Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel close to mall and restaurants ....

Posted 06-Jan-2018
Our stay was good !! bed was comfortable room was decent ..
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jan-2018 by Hotel Management  , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share our stay at Extended Stay America. We are thrilled to know you liked the comfort of our beds and that our great location was perfect for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit the city. Sincerely, Hotel Management 
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from pacific northwest

Close hotel to Tacoma Dome for concert

Posted 07-Nov-2017
Large rooms, small beds and unclean. Smelled of cigarettes and blood on bathroom floor and shower curtain. Kitchenette for long stays. However freezer had food pieces frozen on bottom. Great location to Tacoma Dome and Tacoma Mall. Check in parking lot was a nightmare. Staff quite pleasant
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Nov-2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We are happy to know you liked our location and that your overall experience was pleasant. With that said, we are sorry for the cleanliness issues you experienced here. We will address this matter with our housekeeping associates immediately to take corrective action so that it does not happen again. We hope the positive aspects of our visit will encourage you to choose us again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 16-Oct-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Oct-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted you had an excellent stay at Extended Stay America. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by Jeremy

Posted 16-Oct-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Oct-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us a rating. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon to our hotel. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 13-Oct-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Oct-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your rating. Our goal is to maintain the highest standards, and we apologize for falling short of this. We hope to have the opportunity to make your next visit perfect in every respect. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 03-Oct-2017
Pros: Good location
Cons: Cleanliness and don’t claim there’s breakfast
It says breakfast but it’s granola bars and coffee. There was garbage under the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Oct-2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are so sorry for the cleanliness issue you had and for your disappointment with our breakfast offerings. We will be sure to share your concerns with our Food & Beverages team to see where we can make improvements. We hope you give us another chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by Luis

Posted 26-Aug-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Aug-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Luis, I am very sorry we failed to deliver the exceptional stay you deserved. We never want our guests to leave unhappy. We apologize for not being at our best while you were with us and hope you will give us an opportunity to restore a favorable impression the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Tacoma, WA

Staff was helpful and the bed was comfortable.

Posted 23-Aug-2017
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Not sure.
Location: Within walking distance to restaurants and Tacoma Mall for shopping. If needed, the busline is nearby and access to I-5 is less than a mile.
No dishes or silverware in the rooms. No coffee maker as advertised. It appeared that there were guests staying very long-term, or perhaps living semi-permanently at this property.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Although you liked our convenient location, I am sorry for not meeting your expectations. Please know to ensure cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites. We hope you will consider us again the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by Bianca

Don't forget your stuff.

Posted 22-Aug-2017 on Hotels
The room was stuffy and the smell lingered the whole time. I forgot my toothbrush so I asked the front desk for one they gave me one. It was the worst toothbrush ever. The bristles we're all stuck in my teeth and in my mouth. I had to cough it up.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Aug-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my apology for the poor experience you had during your stay. I will personally follow up on your feedback with my team to ensure this does not happen again. I truly regret the inconvenience you had and please consider us again so that we can restore your faith in our hotel and provide you with the hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by Jonathan

Would not stay here again.

Posted 21-Aug-2017 on Hotels
busy weekend, and we arrived late (11pm.) The suite room we reserved had water leaking from ceiling, and it took the night manager about 45 minutes to get us two single rooms. breakfast was muffins in plastic and granola bars, instant oatmeal in the lobby. no coffee was left either morning. no towels in one room. only shampoo, no conditioner. overall pretty dismal.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jonathan, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations which led to a disappointing stay. While it’s always our attempt to deliver a pleasant visit for every guest, sometimes we fall short. Your concerns have been shared with each department involved in an effort to work more diligently from this point forward. We regret the inconvenience caused, and please consider staying with us again for a much-improved experience the next time your travels bring you this way. Sincerely, General Manager