Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Southern California

Always stay here

Posted 30-Oct-2017
Pros: The location is conveniently close to family, staff is friendly and helpful, room is clean and comfortable.
Cons: I have no present recommendation for improvement
Location: Cannot speak of things to do nearby. I love that the hotel is conveniently close to family.
I always stay here when I am in the area. The location is conveniently close to family, staff is friendly and helpful, room is clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Oct-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are glad that you had a nice stay and that you found our location convenient. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Escondido Ca.

Close to I-5, 2 restaurants across the street.

Posted 12-Oct-2017
Pros: Close to the interstate, Very clean !
Cons: Evening desk staff could be a bit more friendly ! And the bed a bit more soft !
Location: I only stopped for the night and had Mexican for dinner across the street.
I ate at the Mexican restaurant it was Ok, The motel room was very clean and quite, my only complaint was the bed was HARD. If you like a firm mattress this is for you. Very easy access off the I -5,
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Oct-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay and found our location to be convenient. We are sorry that the bed was a little to firm for your personal preference. We hope to have you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from turner,or.

Close to where needed to be.

Posted 12-Oct-2017
Clean room nice people good location. Where we needed to be.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Oct-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you had a nice stay. Please come back and stay again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

clean and quiet..nice pool

Posted 08-Sep-2017
Cons: Just the usual upgrades in an older facility. Carpeting on stairs and in parts of public area need some help as quite worn but the room was very clean
We will stay again........clean and updated room with vinyl flooring and attractive decor. Nothing fancy but more than adequate .. Staff helpful. Breakfast basic with some fresh fruit
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Sep-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback. We do plan to replace the stairway carpet soon. We are happy that you will be staying with us again. Looking forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Washington DC

Modest yet comfortable

Posted 08-Sep-2017
This may not be a five-star hotel but it deserves a five star rating for its comfort and staff. I booked this hotel based on other reviewer's comments on the cleanliness of the hotel. They were right. The room was upgraded and clean and had a very comfortable bed. Housekeeping also did a very good job in maintaining the room. The hotel staff were very friendly, professional and polite, and I was very satisfied with the continental breakfast bar. Add this all to the reasonable cost of the hotel room and you have one very satisfied guest. I intend to stay here on my future trips to Redding.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Sep-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thanks for posting a review. We are happy that you had a nice stay and that you were comfortable in your room and pleased with the friendliness of the staff. We are very pleased to know that you will be staying with us again on future trips to Redding. Looking forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Utah

More For your money

Posted 06-Sep-2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Customers are aware in unfamiliar places. Even if the guy going through the outside trash is a harmless homeless guy. He's threatening to me.
Location: Easy on and off the freeway.
Arrived early and was able to secure our room a few hours before check in time. We found the fridge, microwave and coffee pot came in handy for our week stay. The room was clean and outside noise was minimal. Staff was very nice and responded quickly to our few requests. Fresh hot coffee was available 24 hours a day at the breakfast station. Typical items at the breakfast. Okay if you have to grab and run. Wish they would rotate a variety each day of the week. Redding is such a beautiful area. Too bad the homeless are invading business parking lots looking for cigarette butts and whatever else they can find. If the trash was quickly removed and the parking lot kept ckean, they would move on and stop attracking the attention of customers. I liked this hotel and would stay again. It would be nice to know if my suggestions made a difference. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Sep-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
We thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions. We do take action when we see that someone who is not a guest of the hotel is on the property. Thanks for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from San Francisco, CA

Inventory status not accurate.

Posted 24-Aug-2017
Booked room because expedia app said rooms were available, and the hotel was pet friendly with a reasonable pet fee per night. Arrived to check in, and was informed they had no rooms available for my pet and I. They apparently only have 4 rooms they allow pets in.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Aug-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry we did not have a pet room available upon your arrival. We will work to correct the issue. Thanks for letting us know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller

some minor glitches this trip

Posted 22-Aug-2017 on Hotels
We stay here when we visit my brother who lives down the street. Breakfast is always good. No towels at the pool this time. Our tv did not work so the guy came and got it running. The phone in our room did not work so I had to walk to the front desk in my pjs. The floor in our room was sticky and I was told it was the new cleaning solution. I asked them to remop with hot water to get rid of the stickiness and they did not. We have not had these issues in the past so we will give it another try but they need to improve in these areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Aug-2017 by Brulee, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry that you encountered some minor issues with your stay on this visit. We don't put towels out at the pool but we do keep a supply of pool towels at the front desk. We did get a new floor cleaner and we have figured out that it does leave a sticky residue on the floor. We are working with the supplier to remedy this. Thank you for letting us know. We look forward to your next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not pet friendly

Posted 19-Aug-2017 on Hotels
Reserved room because the hotel was pet friendly but they turned us away because their four rooms they allow pets in were taken. Very unhappy.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2017 by Brulee, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review. We are pet (dog) friendly. When you book your room online there is also a note that says "please call the hotel directly to confirm availability as the hotel has a limited number of pet rooms". We are sorry that a pet room was not available upon your arrival and that we were unable to accommodate you. We hope that you will continue to choose Super 8 for your future lodging needs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Long Beach, CA

Beds were awful. Television did not have sound.

Posted 19-Aug-2017
This hotel is terrible! It is vastly overrated. The beds are awful. The beds are lumpy and in bad condition. We had a terrible time just trying to get comfortable unough to sleep. The television had no sound. The stay was just awful. The room wasn't clean. Our feet stuck to the floor of the room as we walked. Nasty! The toilet seat was broken. The room smelled unclean. And, so one wanted to use the shower. The hot tub was filled with black mold. And, the huge sign about diahreea near the pool was just scary. No one used the pool. The hotel is just nasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2017 by Helen G, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. While we appreciate your review I am very surprised by the additional comments that have been added since we spoke upon your departure from the hotel. We are very sorry that the volume on your television was not working and we compensated you to your satisfaction upon your departure. Nothing else was mentioned. I was very happy to see you return then a couple of days later and all was well. We hope to see you again soon.