Ratings based on 320 verified reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 24-Aug-2019
We enjoy the area. But we had a very smelly bathroom, poor drains.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Aug-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Oh dear, well that's doesn't sound good! We are sorry to hear you weren't as impressed with the smell of your room as possible, had we known we certainly would have done everything we could have to make you more comfortable! We hope however, you'll come back again soon!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 22-Aug-2019
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Aug-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Oh Anonymous, you certainly know how to charm a hotel! We hope you'll pop by again soon!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 11-Aug-2019
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Aug-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Sydney, Aust

Posted 06-Aug-2019
A lot of thought had been put into this hotel. The room fittings and layout were superb. Our every need was met by all the friendly staff. Will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Aug-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
That's right, nothing is too much trouble at all and we love to hear that our friendly staff managed to help. It's wonderful to hear you had a superb stay and enjoyed your room - we utterly love them! We hope you'll be back again soon as we miss you already!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from NJ, USA

Posted 06-Aug-2019
We only stayed here one night for a wedding but it was absolutely perfect. The room was nice and super convenient. The few staff we spoke with were all genuinely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't have minded staying another night to enjoy little Sonning a bit more. This is an excellent place to stay, especially if you're attending a wedding here. Absolutely gorgeous setting.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Aug-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Perfect review! Your kind words, have certainly turned our cheeks red. We are chuffed to hear you loved the room and over the moon that you found our staff friendly and helpful - we absolutely love to hear that! The wonderful views certainly aren’t going anywhere so we hope you’ll be back to enjoy them again soon!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 03-Aug-2019
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Aug-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Amersham

Posted 02-Aug-2019
Quality of room and fittings - bed mattress and linen excellent. Our room was very small and hot due to poor ventilation albeit a fan was provided. Excessively priced for size of room and lack of hotels own dining facilities - having to go to the bar next door when full of younger people celebrating at a wedding was not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Aug-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us over all. I can see you booked one of our cosy rooms.... there are by definition cosy but we just love them! We do not have our own restaurant however our friends at Coppa Club are just fab and hope you enjoyed your time with them also!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Suffolk

Posted 30-Jul-2019
It was a lovely setting, great interiors. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Service from the bar was slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Jul-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! It pleases us that you enjoyed you trip here and, are over the moon that you found our staff helpful and friendly - we absolutely love to hear that! We are sorry to hear you didn't have the experience we would of liked at Coppa Club, I can tell they dropped the ball this time. However, hopefully on your next visit here we will be able to skyrocket your hopes and expectations.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 24-Jul-2019
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Jul-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 19-Jul-2019
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2019 by The Great House Team, Hotel Management
I like this review, it's great to see you like our hotel. Here's hoping you'll come back again soon!