Ratings based on 1,162 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Auckland

will rebook again

Posted 06-Mar-2017
Nice, tidy hotel with lovely staff that were super helpful and accomodating... Our family enjoyed our stay...
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Mar-2017 by Greg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, and great to hear your family had a great stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again. We are working hard to upgrade and improve the property, so appreciate your comments
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Rotorua

Never going back again.

Posted 02-Mar-2017
Looks good outside but the inside is disappointing. I killed 2 cockroaches because my daughter wouldn't sleep until it's gone. It's hot inside no ventilation. I asked for a fan the staff said it's cool outside and I said unfortunately I'm not sleeping outside. He gave me a fan heater which doesn't do anything because it's a heater. Will not go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Mar-2017 by Greg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you did not have a good experience and we will work hard to fix the issues you experienced, we do not have air conditioning but we do have fans available, we do spray the outside boundary every 3 months to prevent any insect issue, and will follow up on this, thank you for letting us know
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Good stay - good price

Posted 02-Mar-2017
Pros: Location and price. Fresh carpets, drapes and a lick of paint.
Cons: Loose wires fixed (far to close to the bed). $2.00 door stoppers to prevent damage.
Location: Close to everything.
Stayed in a renovated room. This is our 4th or 5th stay at this hotel. Room has been painted and new drapes & carpets. Kitchen in good order. Everything working in bathroom and new looking RCD for hair drier etc. Looked like new beds, but same sofa. Tv and remote was all working fine. Need to fix exposed wire in 2nd room in room the room. I didn't see it until the morning. Iron and ironing board provided - all good there. Kids used pool and reported all ok. Had the continental breakfast at the other hotel down the road. Basic but fine considering the price. Again linen replaced by freshly laundered - never a problem there. Overall on their way up. Just a little more attention to detail (loose wiring in that bedroom) - and puiing a few door stoppers so people don't damage the wall by opening the door too far and damaging the wall will see more business coming your way. Rooms were clean as usual.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Mar-2017 by Greg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review, we really appreciate your comments and great that you are happy with the improvements that we are making, and are working hard to give the property a full make over, we agree there are a few details we have missed and we will go back and fix these issues, we do look forward to seeing you again. We have almost finished the breakfast room, it has also had a makeover, and we will reopen it shortly.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Coromandel

Run Down

Posted 14-Feb-2017
Pros: Nice front desk people.
Cons: The whole complex needs major repairs. It would have been a five star out fit back in the day but nothings been maintained.
Very disappointed, Motel is in terrible condition. Completely run down. The photos on the web site & Expedia must be at least 20 years old because the units and the whole complex don't look that fresh and clean. The pools not heated, tennis court and mini putt are a joke and there's no restaurant. I booked and paid on line at a discounted price and I'm so clad I didn't pay the full price because I would have been really upset.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Feb-2017 by Greg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, We are currently refurbishing the property and we have completed 16 of the rooms, the pool is heated, you will find that we do not advertise a tennis court, the tennis court next to the hotel will at some stage be developed into townhouses, we also do not advertise a restaurant which is the reason there is no restaurant, we do have a breakfast room, I am not sure why. You thought we had a restaurant when we do not advertise one, we look forward to welcoming you back and showing you the new rooms
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 13-Feb-2017
Pros: Central to city
Cons: TV radio and a clock are a basic necessity in a hotel room, coat of pant required in the bathroom actual a new bathroom.
Hotel room had no TV, radio or clock. The bathroom was functional but really tired, peeling paint stiff taps. The sink plug in the kitchen still had food in it. Shower had a cracked floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Feb-2017 by Greg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently refurbishing the rooms, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Wellington NZ

