Ratings based on 955 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Lovely modern era decor, clean, & staff was great

Posted 30-Sep-2016
Had a great time, every peice in the room down to the chair, trash can, lamp, were all pieces of art!
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Bend, OR

One night stay

Posted 30-Sep-2016
The hotel lobby is very nice with interesting artwork. Staff was very friendly. Parking was partially covered but we were told it was patrolled and there were cameras. Parking was a concern for us because we had our bikes with us. Our room was very nice but did smell a little musty. It was quiet and we slept well. My only complaint is that they had coffee mate for your coffee and there was only decaf coffee provided, which I'm sure was just an oversight by the cleAning staff. When I told the woman at the front desk she offered to give us coffee from their restaurant which was very nice.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Dubai UAE

Nice Glass Artsy hotel

Posted 28-Sep-2016
Pros: The Glass art work around the floors
Cons: The bathroom sink was inconvenient and small, while the glass counter got wet and looked bad for most of our stay.
Location: nice eating places close by Hotel in a well located quiet neighborhood.
The room was a bit small and the main door thin so noise from the outside life area was a bother..
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Sep-2016 by Javid Almammadov, Hotel Management
Dear Malcolm, Thank you very much for sharing your comments after your recent stay at our Hotel Murano. We are happy to learn that your stay was overall good and at the same time please accept our sincere apologies regarding the noise that we will find the best solution to avoid such kind of inconvenience in the future. Thank you very much for these remarks which are really valuable and helpful for us! Kind regards, Javid Almammadov
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Eugene, Oregon

Good location is about all I can say

Posted 26-Sep-2016
Pros: location
Cons: make your VIP feel like they are
Location: Was 10 minutes to the state fair
Was supposed to be a VIP hotel stay and received nothing of sorts. Junior suite was just a corner room next to the stairwell. no closet in room or microwave. no place to hang a towel in the bathroom as well. Just seemed way too over priced for the stay. Ill go with a chain next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Sep-2016 by Javid Almammadov, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. I am so sorry to read about your experience and please accept my deepest apologies for the inconvenience we may have caused during your stay. Please rest assured that this has been well noted and we will take all necessary measures and actions to ensure that this type of shortcoming does not happen again in the future. Regarding your comment on the microwave, they as many other amenities are provided to our guest on demand. Kind regards, Javid Almammadov
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Olympia, Wa

Not as described

Posted 24-Sep-2016
Room was tiny, everything was run down, our toilet was broken and running the entire time and lid of tank had to be removed to flush ....paid for a 'deluxe' room and felt we got the most basic cheap room they had. Not worth the money , I have stayed in far better beautiful hotels in Seattle that were cheaper than this . 230 bucks for that? No thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Sep-2016 by Javid Almammadov, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank you for submitting your thoughts on your experience at the Hotel Murano. Please accept my apologies for a not so pleasant stay. We do care about our Guests and I will share your review with the appropriate department managers for the consideration and future improvement. Again, thank you for taking the time and posting these comments, as we take guest satisfaction seriously at Hotel Murano. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again. Kind regards, Javid Almammadov
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great hotel

Posted 22-Sep-2016
Enjoyed our stay. Great hotel and staff. Located in nice area.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Sep-2016 by Javid Almammadov, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your recent stay at our Hotel Murano. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. Kind regards, Javid Almammadov
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from AZ

A Study in Glass

Posted 20-Sep-2016
This was a delightful hotel which featured the work of a different glass artist on every floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2016 by Javid Almammadov, Hotel Management
Dear Sheila, Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are happy to read from your comments that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back you soon. Kind regards, Javid Almammadov
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 15-Sep-2016
Great location, the restaurant was awesome with a great view.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Washington

Posted 13-Sep-2016
Good location. Good service. No regular coffee provided in room. Only decaf.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Portland, OR

Hotel Murano was wonderful

Posted 12-Sep-2016
Pros: The staff made the experience. Very nice.
Cons: It is showing some wear and tear in the rooms...but if you look at the view you don't notice.
Location: We went to the White River Amphitheatre....leaving the next morning was very easy....direct route to the freeway.
Came up from Portland for a concert. The entire staff was incredible....Front Desk at every shift was beyond helpful and fun to talk to. Restaurant staff were the same....wonderful and friendly. Valet....fast and great. I will come to more concerts and will always stay here when I do. Because we booked through Expedia we weren't expecting a great view....well, we were wrong. They gave us a breathtaking view.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Sep-2016 by Javid Almammadov, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Murano. We are delighted to hear that your stay was pleasant. Guest satisfaction is our main goal and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Javid Almammadov