Ratings based on 36 verified reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Tamworth U.K.

Posted 22 Apr 2019
We liked everything at the property, but our holiday was made special by the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
30 May 2019 by Sinclairs, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are indeed elated and our team extremely happy. When do we see you again at Sinclairs Bayview Port Blair. We’ll be delighted to serve you again.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from San Francisco

Posted 5 Dec 2018
Drop-dead gorgeous views - seems to be from every room. Large remodeled rooms. Good restaurant. Elevated walkways. Oh and did I mention the SPECTACULAR views and location?
Comment from Hotel Management
21 Dec 2018 by Team Sinclairs, Hotel Management
We thank you for your excellent review. Yes we do agree about the view which lets you admire the expanse of the Bay of Bengal in all its glory and the rooms facing the sea delight the guests, as you yourself experienced. We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Andamans or any of our other six other properties
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 14 Nov 2018
Nice hotel in front of beach. I liked the entire experience
Comment from Hotel Management
28 Nov 2018 by Team Sinclairs, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review. The property after a complete makeover is undoubtedly the best property in Port Blair both in terms of its unbeatable location as well as the quality of accommodation, facilities and ambience. We hope you will visit Port Blair again and give us an opportunity to serve you once more. We also invite you to visit our hotels/resorts in six other locations in India at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Ooty. Our team shall be delighted to serve you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by a verified traveller

very good hotel

Posted 5 Mar 2018 on Hotels
Warm friendly welcome staff were excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Apr 2018 by Sinclairs, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Gordon Thank you for visiting us. We are happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our facilities and hospitality by our team members. We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Bayview, Port Blair. We would be delighted if you stay with us next time. We invite you to visit any of our six other hotels/resorts in India at Siliguri, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan, Ooty and Darjeeling. The Sinclairs team at these locations will render impeccable services to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from UK

Nice hotel on the water

Posted 22 Jan 2018
The hotel has excellent views, it is right on the water with all rooms overlooking the ocean. The bar has a terrace looking at the water where we spent a lot of time. The food is excellent and the service amazing. Everyone was trying to make our stay enjoyable. The only issue we had was, we were taking a nap in the afternoons and the guys would keep coming and knocking on the door (happened on two days). If you ignore, they keep ringing the bell until we open it, and then we find they want to give us a bottle of water or a complementary cookie. I think they need to be trained better to give the guests some privacy.
Comment from Hotel Management
1 Feb 2018 by Debangshu Cakraborty, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review. Indeed our location is fabulous with a 270 degree view of the Bay of Bengal. We are happy that you liked our food and the services. We have taken note of the concerns pointed out by you and have briefed our team to be more careful in such cases. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Andamans and to our other six other properties.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Washington DC

Bed Bugs Infested hotel

Posted 26 Nov 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Only plus point in the view
Cons: Almost everything! The rooms, food, people!
Location: Not far from Corbyns Cove
Disgusting filthy place!!! I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a premium room. The room was serviceable but it was not very clean and needed renovation. However, me and my wife were woken up in the middle of the night by the constant biting of bed bugs. I immediately stormed to the lobby and the front desk guy gave me another room but it too had bed bugs. Finally I was moved to another room where I could sleep. I wanted to meet the hotel's manager for this but he did not meet me. I mentioned it to the front desk but they had no remorse. This hotel charges a lot of money but its terrible!! Save your money and go elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
18 Jan 2018 by Debangshu Cakraborty, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Your feedback has left us sad. It’s the first time that we have had a complaint regarding a bug! We maintain high quality of cleanliness and are therefore surprised! Notwithstanding the constraints and high operational costs at an island hotel, we endeavour to give the best deal to our guests. Our very sincere apologies for the difficulties you faced during your stay. Do give us a chance to make your next stay with us an enjoyable experience. Regards, Debangshu Cakraborty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Pune

Perfect location and lovely view.

Posted 3 Nov 2017
Pros: The ambiance and location.
Cons: Dinner arrangement near the beach was nice but would like to have the same on the lawn too.
Location: Its location is perfect to get to all locations as its location is in the middle.
We enjoyed our stay and the pool table added to our wait for the drive to the airport. We had a wonderful time and lovely complementary buffet breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
4 Dec 2017 by Sinclairs, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your happy experience. At Sinclairs, the collective effort is to give the best to our guests so that they return with happy memories. We hope to see you again at Sinclairs Bay View Port Blair or to our six other properties at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Kalimpong, Ooty, Burdwan and Dooars. We promise you of a memorable stay once again.
5 out of 5
by jai inder

Posted 11 Jun 2017 on Hotels
good hotel with a breathtaking view of the sea and good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
26 Jun 2017
Dear Sir, We thank you for your review. Indeed our location is fabulous with a 270 degree view of the Bay of Bengal. We are happy that you liked the variety of our food. We hope you will visit Port Blair again and give us an opportunity to serve you once more. We also invite you to visit our hotels/resorts in six other locations in India at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Ooty. Our team shall be pleased to serve you. Regards, Debangshu Chakraborty
5 out of 5
by Pradip

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 20 Mar 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Terrible overrated place ... my advice don't stay

Posted 10 Oct 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is awful and totally not worth the money. I would not recommend it to anyone. Its a very out of date hotel that has terrible faciliities and rude staff. My advice would be not to stay there and instead find one of the newer smaller hotels which will cost you a 1/4 of the price!!!