STAY AWAY HOTEL

Posted 09-Feb-2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Rebuild
Location: Rotorua was cool
We arrived at 1545hrs on a Saturday, only to be asked to come back in ½ an hour as the room was not yet ready. We went for a walk around the site to discover that this place was well and truly run down and in need to have a complete makeover. The reason we choose this motel was due to the photos displayed on the web site, kids play ground, nice heated pool, spa pools, BBQ area, mini golf and tennis courts. The pool was cold, the spa pools were closed, and the playground had broken equipment that made it unsafe, none of the BBQs were in working order, the mini golf was overrun with weeds and the clubs were broken, the tennis court was again over ran with weeds and damaged grounds. I spoke to the manager and advised him of my disappointment, he offered me free wifi and complementary breakfast the following morning. When we arrived at our room, we found this to be truly run down and dirty as well. The decking around second story was rotting and the outside equipment chairs and table were broken. We went for a swim, only to find that it was cold and our children were only able to stay in there for a small amount of time. I had noticed that there was a very flash Mercedes parked in the complex; I asked one of the cleaners whose car it was, and was advised that it was the owners. I approached this person, hoping to discuss how disappointed I was, only for him to deny that he was the owner. I would never recommend this motel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Feb-2017 by Greg, Hotel Management
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, the property is currently being refurbished and we have already completed 16 rooms. The built in BBQ's are not operational, but we do have three portable BBQ's available for guests, upon request we wheel these out for guests We do not actually advertise a tennis court, the tennis court adjacent to the property is not part of the complex, and will at some stage be developed into townhouses The furniture on top of the South wing has been removed, we were in the process of removing the furniture when you stayed, but as we explained to you it was bolted in and we were waiting for the builder to undo the bolts for us, this has now been completed We have recently converted the pool, we now have an air pump to bring the thermal water up from the ground to to used to heat the pool, this has now been fully installed We thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Cheap hotel but get what you pay for.

Posted 04-Feb-2017
Has not been renovated since early 80s. Creepy old mini putt course. Towels were extremely old. Staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Feb-2017 by greg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently upgrading the Resort at present, I am sorry I do not understand you comment in relation to the mini putt, it is in the front of the property and is well used
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Very poor quality motel

Posted 02-Feb-2017
Very poor quality motel, tired and run down, I booked three nights by left after the first night. I cannot recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Feb-2017 by greg, Hotel Management
I am sorry but i am not aware of any issue , we are currently refurbishing the property and we are getting great comments from the new rooms
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Hamilton

Area was good. But that was all.

Posted 24-Jan-2017
Pros: Area was good. Pool was nice.
Cons: Lots, read above review.
Location: Great area as Rotorua has lots to offer in activities.
Motel was so old and so much was broken or not working. Tiles in bathroom were coming off, Shower head was coming out in only a few places and floor in shower very slippery. Lamp in lounge area did not work. Spa that was advertised wasn't the same which is why we booked the room in the first place. This whole complex needs a huge make over. The outside deck which was upstairs had loose boards and to be honest felt very unsafe walking on it. The outside furniture was broken and was embarrassed having a guest visit to catch up.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jan-2017 by greg, Hotel Management
thank you for your feedback, we are currently under going a refurbishment of the Hotel, and we are working hard to complete 10 rooms by the end of the month. The furniture on top of the South wing will be removed shortly, it was bolted on and we have requested our builder to remove them, so we can place new furniture up there, I understand that will happen very shortly, as soon as it is removed we will install new furniture, thank you for your feedback
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Hotel in handy location.

Posted 22-Jan-2017
Pros: The proximity to everything was good. Hotel staff were helpful with information.
Cons: Although the facilities may be old, they shouldn't present as grubby and shabby.
Location: City centre, Maori cultural experiences
Hotel staff were friendly and obliging, however we needed to change rooms after having no internet coverage. The room we were given was disappointing. Towels shabby and stained, silverfish in the bed, broken TV, kitchen supplies very limited. Essentially the room was old, tired and grubby.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jan-2017 by greg, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments, we are currently working hard to refurbish the motel and are working hard to complete 10 rooms by the end of the month, we do hope you will return to see the new rooms