Ratings based on 783 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from lake city fl

Worst Resort ever

Posted 16-Sep-2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
This place was a disaster the mini bar is a small refrigerator that didn't keep any thing cold only soda and 4 beers no alcohol at all we had to get our own ice they didn't even service the room till 4pm we asked for just Diet Coke and it took them 3 days to get that right we were there for Irma they said stay in your rooms we will deliver your breakfast the night before then lunch the next morning the breakfast was yogurt and ceral a piece of fruit and juice and milk no spoon the spoon came with the lunch the food was awful except for one restaurant the only thing they did right was authorize Expedia to refund us for the 5 days when we left early to come home and prepare for Irma
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear dasko3446. We are sad your experience was not according your expectations. It is important to mention that the minibar doesn´t freeze but keep things in temperature. And in addition to the beers in the minibar, you can request wine by glass through room service which is available 24/7. On the other hand, consider that in order to guarantee the safety of our guests, we must take security measure during the threat of Irma hitting our country. We reiterate our apologies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from New York, NY

Lack of variety of food...culture of the staff

Posted 12-Sep-2017
Culture of all staff is lacking customer service. All-inclusive hotels are for guests to escape to a wonder world. Where we would have staff asking us, what do we need ? May I help you ?
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jorge, First all, my apologies if the hotel do not met your expectations. I assure you that our staff are hard working day to day to improve each detail for the guests during their stay with us. I hope that you can come back in another trip, Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from New York

Hotel is outdated and the food is terrible

Posted 11-Sep-2017
The hotel needs some serious upgrades. The food is terrible and caused everyone from our wedding party to get sick.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kat, First all, thank you for choosing Now Larimar for your wedding. My apologies for the issue of your wedding's guests. But let me tell you, our hotel do rigourous controls of safe and hygiene each week. I considere that the symptoms have been typical of the travel. However, I am sorry the happened. We hope that you can come back in another ocassion! Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Toronto

Posted 11-Sep-2017
Pros: The Staff Marcellino, Juan, Loius, Glady and Abrahim
Cons: The beach had a lot of seaweed. that was the only negative but the resort has 5 swimming pools.
Location: Trip to Saona- we booked it with Sea port via Santos Parasailing -same as above
Very nice stay when there for my 26th birthday. The hotel is more geared toward relaxation and family trips, if someone is looking for a party scene best to look at other resorts like breathless but we also had a good time. It was the amazing staff who made our vacation so great, starting from Juan who is the lead bartender/manager and life of the party at the swimming pool bar. To Loius and Gladys they on the preferred side so friendly and positive, & Abrahim he made our day in the cabana by the beach so so amazing! Last but not the least the awesome Marcellino, he is the Guest experience manager- starting from the first day till the very last helped us out with everything and was always making our experience even better by going extra mile. Cant thank him enough. Marcellino, Juan, Loius, Gladys and Abrahim are BIG asset to the AM start team. Thank you so much
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gagan, Thank you for choosing Now Larimar. We appreciate your time for share your stay. For us is very important to know your personally opinion to improve each detail in others possibles stays. Also, I am so glad to read that our staff made a good vacation for you. We hope you can come back soon, it will be a pleasure host you! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Puerto Rico

The DJ in the Disco was a Disaster,

Posted 07-Sep-2017
Every night we went to the Disco and the DJ play the exact music again and again and again . Was really disappointed. I Want to have my next vacation with you again, but I don't think that can happen if you still have the same DJ. Was really boring.....
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Yolanda. Thank you for choosing Now Larimar Punta for your holidays. We appreciate you left your comment so we can improve. Please let us know about your return. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from ORLANDO

stay was just a wonderful stay.

Posted 05-Sep-2017
Pros: The resort was fun, lots of entertainments, music, dances, beach party etc
Cons: Just the cleanliness of Algae pilled on the edges to enter the beach.
Location: just book a tour package and have fun.
The staff were excellent and treated us as a family. Never gave any attitude for any kind of request made to them.The only issue we had was the transportation. I think that the representatives of Blue Transport should not be permitted to be on the hotel. They are 1 of the worst services. Firstly , they took away our transport reservation of some other company to Santa Dominican. Then at the end of the journey on the last stop, Mr RANDY entered the bus and stated that they could not find our reservation.So why in the first place would he confirm a day before and give us a 6.45 am time for pick up. Secondly, it was so embarrassing on the bus of him to discuss this issue. When we found out that he misrepresent us and it was the other company who was scheduled to pick us at 7 am. We had to pay him $170 which was already pre paid. Next, our flight was delayed by 1 1/2 hrs. We called and asked him to have us picked up at 10 am instead of 8 am, he refused. We called front desk and Pedro arranged for a Taxi service which took us to the airport. We had this also pre-paid, and had to pay $35 cash. A caution to all guest arriving at the Punta Cana AIRPORT. Do not speak to any representative after you claim your luggage. These people are hired employees of time share and resorts around who could ruin your day by offering you free massage, free entry to Saono island ,horse back riding etc.They will take 4-5 hrs and try to sell vacation packages.Just say , you do not have a credit card.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Manisha, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. It is an honor to know that you felt treated like family, as this is exactly our goal. Related to the transportation, it is a shame to read about your inconveniences. We would like to clarify this is a service not related to the hotel. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Maryland

