Ratings based on 117 verified reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from London

Posted 25 Aug 2019
Lovely hotel. Lots of different public rooms to find a corner to curl up in. Staff, almost without exception, were excellent. Beds very comfortable. We were in a standard room, which was absolutely fine for our needs, although we saw one of the superior rooms, which were lovely. It would be good to have a seating area at the back of the house with some loungers and tables, as the main outdoor seating that we found was at the front of the house. The food was exceptional, flavours and textures were excellent, and the presentation was beautiful. Really outstanding.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 5 Aug 2019
Lovely location and attentive staff. Had a lovely room overlooking the rear garden
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Overnight stay

Posted 15 Jul 2019 on Hotels
Overnight stay. Fabulous meal, friendly staff. Very enjoyable
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 10 Jun 2019
Great location beautiful surrounding Property itself could do with a little modernising
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

moved on

Posted 9 Jun 2019 on Hotels
Did not stay….room looked out over kitchens, and staff smoking area. Could not / would not move us (were prepared to pay any additional charges) awful drab room, downstairs impressive, up stairs in need of tlc. Left and went elsewhere. Staff did not appear at all bothered. Think it tells you al you need to know. Sadly better places to stay in area.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Wellies for a morning walk

Posted 10 May 2019 on Hotels
Really beautiful hotel and surrounding countryside. We had a delicious dinner with our toddler son.... the hotel was great and put is in a private room to be more comfortable with him and alleviate the stress of him distracting other diners. We ate in the library, had a wonderful meal, and our son had a prix fix menu as well!
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 4 May 2019
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Lovely house but check the small pint

Posted 17 Apr 2019 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, very quirky. The price they wanted for our dogs stay was 4 times what was quoted when I booked. Refused to pay it. They also said room water bottles were complimentary and then charged us £4 for them - without even knowing if we had drunk them or not. What a shame a great visit to a charming olde-worlde country house was spoilt by poor information. Staff were very attentive and friendly so policies must come from management...….Room a little cold but a heater was provided immediately...food was good but pricy, bar meals less so and far less formal.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Reading, UK

Posted 18 Mar 2019
Beautifully kept, with original features. Would recommend having a pick nick and walk around the grounds. The friendly staff make you feel welcome with top class customer service.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Excellent

Posted 6 Mar 2019 on Hotels
Excellent in all respects. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful experience!