Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from brooklyn, ny

Beach area is nice, but that's about it

Posted 29-Nov-2016
If you are expecting an all-inclusive 4 star hotel, then this will not be what you want. Pool area is outdated and not kept well, bottom of pool has chunks of paint missing which leaves rocks and gravel in pool. Pool bar does not have the same liquors available as the main lobby bar. Actually the lobby bar is the only full bar and still alcohol choices are very limited. Restaurants and buffer area will only give beer and wine. Also the food is horrible. If you are expecting Dominican food and flavors, then you should look elsewhere. Food is all bland and even the three restaurants they have seem to just have buffet food presented in a different way. Japanese was just soy sauce as "seasoning", Mexican restaurant was same as taco station at buffet. The Brazilian included hot dogs in multiple ways.... overall I would not recommend this hotel. One upside is the people who work there are fantastic, all super nice and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Nov-2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property with these valuable remarks. We are really sorry that we could not live up your expectations in some aspects of your stay, just be sure that we have looked in every single detail of your comments and will work on the improvements. We would love to have the opportunity to be your host again. Best Regards, Quality Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Spacious, colorful and entertaining resort

Posted 28-Nov-2016
Pros: The nightly shows are fantastic! And they keep changing them so when I stayed 2 Saturdays and 2 Sundays the program was different.
Cons: The weather was rainy and cloudy during my stay and all clothes were either wet or damp, so I brought a rope to put up a clothes-line.
Location: I did not go out on excursion this time, at 1st time I visited the Playa Dorada mall that is few minutes away on a taxi.
This is 2nd time my family stayed at this resort and we like it very much. Even with US Holiday for the week Nov 21-27 we could always find a place at restaurants, gym, spa, tennis courts, pool, beach, bar and nightly show. Buildings are very colorful and are kept in very good shape. Over 2 these stays I see improvements in many places - pool beds were replaced with improved model, some rooms were outfitted with Samsung 32" Smart TVs, WiFi is now free and reception is good. WiFi allows up to 3 devices per room. I felt welcomed at the gym doing my aerobics in front of a mirror. I took tennis lessons for every day of my stay and even a rainy day was not a problem. The tennis coach named Pablo would clear water from the painted, concrete surface with a broom. On Wednesday nights the lobby and the plaza is filled with local merchants so kids can pick some necklaces or bracelets to buy. There are few shops at the lobby and I could pay with US$ for stuff like playing cards, swimming gear, sun lotions. Expedia representative named Wendy can reserve some outings or excursions, but can also help find a doctor or a dentist if a need arises. At 12:30 PM everyday they prepare some local seafood dish at the beach for a crowd and I very much liked a local version of paella.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Dec-2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We appreciate your kindness to sharing your second wonderful stay at IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada. There is nothing more rewarding than receive the positives comments of our guests, especially from those that already know how our services and facilities are. It makes us proud to know that all the efforts that we make for pleased our guests are worthwhile and also so happy to know that you have noticed our improvements. Once again, thank you for your review and we all hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from ny

Absolutely amazing .

Posted 27-Nov-2016
The staff and hotel where extremely impressive. There was always somewhere to get food . The bars where all over the hotel . We took a walk on the beach and passed many resorts and iberostar was by far the more well maintained property around. The Japanese restaurant was the best one on the property. The entertainment was never ending and there was plenty to do even when it was raining. We can wait to check out other iberostar hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Dec-2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, On behalf the hotel staff of IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays and for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We appreciate your kindness to sharing your thoughts regarding the friendliness of our staff, the good quality of our food and the entertainment. In IBEROSTAR we are committed to create a memorable stay and make it enjoyable. Once again, thank you and we all hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Posted 27-Nov-2016
Nice time and nice experience except for the hurricane. It rained everyday
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We enjoy reading that even though the weather was terrible during your vacations, you could fully enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!! We hope you could have more sunny days during your next visit. Best Regards, Quality Manager DR
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from St.John's, NL

Nice resort, right on the beach.

