Ratings based on 1,319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Boston,Ma

Very close to all shops

Posted 24-Oct-2016
Very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, smell of cleaning materials almost drove us out of the room . We opened all the windows and doors and left for a while and smell dissapated. Wonderful cafe on premises where we had a fabulous breakfast!
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Dirty toilet and ridiculously uncomfortable couch.

Posted 23-Oct-2016
Pros: The landscaping and location are lovely.
Cons: Cleanliness was obviously not a priority.
Simply, dirty. For the price paid I at least anticipate a clean room. Not crunchy carpet, poop covered toilet and regrettably a sleeper sofa couch that was so past its due date that it just slumped against the wall. Trying to sit in it was near impossible with the less than resilient cushions and protruding metal bed frame. Regrettably when confronting staff about the scenario, the response was two makeup removal packets and few paper towels. No room change, no housekeeping service, no discount. Only an urging not to post the experience into social media. As a repeat guest I know they can do better but this time was a superior FAIL.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Connecticut

Don't consider this place

Posted 23-Oct-2016
Pros: The breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Parking was plentiful.
Cons: Everything could have been better. The carpet and bedspread was stained. There was no blankets with the temperature in the low 40's outside. The bathroom had mold all over, including the floor of the tub. There was space under the door leading outside. The towels were yellow and you could see your hand through them. Anything you can think of could have been better.
Location: Good location on the outskirts of town. Walk a fairly distant walk to stores and restaurants.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Good location.

Posted 18-Oct-2016
Location: Good location.
Good location to visit Taos Pueblo. Somewhat worn out and average clean. Internet not working.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

The hotel is cool. A 1950"s motel style.

Posted 15-Oct-2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Good location great things to do
Outside is cool but rooms are awful dirty and run down. It's a historical motel and needs to be remodeled
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Michigan

Poorest cleaned room we have ever checked into..

Posted 11-Oct-2016
The room had supposedly been cleaned. However there was brown water in the toilet, 2 full wastebaskets, no towels, poorly made bed and a couple of other small problems. The maid even had the guts to leave her card. We had stayed there 7 years ago and evidently things had gone downhill since then. We were locked in for the night but moved out for our second night to the Hampton Inn. What a difference!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Colorado Springs

Great Classic Hotel in Taos!!

Posted 10-Oct-2016
Location: Orlando's Northern New Mexican food is the best in town and close. Within walking distance to the plaza, restaurants and bars.
Nice room. Location is wonderful on the north end on Taos. Firepit in the coyrtyard is a nice touch. One of the best dog friendly hotels in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Oct-2016 by Kachina Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback mark!
1out of 5
by A verified traveller


Posted 10-Oct-2016
We never saw the room. Apparently the cleaning staff had walked out and we were told that we would have to wait first two more hours before we could get the room, then another hour, then another hour, and maybe at 7:00pm we could get in the room. We'd been told we could call Expedia to cancel the room and get a refund and Expedia would find us another room in the area. When I called Expedia a recording told me that someone would be on the line to help me momentarily and the wait would be 24 hours and some minutes. We left at about 5:30pm and found another room ourselves.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from denver co

Not a $100 a night room

Posted 10-Oct-2016
Pros: It was simple to get to the room. The room smelled clean and towels were folded neat.
Cons: The people at the front desk were un-professional, the sheets had skin scales, dead moths and hair in them. Shag carpet felt stiff and crunchy.
Location: With in walking distance of downtown and many nice establishments.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

An old Toas favorite shows it's age

Posted 05-Oct-2016
Pros: local to taos
Cons: kind of poorly maintained
Location: old taos right up the street
great location but rooms were a little shabby and the pool/spa wasn't open in august, had roku tv which was usless