Ratings based on 2,086 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Canada

Great location, historic hotel.

Posted 21-Sep-2017
Amazing location. Great restaurants and shopping nearby. Staff friendly. Very clean. Comfy bed. Great view on the 10th floor. Take advantage of the happy hour in the restaurant right next door. Had an amazing little meal with oysters and dessert for a fraction of the price you would normally pay in this very expensive restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Spokane

Never again!

Posted 18-Sep-2017
Pros: location
Cons: a TOTAL remodel
Location: great location and shops
The place was old, smelled terrible, no restaurant, coffee shop, no airconditioning ...never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Sep-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is situated in a Historic Building in SF. The hotel is planning an update this year and next. Unfortunately most boutique hotels in SF have no A/C, as well as no restaurant. This is the only hotel in SF which features a live theater, a Fine Dining establishment (Farallon), and the SF Elks Club. Thank you for your comments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Tired

Posted 09-Sep-2017
The hotel needs updating. I've only been to SF this one trip and the high was a record, however, every modern hotel should have AC! Our room needs paint and new furniture. The room looked tired and we left feeling tired.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. As most Boutique Hotels in SF, we do not have A/C. This unusually hot weather this past month is totally out of the ordinary. SF usually only gets a handful of days in the 80s and 90s. I'm sorry you had to suffer through the record heat without a/c. We are in the process of updating our rooms this year and next. Again, thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 09-Sep-2017
The hotel was beautiful and located in a great location. Services were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Sep-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 Star review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Sydney

Nice hotel close to the city

Posted 05-Sep-2017
We enjoyed our stay, the room was nice and the hotel was lovely. We stayed during the heatwave so an aircon and a mini fridge would have made the stay a lot more comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Sep-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Hi Claire, Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in spite of the record temperatures SF was experiencing. Very few Boutique Hotels in historic buildings in SF have air conditioners and I know exactly how you were feeling on those scorching hot days. We do have fridges upon request, as well as portable fans. Again, Claire, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you here again...when it's not so hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Fresno

nice & in downtown

Posted 03-Sep-2017
The hotel was clean,nice & the staff was Pleasant & helpful. Walking distance to Chinatown & walking distance to bars n clubs.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Sep-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Tina, Thank you for your review of your visit to the Kensington Park Hotel. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the location and especially our staff here. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from los Angeles

Posted 31-Aug-2017
Could have gotten a better hotel for a bit more. The area was horrible and the hotel looked horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Sep-2017 by David, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear about your visit here. Our hotel is housed in a historic building and our location at Union Square is one of San Francisco's best locations and very safe as well. Again, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 27-Aug-2017
Great service. Close to everything. Found foreign hair on my towel but other than that thumbs up. I would stay with there again. The place is well maintained and with great hospitality.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Aug-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Looking forward to having you here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Australia

Union Square

Posted 24-Aug-2017
Pros: The rooms were a generous size, bathroom clean. A bit of wear and tear but fine
Cons: It could use a fridge in the room
Location: Close to Union Square, Chinatown, Cable car stop. Easy to get transportation to Fisherman's Wharf.
Happy that the hotel was just outside the hustle bustle of Union Square, close to the action but quiet at night. It was easy to walk to restaurants, shops and to Chinatown
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Aug-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Libby, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Fridges are on request subject to availability. Hope to see you here again soon. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Well located

Posted 24-Aug-2017
Nice hotel in old SFC near Union Sq. close to the action and near the Cable Car that brings you to Fisherman's Warf and Pier 39. No self parking available but they provide valet service.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Aug-2017 by David, Hotel Management
Hi Alain, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business and are pleased to hear that you are enjoying your visit to San Francisco! Thank you.