owners are awesome and food was great! The rooms needed some updates but were very clean! If not for the road and heights, we would have gladly stayed. Charlie the dog was a bonus ❤️
4 out of 5
by Michael from Jupiter, fl

Perfect Mountain lodge

Posted 17 Jul 2016 on Hotels
We rented the 5 bed suite for my family. It was perfect. this hotel is located close to the top of the mountai, which gave us spectacular views from our room. Also, this hotel features a full bar and restaurant. Dinner was excellent! I will go there again.
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Verona, Italy

Hospitable, excellent food, worth the extra drive

Posted 4 Jun 2016 on Hotels
Hospitable, excellent food, worth the extra drive time.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Lots of potential but needs some work

Posted 16 Jun 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was positioned to get a great rating--affordable, very kind owners, beautiful scenery. Here's why it failed to live up to my expectations: the water in the shower barely trickled and was lukewarm at best. There were four of us traveling together, so this made shower time very unpleasant. Secondly, it was a chilly night and the heat in the room did not work. This made for less than optimal sleeping conditions. Lastly, my family wanted to use the hot tub, but we were told that it took 4 hours to heat up the water and that we could only use it if we stayed another night. That was unfortunate. This place has potential, but unfortunately we found it lacking in more ways than one.
Comment from Hotel Management
12 Sep 2015 by Alisha, Hotel Management
Dear guests, thank you for your booking! it was nice having you in the hotel. We regret that you didn't mention the shower problem when you were here. The next guests did, and the problem was solved within a minute! The heating takes quite some time to reach the radiators. Maybe they were hot when you were fast asleep. The hot tub is heated with wood, so it literally takes hours before the water is at temperature. When you stay with us longer then one night, you can inform us a day before, you want to use the hot tub, and we make sure it is nice and warm, and we also will serve you a cold beer! We think there is not so much lacking, as long as people communicate. All "problems" can be solved. We look forward to welcoming you again on the mountain!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Very nice hotel in the Austrian mountains

Posted 21 Sep 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is basic but has an amazing and cozy lobby with sofa, beer, tv, tables and great atmosphere. The rooms is clean and simple but the view is great and the location too. If you want to get there from villach you need about 25 minutes to drive but the road is beautiful while climbing the mountain
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Los Angeles

Up up in the mountains

Posted 13 Jul 2014
Got this booking in last minute and didn't know this hotel was 7 km up in the mountains. Took us 2 tries to get there but it was worth it. Great staff took care of us, fed us awesome food, served complementary drinks. We felt like friends of the house right away. Beautiful location. This was one very restful night. Will be back!
4 out of 5
by UltimateWines from Redondo Beach, CA

Lovely mountain retreat

Posted 3 Jul 2013 on Hotels
Charming little mountain hotel. I only gave it an average rating for location because if you want to be near shops and restaurants, this is not the place for you. For us, it was restful, isolated and beautiful and that's what we want. The owners are very helpful and their dog, Charley, will keep you throwing a ball for hours. A real cutey.