Ratings based on 3,755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from wadhington DC

Excellent location but lobby area is hectic

Posted 28-Jul-2016
Cannot beat the location! But if you want a relaxing hotel that is calm- this is not the place! Extremely hectic in main lobby where bar is located. Hard to get personal attention due to mobs of people.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments on your visit to the Drake! I am sorry you had some issues in the lobby, there are slower times - I promise! Hope you can visit again soon!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from New York, NY

Nice Hotel, great location, but small rooms

Posted 25-Jul-2016
Great! Staff friendly and very Helpful! And accommodating! Stayed two days first went. To Napa and Sonoma and came back for our last night in San Francisco.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you so much Victoria!! I hope you can join us again soon!
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Overpriced and overrated

Posted 24-Jul-2016
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Maintain the rooms. Replace the bed.
Our room was worn and torn. Paint was peeling, blistering and in some places missing altogether (spackle in the bathroom left unpainted). Carpet was torn. The bed had a big dip in it and was not comfortable. The desk was flimsy. The window was filthy and made it hard to enjoy the view. This is not a four-star hotel. I will contact Expedia about a credit or partial refund. The staff, however, were friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments on the hotel, I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed. We will speak with our team regarding the issues you mentioned.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Salinas, CA.

Friendly staff

Posted 23-Jul-2016
Pros: Early morning complimentary tea available. Good location.
Cons: Nothing noted
Location: Close to Union Square, and multi-national restaurants
From door man to check in very personable staff. Clean and comfortable room. Good hot showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you so much Brenda! We can't wait to have you back!
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from NYC

Great hotel, clean, good service, convenient.

Posted 19-Jul-2016
Pros: It had character, was clean, and had great service.
Location: Convenient to everything!
San Francisco is a great city and the Sir Francis Drake only made it better!
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Wow Steve!! Thanks so much!!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Tennessee

Excellent hotel for the area and price

Posted 08-Jul-2016
The Sir Francis Drake is located in Union Square and there are hundreds of resturants and bars within a few blocks. The hotel is older but well maintained and they embrace the theme so it doesn't seem like the hotel is as old as it is. The room was large and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small but very functional. The lobby bar was always busy and seemed like a nice hangout for the area. Also the starlight room is on the 21st floor and the patrons take the same elevators as guests. I found this a little off putting as I was in the elevator with about 10 unsavory characters. I would definitely recommend the Drake as it is probably the most affordable in the area and really doesn't skimp on amenities. I love Kimpton Hotels and stay at one anytime I have a chance. As with all Kimptons there is a free wine social everyday from 5-6 and they are very pet friendly. This was a wonderful stay and experience in SanFran.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Steven! We really appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you got to enjoy some of our amenities during your visit. Hope to have you back very soon!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Delaware County

Great location!

Posted 07-Jul-2016
Pros: It has a welcoming feeling and we really enjoyed staying here.
Cons: The rooms are older, but very clean.
Location: Shopping, Union Square Park, Lefty O'Doul's, the Irish House just a few of our stops while staying at the Sir Francis Drake.
This was our first trip to San Francisco and we didn't have any idea where to stay.This hotel is in a great location. You can easily take the F Market line to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 or to any of the tour locations (hop on-hop off bus, wine tour bus, bike riding tour over the Golden Gate Bridge). The cable car stops right out front of the hotel. The hotel has coffee and tea in the lobby each morning and a wine happy hour each evening. The rooms are older but very clean. The staff is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you so much JoJo! It sounds like you got the real SF experience while you were here and I am ecstatic that we could be your home away from home during this trip. Hope to see you soon!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from LA

Gorgeous and classy, prohibition era hotel.

Posted 06-Jul-2016
Pros: Decor is beautiful, great location, friendly staff, comfy beds, free wine during wine hour.
Cons: Not too many good channels on the tv!
Location: In Union Square with cable car stop right outside lobby! Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
Great room, albeit tiny, even though we booked the 'Deluxe' on 20th floor with city views. Views were ok, room was decadent. We were warned about nightclub music from 21st floor, though heard next to nothing. We had been offered lower room with smaller beds upon check-in, plus $60 hotel credit. Took 20th floor anyway and we were glad we did. Front desk threw in $60 hotel credit at last minute regardless. Kids ordered gelato with caramel sauce (gelato - $7, topping - $2 x 2 = $18), came out to nearly $30 with service charge and delivery fee!!! Hubby and I had one cocktail a piece at bar downstairs, came out to $25 with tip. So there went the hotel credit! We did enjoy a couple of glasses of wine each during the complimentary wine hour from 5-6. Overall, nice hotel in nice part of SF. We'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comments! Happy to hear you liked our decor, I think it is decadent as well - but that is how I like it!! See you soon!
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

OK hotel but hotel staff failed

Posted 01-Jul-2016
The hotel is nice. We had reservations at 9am so we called the front desk to schedule a wake up call which is a very common request for hotels. We never received the wake up call and we missed out reservations and had to rethink our vacation plans for that day. This was the first hotel we have ever experienced this problems with and it was very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Jul-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about this, Nick. We will be addressing with out team and making sure this is prevented in the future.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great location at a great price

Posted 19-Jun-2016
Pros: Central location, no hassle parking (valet), top notch service. Book in advance to take advantage of any discounts.
Cons: I had a wonderful trip and was not wishing for any improvements in the hotel.
Location: It is steps away from Union Square and all the shopping there, and across the street from Sears Fine Foods, the famous SF breakfast establishment.
Stayed two nights in San Francisco for a quick getaway. I chose the Sir Francis Drake because of its central location, and because I got a great price from Experia. This is my third time here since it has become a Kimpton hotel. The hotel is a classic hotel, refurbished, but with old San Francisco charm (wooden elevator doors on floors above the lobby, the iconic doormen). Room size is more European standard than American suburban standard (i.e. smallish) which suited me fine. All fixtures worked well, and the hotel provided all amenities. If you have a room that fronts Powell Street, you will hear the cable cars running by, which I enjoyed, but if you are sensitive to street sounds you may want a room away from Powell.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Jun-2016 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments Steve!! So happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to spoiling you on your next visit!!!