Ratings based on 1,002 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Needs urgent issues addressed

Posted 24-Sep-2017
Pros: Location and breakfast was good.
Cons: Maintain the property to make sure it is safe.
Location: Cable car and shopping.
I spoke to the staff member at reception and bought to his attention that the plug in the bathroom couldn't be used as it was coming away from the wall and the in room safe was also moving. I was told the maintenance person wasn't in until Monday but no one came to look. Hooks on doors were loose and no hot water in the morning, a little better if you showered at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NY

Great stay in downtown San Francisco

Posted 23-Sep-2017
We had a lovely one night stay at The Inn at Union Square. The staff was wonderful, the location was wonderful & the hotel was wonderful. My one complaint would be that I wish there was air conditioning. It got too hot in the room during the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 22-Sep-2017
The hotel was great and all the staff were lovely and friendly. The complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese and cookies in the evening was a real treat. The bottle of fizz and chocolates in our room to celebrate our special trip was a really lovely touch and exceeded our expectations. A lovely haven in a bustling lively city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from chicago

nice location. great staff, very helpful.

Posted 12-Sep-2017
Pros: the check in was quick. staff was great. breakfast in the am was good and the wine reception in pm was also good. topped off with homemade cookies at
Cons: hard to say. everything was great
Location: right next to union square. plenty of restaurants and bars in the area. not far from cable car.
SF was nice. had a great time. hotel was very nice. rooms bigger than expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Sep-2017 by Ann Mock - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Writing guidelines Your response Dearest Debbie, I am just over you thought our staff was great, I will certainly share your comments with them as they truly thrive on such feedback! It is also wonderful to read the breakfast we lay each morning and wine reception each evening was enjoyed by you, I certainly agree one of the highlight s of the Inn are our are fresh baked cookies, many times you can smell them throughout the hotel as we are baking them, a bit of heaven on earth ;x)! We so hope you will return to us once should you plan a return trip to our fair City... until then I wish you and yours the safest and happiest of travels! Warmly, Ann
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from san francisco

Great location and staff but don't stay here

Posted 09-Sep-2017
How unfortunate that all the hard work put in by the excellent staff counts for very little when the rooms are so unbearably warm! Despite the weather being just 68 degrees the rooms were so uncomfortable to be in that we dreaded going to bed and slept very badly each night and there was no pleasure spending time there during the day. All the guests were complaining over breakfast. Sadly this hotel is going nowhere until they invest in air conditioning. Such a pity.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Sep-2017 by Ann Mock - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Dearest Graham, We genuinely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. P lease know that all of what you have shared we will take in a positive way to help improve our guest experience. My sincerest apologies that you were unable to enjoy your stay with us in our lovely little Inn due to the two heat waves we just had which led to historically elevated temperatures; air conditioning is typically not needed in San Francisco, given the coastal nature of our location and that the summer is one of the coolest times of the year here but alas while you were here our City was miserably hot as was our little Inn. I do so hope you will consider staying with us once again when you return to our fair City, if you contact me directly I will do everything I can to ensure your stay is exceptional. Wishing you and yours the safest and happiest of travels… Warmly, Ann
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from Calgary,AB

Comfort while Hot in the City

Posted 08-Sep-2017
First time to San Fran and all our friends ... all our research said it will be nice weather, but cool at night. We packed accordingly. Who could have accounted for it being 109F when we landed? Aside from all that, we got to the Inn at Union Square and immediately fell in love with the place. Front Staff greeted us like old friends. The building is intimate and clean. The room, although warm because of the heatwave, was very nice. Our only complaint, no A/C. There was a ceiling fan,but it wasn't over the bed. We kept the windows open and we're able to knock the heat down, so we were comfortable at night. The Inn is well located at Union Square. Things happen all around the Square and you're right in the heart of things. Tours, shopping, cable cars, the arts, restaurants ... within a couple of blocks from the Inn. We will stay here again when next we visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2017 by Ann Mock - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Oh Rory I am just over the moon to read how much you loved our little Inn, thank you ever so much for sharing your experience with fellow Expedia travelers! I am delighted the warm welcome you received and the clean and lovely surroundings helped alleviate was indeed a historic heatwave in San Francisco! When you are ready to return to us please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you require any assistance to ensure your return visit (which I so hope will be very soon) is exceptional. Until then I wish you and yours the safest and happiest of travels... Warmly, Ann
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from auckland nz

Posted 04-Sep-2017
Great location. Enjoyed the happy hour wine and food. Room very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Sep-2017 by Ann Mock - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your staying with us Alexandra and for your Four Star review! I am so happy to read you enjoyed our wine and hors d' oeuvres , isn't it a lovely way to relax and chat with fellow travelers? We so hope you will choose to return to us once again, please know when you we will be waiting to welcome you back.... until then I wish you and yours the safest and happiest of travels! Warmly, Ann
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from vancouver canada

Great location easy access to everything

Posted 29-Aug-2017
Pros: Central and well kept
Cons: Not really
Location: Food and shopp right at your door as well as transportation. Easy 30 min walk to the pier market.
Great place to stay, we very happy with the accommodation,the rooms were clean and the staf helpful and friendly. I would recommend as it is very central to most everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Sep-2017 by Ann Mock - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us in our lovely little Inn John, and for the wonderful comments about our location and staff. We so hope you will consider staying with us when you return to San Francisco until then I wish you and yours the safest and happiest of travels! Warmly, Ann
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 28-Aug-2017
Great little boutique hotel close to union square. Quiet and dosnt feel like you are in the middle of hustle and bustle
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Sep-2017 by Ann Mock - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us in our lovely little Inn and for the wonderful comments about our location and staff. We so hope you will consider staying with us when you return to San Francisco until then I wish you and yours the safest and happiest of travels! Warmly, Ann
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Brisbane Australia

Nothing too much trouble!

Posted 25-Aug-2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Don't think there is much wrong about this place.
Location: 100 yards from Union Square. About 4 -5 blocks from Market St.
Close to Union Square with perhaps the best hotel staff I have ever experienced. Nothing too much trouble. The wine and cheese afternoons were also great. Their advice regarding dining was also great. Did I mention how great the staff is?
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Sep-2017 by Ann Mock - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us in our lovely little Inn George, and for the wonderful comments about our location and staff. We so hope you will consider staying with us when you return to San Francisco until then I wish you and yours the safest and happiest of travels! Warmly, Ann