Ratings based on 1,288 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 15-Feb-2017
Pros: The hotel is in center city directly adjacent to the covention center, center city stores and eateries and transportation.
Cons: off street parking in the area is an issue, but there are pay for use parking lots near by
The staff, accommodations, facilities and location are all perfect. I have stayed here more than once and will definitely stay here again.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from India

Very disappointing hotel

Posted 10-Feb-2017
Very disappointing hotel, almost makes me reconsider if I will ever risk a Four Point again. Positive: the staff were very friendly. Everything is downhill from there. The rooms are tiny. The window is almost non-existent so feels like staying in a shoe box. The air conditioner duct is right next to the bed and is LOUD. Carpets were dirty and there was strands of hair from the previous guest on the bed. It was so uncomfortable that I checked out within hours of checking in and moved to another hotel. Will surely not stay here again or recommend for anyone.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Stained bathroom walls.

Posted 07-Feb-2017
The bathroom was gross. But the pancakes at the restaurant were amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your feedback on the condition of clean in the bathroom will be called to the attention of our housekeeping team. I apologize for the inconvenience, this will be verified and management will address this matter properly.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 07-Feb-2017
Good location. Clean. Very adequate. Professional staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and our service satisfactory. Thank you for staying here with us, we will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. Kind regards.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

excellent location near major attractions.

Posted 06-Feb-2017
The heating system in the room was noisy and made a clicking sound all night. I had to turn off the heat to sleep but then it was too cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry about the issue with the heating unit. Your comment will be escalated and will be called to our maintenance team for corrective measure. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Ok hotel

Posted 03-Feb-2017
Parking is expensive, no tub. Standing shower was dirty. Mini fridge was not packed, they ran out of water. No free breakfast. Staff were nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I regret that you were not very pleased with the status of clean during your stay here at our hotel. Your review will be escalated, our management team will carefully look into your feedback and address accordingly. Thank you for your business.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great Hotel!

Posted 03-Feb-2017
Great hotel! Great Staff! Great Value! The only note would be to ask for a room on a higher floor as the lower rooms have windows near the ceiling which can make the room very dark.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your insightful feedback, We appreciate your time in completing our survey and for sharing your thoughts. Your review will be forwarded to our management team for reference. It would be a pleasure serving you again.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 30-Jan-2017
In ckeck in and I don't like the room.. I checkin to A Nother hotel 30 minutes later at the Marriott Doubletree.. I wasted my money there at Sheraton
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I regret that you were displeased with your stay here at our hotel. Report is sent to our management in reference to your feedback, trust that this is evaluated and addressed properly. Thank you for your business.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Good location - bad service

Posted 28-Jan-2017
Pros: Location
We did not receive the type of room that we reserved. We received a double bed instead of a king bed. In addition, housekeeping did not come service the room after the first day.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. It's important for us to impress our guests and your comments will make this goal that much more attainable. It is our sincere hope that you will one day return to see how your comments have affected our direction in reaching our ultimate ambition of giving each guest a five star experience.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice and relaxing

Posted 27-Jan-2017
Great staff great rooms a little small but still very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Feb-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in completing our survey and for giving us your review following your stay. Please know that we value your business, your feedback is very important to us. Glad to hear that you were comfortable in our guest room although you found it a bit small. We hope to see you again soon.