Ratings based on 4,020 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Good location, small room

Posted 11-Jun-2017
Hotel staff was great as well as hotel location. We stayed in a historical queen room and the room was small with a very small bathroom. Location could be a little noisy, but the cable car stopped in front of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Los Angeles

Nice location but old hotel with bad staff

Posted 30-May-2017
Pros: Near shops and restaurants.
Cons: Staff attitude and knowledge. Cleanliness of the room.
Location: Walking distance to a lot of shops and restaurants.
During check-in, the staff gave me the wrong room. During check-out, the same staff didn't appear to know that my hotel stay was already paid through Expedia. The housekeeping staff did not clean our room thoroughly as I saw crumbs on the carpet. Location-wise, the hotel is near Market Street, Union Square, and plenty of shops and restaurants. This is not a value-for-your-money hotel. It is a boutique but old hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-May-2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us and you experienced some issues. I will address this with our team and we hope to make this up to you someday!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 19-May-2017
The staff at check-in was very rude and didn't inform us of any of the amenities on site. We didn't get housekeeping one day and had to call three times to get fresh towels. I travel a lot for work and usually like to stay at Kimpton hotels but this one didn't meet the mark.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-May-2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations! I have shared your experience with our team and I truly hope you can give us another chance in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller from Philadelphia

Small, old school hotel in great location

Posted 18-May-2017
Our one night stay at the Sir Francis Drake was very pleasant. The lobby and public areas are quite grand with a definite "gilded age" feel. The room was perfectly adequate - on the small side but quite comfortable. The location is ideal, close to Union Square, Market Street and North Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Dallas, Texas

GREAT location. Historic hotel.

Posted 17-May-2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Bathroom makeover.
Location: Union Square. Centrally located.
Starlight Room is outstanding. VIEW is a must at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Too expensive for location and lack of amenities.

Posted 11-May-2017
Staff is pleasant. View from the 9th floor room was disappointing. Room only fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-May-2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your view! Let us know next time and we will do everything we can to make it up to you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Kentucky

Downtown Historic Hotel

Posted 26-Apr-2017
Pros: Downtown location, Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Said it above. Hotel is not to the Kimpton standards I've experienced in SF and DC
Location: Downtown, you have shopping and theatre. Right out front hop a cable car to North Beach or waterfront. Close to great restaurants.
This hotel needs some updating. Lobby area and famous Starlight Room are shabby. Overall room was clean, but due to the compact nature of the room and the fact they have bottles of water, wine and snacks sitting on countertops, it was obvious that the area does not get dusted! Bed linens were very nice and ironed. Towels were clean, but very thin. Not up to par with other Kimpton properties. We were not informed until arrival that LaScala, the hotel restaurant was closed for renovation. Hopefully, they will update the Starlight Room next.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Apr-2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Mary, I'm really sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. While the property is historic, we do our best to maintain modern touches and hold our housekeeping team to a very high standard. Your comments will be addressed internally and we hope you can visit us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel. Bathroom was way too small!

Posted 26-Apr-2017
Everybody was friendly and helpful... great location, room was clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Apr-2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you!!! Some of our rooms have smaller bathrooms than others, next time we will get you into something larger!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Hilton, New York

Great location

Posted 24-Apr-2017
The Sir Francis Drake was a great hotel! The room was spacious and clean. The location was great for shopping and there were lots of great restaurants right in walking distance. The door men were all friendly and helpful during our stay. My family would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Apr-2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you so much Michelle!! It's so great to hear that your family enjoyed your visit with us - we can't wait to see you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from NY, NY

Just ok

Posted 21-Apr-2017
Pros: location was very convenient
Cons: room arrangement
Stayed here for a wedding. The lobby is large and check in was easy. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, but it was small for two double beds. There was just a bit of room around the beds to walk. The bathroom was really tiny. Very challenging to get ready to go out since there was not even a place to plug in the blow dryer near the mirror outside of the bathroom. Coffee and tea served in the lobby each morning was a nice touch. However we found the evening bar staff to be rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Apr-2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you Jan, I really appreciate your feedback. While some of the rooms are classic and historic in style, we have larger rooms available and I hope we can get you into one of those on your next visit!