Posted 18-Nov-2016
Pros: Staff very attentive and knew your needs. For ex,in the dining room Sarita would have your favorite drinks to you before you would even ask. Excellent
Cons: For times when there are unusual weather patterns and rain you need more activities to occupy and engage, such as family movies in the Star Lounge.
Location: Beach was full of liter, the resorts should pool resources and invest in a commercial rake to attach to equipment to quickly clean beach & restore.
We had a great stay. Due to the time of year and unusual weather patterns we had a lot of rain. We had some issues with a green film in the pool which would stick to your body and pool float, the staff attributed it to sunscreen and the fact people don't shower off before getting in the pool, however I have never experienced it before.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada as your vacations destination. We are really sorry that the weather was not on your favor, and you could not enjoy our facilities completely. You can be sure that we are going to work on new activities for this days. On the other hand, thank you for letting us know the great service received by the staff, especially from Sarita. We will like to see you here very soon. Cordially, Quality Manager DR
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Toronto, Canada

Great location, comfortable, clean hotel.

Posted 17-Nov-2016
Friendly atmosphere, the staff made you feel very welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada as your vacations destination. It is nice to know that you had a great stay at our place. And also, that our staff treat you like royalty. We hope you are planning on coming back soon. Cordially, Online Quality Manager DR
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Great food

Posted 07-Nov-2016
The hotel is good. The rooms are ok. But you don't spent much time in them. The food is excellent. Very good food in all the restaurants. They have a great natural juice selection for breakfast. They have a delicious BBQ on Saturdays and seafood paella on Sundays by the beach. You'll get a very nice varied selection of seafood in all their restaurants. The hotel staff is great also. Mario P. help us with all our reservations. We had a family get together and he made sure that all our rooms were in the same floor and next to each other. He also made all our reservations for the a la carte restaurants during our stay. So thank you Mario! The women at the spa were also great and very attentive. They give great massages. My only true complain is the smoking. They get a lot of European tourists that smoke. Even though the hotel is pretty open, sometimes specially at night you couldn't escape the smoke. They need to stablish a smoking and non smoking areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Nov-2016 by Quality Manager DR., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your vacations. We really enjoy reading reviews like yours, in which we can confirm that we are going on the right direction. Thank you for highlighting our gastronomy, which is one of the principal aspects why guests like our establishment. Also, for mentioning the excellent staff we have here, with whom we are sharing your words. Come back soon. We are already waiting for you. Cordially, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Tampa, Etats-Unis d'Amérique

Posted 22-Oct-2016
7 night stay was long enough. Food ok, place is starting to look and feel it's age. Staff good. Entertainment could do with some improvement.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Oct-2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada for your holidays. Your comments are very important for the successful development of our organization. We are thankful for receive you evaluation and for bringing to us your considerations about us. After 17 years that we opened we are constantly making improvements, keeping our property with excellence services and accommodation that nobody in Puerto Plata can provide. We apologize for the mishaps encountered. Our entertainment team do their best to make the stay of our guests pleasant and enjoyable. However, we have taken notes of your complaint and shared with them. Once again, thank you and we all hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Beach

Posted 17-Oct-2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Beach
Location: Puerta plata
Vacation was good some of alcohol was not top of line. The one problem I have is at beach I hurt foot on rocks you should tell people to watch out for rocks underwater. The entertainment was good. If I did not break toe it was good vacation
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Oct-2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us. Firstly, we are glad to know that our entertainment group surpassed your expectations. However, we are so sorry to know that you haven't enjoyed your stay because the rocks the beach you have injured your foot. Thanks for advise us about this, the hotel management team have read your complaint and will take actions about it. We are looking forward to have the chance to welcome you back. Regards, Quality Manager Online IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from new Jersey

A wonderful place

Posted 17-Oct-2016
I have to stay that I cant complain of anything.. hotels rooms were very clean.. great selection in food and drinks.. btw if you like drinking you will find bars on everywhere..
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Oct-2016 by Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, On behalf of the hotel staff of IBEROSTAR Costa Dorada we thank you for choosing us for your vacations. It is so nice to hear that you can't find anything wrong about us, this mean a lot for us since is our commitment make the stay memorable and pleasant. We hope to have you again soon. Warmest regards, Quality Manager IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic