Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 29-Aug-2015
very nice. Close to waterfront shops, restaurants. the staff was great , friendly and helpful.
Comment from EPC
02-Sep-2015 by James Tingley, EPC
Greetings: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your visit overall, and that you received friendly and helpful guest service from our team here. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Delta Prince Edward another time! James Tingley General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Québec

Trop cher pour trop peu

Posted 26-Aug-2015
Pros: les employés et l'emplacement
Cons: des commodités dans la chambre: micro-ondes, petite table et chaise, fauteuil... c'est trop peu de commodité pour le prix que vous demandez.
Location: très bien situé
L'hôtel est joli et bien situé certes, mais pourquoi payer si cher pour une chambre qui en bout de ligne n'offre aucune commodité de plus qu'une chambre de motel? Pas de micro ondes, pas de fauteuil pour se poser un peu, pas de petit table ni de chaise pour collationner ou permettre aux enfants de dessiner. Les serviettes sont donné au compte goutte et même lorsqu'on en redemande, elle arrivent avec difficulté... c'est a croire que c'est une denrée rare! Et que dure du petit déjeuné au prix ma foi ridiculement élevé! Bref, je croyais que payer plus signifiait en avoir plus et j'ai fais erreur. Bonne vacances tous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from ONTARIO

SO CLOSE TO A BEAUTIFUL DOWNTOWN

Posted 25-Aug-2015
Pros: EVERYTHING THAT I EXPERIENCED AT THIS HOTEL WAS EXCEPTIONAL
Cons: NOTHING
Location: A BEAUTIFUL DOWNTOWN WITH GREAT RESTRAUNTS AND QUAINT SHOPS
ABSOLUTELY THE CLEANEST HOTEL ROOM I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED I TRAVELED 35-40 NIGHTS A YEAR FOR BUSINESS AND NEVER SEEN A BETTER RUN HOTEL
Comment from EPC
27-Aug-2015 by James Tingley, EPC
Greetings Bill: Thank you for taking the time to post a review here on Expedia. Needless to say, I was delighted to learn that everything you experienced at our hotel was exceptional! A high compliment for certain, given the number of nights you travel within a year. Our housekeeping team in particular appreciated your feedback. Thank you again, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back. James Tingley General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Rice Point, PE

Posted 23-Aug-2015
Very comfortable and updated room. Felt very relaxed. Gorgeous renovations done to the hotel. Would stay again for sure!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Aug-2015 by James Tingley, Hotel Management
Greetings: Thank you kindly for your comments and five star rating of your stay with us here at the Delta Prince Edward. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed our newly renovated product, and that you had a relaxing visit with us. Happy to know you will stay with us again another time, and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion! James Tingley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location on the water.

Posted 16-Aug-2015
Staff was very helpful. PEI is a jewel and this hotel made our visit there exceptional.
Comment from EPC
18-Aug-2015 by James Tingley, EPC
Greetings Gene: Thank you for providing your comments in conjunction with your recent stay with us. Certainly I was delighted to learn you had an exceptional visit to Prince Edward Island, and that staying with us played a part in that! Thank you for your kind comment towards our team here. Feedback is very important to us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back another time to the Delta Prince Edward. James Tingley General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from moncton

terrible sound barriers, rude staff

Posted 15-Aug-2015
stayed at the hotel for a night, the adjacent room had a baby who would not stop crying throughout the night. at 3 am, their parents let their child cry for half an hour before bringing their child out into the hallway where the child continued to cry. it was so loud that it woke me up and I was not able to go back to sleep. Every hour or so, their baby would wake up and continuously cry. By 7 am, I am frustrated and tired from the lack of sleep, called the front desk to let them know of the situation. the staff was disinterested in rectifying the problem. The lady at the front desk brush off the complaint by telling me that there is nothing they can do and told me to think of their parents who must be tired. I didn't pay over $300 to not be able to sleep peacefully! I told the staff that to call that room to inform them that the walls are paper thin and the baby's crying is waking up others surrounding them. If you have a child who will be crying all night, at least be considerate and bring your child to the lobby. When I checked out, the staff did not even ask how my stay was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Ft Lauderdale Fl

Marvelous hotel

Posted 13-Aug-2015
Location: Its in the heart of town. Right next to the convention center. Do I need to say more?
From the chefs in the restaurant to housekeeping , they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. ask a question and they will do whatever it takes to try and answer it. Simply have everything positive and nothing negative. Go figure. Will I book there again? You betcha!
Comment from EPC
14-Aug-2015 by James Tingley, EPC
Greetings: Your taking the time to post a review here is appreciated, thank you very much. Pleased to know your stay overall was a great one, and that you received friendly and helpful guest service from our team here. Feedback from our guests is important to us, and we thank you for yours. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Delta Prince Edward another time. James Tingley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

PEI trip to charlottown

Posted 12-Aug-2015
Room was very large nice bathroom. Only downside was the poor wi-fi connection. Located right downtown close to restaurants and the boardwalk. Nice parking with come and going access
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Aug-2015 by James Tingley, Hotel Management
Greetings: Thank you very much for the review of your stay with us. I was pleased to know you enjoyed your visit overall, and in particular your guest room and our convenient location. On another note, I apologize for the Wifi connection and the obvious inconvenience this caused you. Feedback from our guests is important to us, and we appreciate yours. Thank you for choosing the Delta Prince Edward, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back another time. James Tingley General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Québec

Beautiful hotel (but old)

Posted 10-Aug-2015
Pros: Beautiful
Cons: SOund isolation and bed
The hotel is beautiful, with a good location (near center) But too expensive for this kind of room. Bed is too soft, we both had back pain. And sound isolation is awfull, we could hear our neighbor speacking, sleeping...
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Aug-2015 by James Tingley, Hotel Management
Greetings: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Pleased you found our hotel to be beautiful and conveniently located downtown on the waterfront. I do regret however that you did not experience a good night's sleep, for more than one reason. I apologize for your disappointment. Feedback is important, and we appreciate yours. Thank you again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back another time. James Tingley General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location

Posted 10-Aug-2015
Pros: staff was friendly and the location was great
Cons: didn't like the room not a good layout and way too small
Location: great restaurants
Room was too small... great location & stall was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Aug-2015 by James Tingley, Hotel Management
Greetings: Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Delta Prince Edward. I do apologize your room was not what you had hoped, and that you found it too small. I regret your disappointment, but appreciate the feedback. Pleased you enjoyed our convenient location, and that you received friendly guest service from our team here. Thank you again, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back another time. James Tingley General Manager