Ratings based on 313 verified reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 6 Oct 2019
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 25 Sep 2019
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 11 Sep 2019
It was clean and the staff were pleasant. The room was a bit tired and the shower very tired. Used the restaurant once and whilst the service was good, we found much better food elsewhere
Comment from Hotel Management
18 Sep 2019 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry our restaurant service didn't meet your expectations as we have regular positive reviews and maintain our AA rosette that we have held for over 10 years.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 8 Sep 2019
Overall staff good and efficient but few unhelpful in bar eating room on last day which soured our stay
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 6 Sep 2019
The dining room reminded me of an old English movie. The food and service couldn't have been better, and it had so much character. The staff was extremely helpful. The only disadvantage was the location--about a mile walk from the St. Helier tourist sites and the bus terminal.
Comment from Hotel Management
27 Sep 2019 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review that our team will appreciate. When the hotel was originally built it was situated in the rural landscape on the edge of town.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 31 Aug 2019
Nice hotel within easy walking distance to city center and bus station
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 29 Aug 2019
No one thing stands out as being the best thing about the hotel, simply very well run, nice staff and the property is in a good condition. Only bad thing I noticed, however, is the bathroom could do with a makeover, especially the tiles where the skirting board used to be. Very poor workmanship..
Comment from Hotel Management
30 Aug 2019 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review that our staff will appreciate. We are a traditional hotel operating for over 150 years. In that time there have been changes and adaptions to suit contemporary tastes giving different room layouts unlike some of the more modern generic hotels. Your comments have been noted
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Luton

Posted 27 Aug 2019
A lot of step to bedrooms Limited bar food menus No curtesy bus to town No air conditioning
Comment from Hotel Management
28 Aug 2019 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are a traditional town property that has been trading for over 170 years and have had adaptions and changes to suit contemporary tastes within the restrictions of an older building. Our bar offers choices to suit a lunchtime visitor or guests who prefer a more casual dining option.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Wees Business Trip

Posted 12 Aug 2019 on Hotels
Weeks business trip to Jersey. Hotel was conveniently located for walking around St. Helier
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Week working in Jersey

Posted 12 Aug 2019 on Hotels
Weeks stay for business in St. Helier. Good location, within walking distance of all the main offices / areas of St. Helier. Hotel room was acceptable, but could provide a little more space (drawers) for storing clothes. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
16 Aug 2019 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and your comments are noted.