Ratings based on 1,036 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from SoCal

Everything was great!

Posted 21-Jul-2016
Everything was great! Everything was great! Everything was great!
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from San Jose

最高の景色のリゾートホテル

Posted 21-Jul-2016
結婚式と宿泊で利用しましたが、とても良かったです。 たくさんの自然に囲まれたコテージのようなホテルですが、お部屋は綺麗でしっかりしていました。 スタッフの方々もとてもサービスが良く、良い思い出になりました。 また伺いたいです。
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great hotel for the price and location!

Posted 16-Jul-2016
Clean room, great staff and perfect location! Would definitely recommend.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from El dorado Hills, CA

Peaceful, relaxing atmosphere

Posted 15-Jul-2016
Pros: The quiet of the area, and the comfort of the bed.
Cons: The exteriors and patios are old and could be updated. The jets in the hot tub were weak and ineffective, although the water was hot enough.
Location: Conveniently located to Capitola and Santa Cruz beaches - around 5 minutes drive to each.
When you view Chaminade on the hotel website, it looks like the most luxurious resort, but when you arrive, you will see its not so posh. It is still nice, and the grounds are beautiful, but it is not magnificent by any means. Our room was recently renovated and was very nice, but the exterior corridors and surrounding areas are old, and a little rundown. It is a peaceful location, and I enjoyed the trails and even the quiet pool, but it did not feel like a resort to me, just a regular hotel.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Ca

Birthday get away

Posted 27-Jun-2016
Overall great experience. Took girlfriend here for my birthday. Enjoyed the stay. We watched doe outside our window. Relaxed by the pool. Ate a wonderful dinner by fire light at the resort restaurant. Woke up had breakfast at the other restaurant buffet which was delicious. Overall stay was superb. One complaint, shower water pressure was intense. But that was minor. Would definitely recommend and plan on staying for the next visit to Santa Cruz!
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review and feedback! Great pics! Best, Kevin Herbst, General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from santa rosa, ca

A tree house stay

Posted 21-Jun-2016
Perfect place. It was a comfortable and spacious room. Nice amenities if you have time; hike trails, pool, restaurant, spa and fitness center, tennis courts. Lots of families present. It had a retro feel to the place. The two story buildings were amongst trees so when you looked out the window it felt like you were in a treehouse. Staff were very nice. Took advantage of a spa treatment. Such a bonus. Centrally located and purched on a hill.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! Hope to welcome you back soon! Best, Kevin Herbst, General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great amentities

Posted 15-Jun-2016
Pros: Fitness Center
Cons: Room layout Kitchen staff - timing and meat temperature was difficult for them
This hotel is nicely situated in a forest in the hills with a spectacular view. It has wonderful amentities: pool/jacuzzi with cabanas, tennis courts, spa, and the biggest fitness center I have ever seen at a hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feedback for the kitchen! Hope to welcome you back soon! Best, Kevin Herbst, General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

great get-away

Posted 06-Jun-2016
Pros: I like the secluded feeling it provides with the premium facilities.
Cons: IF anything I would improve the bathrooms, jet tubs?
Location: The location is perfect of a nature hike, and you're a skip and a hop from Santa Cruz, a drive from Monterrey,
The hotel is beautiful, it provides a secluded feeling so close to the city. The surround scenery is breath-taking and relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! Hope to welcome you back soon! Best, Kevin Herbst, General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from San Ramon CA

Lovely, Quiet and Relaxing

Posted 02-Jun-2016
Pros: Beautiful secluded location away from any and all traffic. It was very peaceful. The food was outstanding! We only had one meal offsite.
Cons: The bathroom was small and dated.
Location: Gosh! So much to do around Santa Cruz - beach, hiking, dining, whale watching, surfing! You could easily be busy for two weeks!
First time guests, we had a great experience at Chaminade. The room rates are very reasonable for a facility calls itself a resort. But you could remain on the property and not want for anything. There are three hiking trails through the redwoods and eucalyptus forest, a warm and inviting swimming pool and whirlpool and two excellent restaurants. There is also a spa and fitness center, but we didn't use them this time. Our room was spacious and comfortable, even if the bathroom was small and dated. The rooms are housed in buildings with 1st & 2nd floor options and 6 rooms on each floor. This minimizes on noise and foot traffic. The daily maid service was wonderful and fast. All staff were friendly and helpful. We will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! Hope to welcome you back soon! Best, Kevin Herbst, General Manager
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 01-Jun-2016
The hotel ran out of food for their big barbeque on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, and the restaurant also ran out of food that night and the next morning. No apologies, on offer to help us find dinner, etc. We had a group of hungry and disappointed kids who wanted to all eat together and hang out with their friends.