Ratings based on 612 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

clean and quiet..nice pool

Posted 08-Sep-2017
Cons: Just the usual upgrades in an older facility. Carpeting on stairs and in parts of public area need some help as quite worn but the room was very clean
We will stay again........clean and updated room with vinyl flooring and attractive decor. Nothing fancy but more than adequate .. Staff helpful. Breakfast basic with some fresh fruit
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Sep-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback. We do plan to replace the stairway carpet soon. We are happy that you will be staying with us again. Looking forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Washington DC

Modest yet comfortable

Posted 08-Sep-2017
This may not be a five-star hotel but it deserves a five star rating for its comfort and staff. I booked this hotel based on other reviewer's comments on the cleanliness of the hotel. They were right. The room was upgraded and clean and had a very comfortable bed. Housekeeping also did a very good job in maintaining the room. The hotel staff were very friendly, professional and polite, and I was very satisfied with the continental breakfast bar. Add this all to the reasonable cost of the hotel room and you have one very satisfied guest. I intend to stay here on my future trips to Redding.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Sep-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thanks for posting a review. We are happy that you had a nice stay and that you were comfortable in your room and pleased with the friendliness of the staff. We are very pleased to know that you will be staying with us again on future trips to Redding. Looking forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Utah

More For your money

Posted 06-Sep-2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Customers are aware in unfamiliar places. Even if the guy going through the outside trash is a harmless homeless guy. He's threatening to me.
Location: Easy on and off the freeway.
Arrived early and was able to secure our room a few hours before check in time. We found the fridge, microwave and coffee pot came in handy for our week stay. The room was clean and outside noise was minimal. Staff was very nice and responded quickly to our few requests. Fresh hot coffee was available 24 hours a day at the breakfast station. Typical items at the breakfast. Okay if you have to grab and run. Wish they would rotate a variety each day of the week. Redding is such a beautiful area. Too bad the homeless are invading business parking lots looking for cigarette butts and whatever else they can find. If the trash was quickly removed and the parking lot kept ckean, they would move on and stop attracking the attention of customers. I liked this hotel and would stay again. It would be nice to know if my suggestions made a difference. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Sep-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions. We do take action when we see that someone who is not a guest of the hotel is on the property. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from San Francisco, CA

Inventory status not accurate.

Posted 24-Aug-2017
Booked room because expedia app said rooms were available, and the hotel was pet friendly with a reasonable pet fee per night. Arrived to check in, and was informed they had no rooms available for my pet and I. They apparently only have 4 rooms they allow pets in.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Aug-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry we did not have a pet room available upon your arrival. We will work to correct the issue. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Long Beach, CA

Beds were awful. Television did not have sound.

Posted 19-Aug-2017
This hotel is terrible! It is vastly overrated. The beds are awful. The beds are lumpy and in bad condition. We had a terrible time just trying to get comfortable unough to sleep. The television had no sound. The stay was just awful. The room wasn't clean. Our feet stuck to the floor of the room as we walked. Nasty! The toilet seat was broken. The room smelled unclean. And, so one wanted to use the shower. The hot tub was filled with black mold. And, the huge sign about diahreea near the pool was just scary. No one used the pool. The hotel is just nasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. While we appreciate your review I am very surprised by the additional comments that have been added since we spoke upon your departure from the hotel. We are very sorry that the volume on your television was not working and we compensated you to your satisfaction upon your departure. Nothing else was mentioned. I was very happy to see you return then a couple of days later and all was well. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Clean room.

Posted 30-Jul-2017
Entrance doesn't have a pleasant smell. But room was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Aug-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 25-Jul-2017
Stayed for one night arrived late the room was ok but it didn't have a shower curtain my options were to move to another room or just shower without it!
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Jul-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are so sorry that your room did not have a shower curtain. It was an oversight by housekeeping when changing out the shower curtains and I am sorry that we fell short of getting it replaced for you in a timely manner. Please forgive us. I hope that you will still come back and stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NC

Super 8 Redding

Posted 18-Jul-2017
Pros: Very nice Super 8
Cons: Bigger breakfast area.
Very nice and clean. Front desk was pleasant and helpful. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jul-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Vancouver, WA

Nicely redecorated!

Posted 11-Jul-2017
Loved that there was no carpet. Very well done redecorating and the updated furnature was nice. Felt very clean and the beds were comfortable too. The only complaint I would have was the overwhelming Marijuana smell we experienced both outside and in the hall a couple of times. Not cool!
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your commenting on the new flooring and redecorating. We are 100% non smoking hotel. We apologize for the unpleasant odor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

It's nice and clean for the price

Posted 07-Jul-2017
The hotel is clean and I like the laminate floor over the carpet. It looks a lot cleaner than the carpet, but of course, the carpet would make the room looks fancier :). The continental breakfast is okay. The bed is a little soft. Overall, I like it for couple nights stay to visit Lassen while the cabin and camp site is sold out.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you back again soon.