Ratings based on 112 verified reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Generally very nice hotel, couple of minor issues

Posted 25 Jun 2019 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here in late June, 2019. The area (Pyha-Luosto National Park) is both very beautiful and very quiet. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself was clean, quiet and pleasant. One definite negative was that there was no temperature control in the room whatsoever, and it was rather too warm. We couldn't open the window or patio door, because of all the mosquitoes, and there were no screens on the windows or door. We also used the pool and hot tub. The pool was very nice, but the hot tub wasn't on, perhaps because we used it during the last 1/2 hour the pool was open. So the hot tub was only lukewarm and no jets were on, which was disappointing. We did have an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant, which was very relaxed and casual, but the food and service were both top-notch. I had a reindeer plate, with sausage and perfectly cooked steak, along with some potatoes, pan sauce, parsnip puree, sauteed mushrooms, and blueberries. My wife had a pan fried salmon fillet which was also excellent. We had bread and a small shot of fantastic cauliflower cream soup to start the meal, and I had a Riski Lager from Rovanemi that was really good. The breakfast was pretty standard Finnish fare, but all quite good. Overall, I would stay there again, though my wife was more put off by the overly warm room, and disappointing hot tub.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Excellent hotel close to nature.

Posted 18 Jun 2019 on Hotels
The hotel is clean. Service is excellent. The women at the desk helped me with bus schedules, looking up different potential routes for me. The hotel is in a gorgeous are of Finland and close to hiking/biking trails. There is even a friendly herd of reindeer that seems to live there (or near by). I'm very glad that I stayed there and enjoyed my time. It is a bit far from and inconvenient from Sodankyla. So expect to need additional time to get there and back.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 20 Jan 2019 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 29 Nov 2018
Very nice and friendly staff, good place to stay and relax!!
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 13 Aug 2018 on Hotels
too hot in summer. can see reindeer through window
Comment from Hotel Management
10 Sep 2018 by Hotel Luostotunturi reception, Hotel Management
Hello Sorry for the hot room, this is very unusual in Lapland to have such a temperatures. Hope to see you again one day!
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

So much brown

Posted 24 Jun 2018 on Hotels
If you like reindeer, you'll love this place. There is a herd of reindeer that likes to hang out in the yard. Apparently they escape mosquitoes to the open windy area. The spa is a bit dated and small but nice if you like to chill a while. My biggest gripe was the room decor; my room must have had 10 different shades of brown in different patterns. I would start by burning the bedspreads and curtains. The bathroom seemed nice and fairly recently renovated, with a dryer for your swimwear (or skiwear in the winter). The town of Sodankylä is half an hour drive away, but there are some tiny shops near the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
25 Jul 2018 by Reception, Hotel Management
Hi, thank you for your feedback, these are very important to us, so we can make our services etc better. Welcome back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Great place to stay

Posted 24 Jan 2018
We had a lovely time staying at the Luostotunturi hotel. We had a suite with our own sauna which was great. Breakfast is a buffet with lots of choices. The place is lovely with lots of activities to do around and a lovely lake just behind the hotel with a path going around, perfect for our evening walk. The frozen lake was also the place where we saw the northern lights!!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Gem in the middle of Lapland forest

Posted 20 Jan 2018 on Hotels
Quite ski resort with some activities around: raindeers, husky, snowmobiles and skies. This hotel present main block with bar and restaurants and small wooden cottages in the forest. We had souna inside and fire place. We spent two days in this snowy fairy tales and wish to come back again. There is a lot of things to do in winter and I guess even more during the summer.
5 out of 5
by Michal

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 13 Aug 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Craig

A Great Stay in a Great Area!

Posted 4 Mar 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi for four nights in late Feb / early Mar 2017 and enjoyed it completely! Our Economy room was on the lower level and, while they told us ahead of time we may hear some things from the bar area, it did not bother us at all. Actually, we really enjoyed the private view out the backside of the hotel onto the trails & trees from this room and, although I've slept in more comfortable beds before, it did not pose a problem. The included breakfasts were fantastic with a wide variety of fresh & unique foods and we ate three fantastic meals in the hotel's restaurant as well... their wine selection was surprisingly good; we really enjoyed the South African Pinotage. The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful and, although we did not take advantage of the sauna & spa, they looked very inviting too. We hope to get back to Luosto again someday and would definitely stay here again.