Felted discriminate against

Posted 05-Sep-2017
Pros: There's a place outside on the beach that cooks food on the grill the cook and the guy Victor was the best
Cons: Treat all the people the same and I think some of the staff needs some customer service training
Location: I guest he location was good first time in DP
When my wife and I arrived, we were upgraded to the resort next door called Secrets Royal Beach it was the step up from the Now Larimar not the case when we got there. The person at the counter was so dry to me looking as if we were in the wrong location. Day 1, we put our bags day and went to the beach bar looking to get a drink after the long flight. The bar tender got us a drink and a few others can to the bar and he was to one side of the bar. To get another drink for my wife and I was like pulling teeth I had to called the bar tender over more than 3 times. I them gave him a tip of $20 and he was my best friend at that time. We went to the gym the next morning my wife and I walked over to the cardo area and then minutes later asked was we in the right area by the resort staff. We called the concierges to make reservation for the Asian restaurant, gave the time 9pm arrived at the place and know listing of us there. The next morning at breakfast in the line for and omelet just me only make my order move over so that the person came behind could make his order. When my order was ready the cook gives it to the guy that ordered after me, that person was confused as I was. He told the cook it was not his and the cook said it was yours. I then ask the cook you don’t remember me just making that order and he just looks at you. I was thinking maybe he didn’t understand me but later we were talking very well English to some of another co-worker’s. The guest he gave my order walked
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin. We are sorry that your experience has not been completely satisfactory. Your opinion is pretty important for us, so we are taking notes of your comments to pass on the involved team. Hope to have an opportunity to redeem this experience. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Puerto Rico

Posted 30-Aug-2017
All around a great resort!! Great staff and food!!
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Sep-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Cesar. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays. It makes us feel glad to read you had a pleasant stay. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Chicago, IL

Nice but can use some maintenance.

Posted 29-Aug-2017
I booked at Now Larimar and the room they gave me was not the room that I booked. They ended up putting me in a room at their sister resort next door Secrets Royal Beach which was fine except for I had a key card that said Now Larimar & I was not able to utilize the preferred guest pool or restaurants as I had paid the up charge for. Also, there was some type of plumbing issue because I had to have them come & unstop my toliet EVERYDAY of my stay & the smell in the room was one that came from mildew & backed up toliet. Last but not least I was there for my sister wedding & on Saturday 8/26 from 10ish until I left at noon the water was OFF so we was unable to shower before the transportation company picked us up to take us to the wedding resort. Totally unacceptable for me! I went to the main lobby of both Now Larimar & Secrets to complain & they used their language barriers as a tool to act like the didnt understand my concern or request for management. I finally got one of the solicitor's to translate for me that I wanted to make a complaint to upper management & they took my name & room number down & said that manager would contact me. As of now I still have not had anyone from management contact me. My suggestion to you is that if you have any problems be sure to reslove them at that time & do not go for someone will contact you because they never will.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Aug-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marriah. We are sorry to read you didn't have a satisfactory experience, furthermore reading the reason why you were not comfortable. I can secure these situations are totally atypical in our hotel, and the inconveniences with the water was an incident related to our pipelines. On the other hand, before any difficulty, our team must get in contact with the guest. We are going to investigate this case and if you desire to provide us more information through private message, it would be helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Rooms

Posted 28-Aug-2017
I was excited about my trip to this resort, but the room; 1st floor tropical view was not my style. The room was musky n not appealing. Good news I was able to upgrade at no cost. Beautiful room service. Friendly staffs. Con- tip, tip. With every service the staff wanted a tip. This was a big turn off. The Beach water, dirty most days.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Aug-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. We are sad your experience didn't meet your expctations. It is great, although, to read our team acted in a timely manner to improve your experience. Let us also add that our intention is providing guests with an excellent experience without expecting nothing, but their satisfaction.