Ratings based on 158 verified reviews

2.8 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Bolton

Posted 26 Nov 2018
Stayed here a few times now, this room had been recently painted and new bathroom put in big room , best room stayed in here so far
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

We liked it!

Posted 14 Nov 2018 on Hotels
This was our second stay and we stayed for two nights. We found the staff friendly and the food very good. the room could do with a spruce up, and we simply must comment on the cheap, flimsy loo seat that kept coming apart! We actually liked it overall and could probably stay there again.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Stuck in the 1950’s

Posted 30 Oct 2018 on Hotels
Handy location and good parking. We were given a room up in the highest point of the hotel, and was offered no assistance in getting any bags up there by the person on reception. We had to leave very early and the person who was on reception told us that this was before the kitchen opened but would arrange for a continental breakfast to be brought up and left outside our room overnight. They also said that we could leave a chiller bag in the fridge downstairs and someone would help us get it in the morning. No breakfast arrived and there was no one around, or answering the reception phone to enable us to get the bag. We ended up leaving without the bag and had to return the next day, going out of our way to get it. Very inconvenient and not appreciated. Property old and tired. Needs dragging into the 21st century - this could be done without losing the charm of the character of the property.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 17 Oct 2018 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Checked in and then checked out 3 hours later

Posted 15 Oct 2018
Pros: Nothing
Hotel not what I expected. Didn't use my room and asked for a 50% refund on checking out. Passed on to Assistant Manager. Assistant Manager told me a different set of reasons of not giving me a 50% refund. I tried to explain why I checked out and the Assistant Manger pit the phone down on me.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Sussex

Posted 11 Oct 2018
Food awful do not eat there in pub ordered homemade hamburger with sausage bacon fried egg and cheese. It was served up a burger by its self in a bun and was not homemade,sent it back saying we ordered as above came back with sausage that was nearly cold apiece of bacon like shoe leather and a few slices of cold boiled egg. Plus the chip were cold by then. I was offered something else but by this time it was obvious it wasn't a trained chef. In the morning I pulled back the bed sheet there was a massive dried blood and wee stains. We only stayed one night out of two we were booked in for. Only see 3 staff who were nice. Only see one cleaner and considering her task did not do a bad job.
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Do not stay here if you like new hotels

Posted 10 Oct 2018 on Hotels
I would not stay here again as the place needs a lot of money spending to get it to an acceptable standard, the staff were good and the breakfast was good but the rooms are in an awful state, we moved rooms and it was barely better but we were on a rush so accepted
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Wot no lift?

Posted 9 Oct 2018 on Hotels
old but good, but without an elevator
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 4 Oct 2018 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 30 Sep 2018
Faded and needs make over Room and bathroom mouldy. Bed worn out and uncomfortable. Not worth the money